Boston Consulting Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Boston Consulting Group Reviews

Updated 14 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2071 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Boston Consulting Group CEO Rich Lesser
Rich Lesser
937 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time

      Pros

      Great people, great culture, great work atmosphere that brings the best out of everybody.

      Cons

      I do not have any

      Boston Consulting Group2018-10-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great place to start"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Consultant 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Interesting and varied project load, great people, work/life balance increasingly prioritized, decent compensation (taking into account work load), professional and structured approach to career development, great place to learn rigour and skills you'll need regardless of where you continue your career

      Cons

      Common with short deadlines that drives long hours to satisfy partners' (or ambitious project leaders') promises to clients, a varied project load also leads to some (much) less interesting assignments, at times high travel load

      Advice to Management

      Allow greater degree of specialization when consultants want this

      Boston Consulting Group2018-10-05
    • "Great Employer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Excellent work, super smart people, great opportunities

      Cons

      Very federated model and sometimes to many silos

      Boston Consulting Group2018-10-08
    • Helpful (8)

      "Miserable people, bleak London office, outdated"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time

      Pros

      - Very good pay - Events - Nice colleagues - US offices are much better than London office and i think have many more pro's such as free food, travel etc.

      Cons

      - Pay isn't actually good when you look at the hours you have worked. Working from 8am - midnight, results in a 14 hour shift which when you split up your salary, becomes roughly minimum wage. - Hours are insane - I haven't been here long and I absolutely have to leave soon. I'm getting sick and exhausted from the hours? I don't know how people do it? I don't even have time to eat dinner before i have to wake up and...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      - Better London office - location is awful and interior - Nicer PL's - make you feel disrespected and they are rude - Reduce hours - this is hard to have a life with.

      Boston Consulting Group2018-11-07
    • "intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Boston Consulting Group

      Pros

      good and the tutor was nice

      Cons

      boring work and same work everyday

      Boston Consulting Group2018-10-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Senior Associate (Experienced Hire)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Associate in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      BCG is a tremendous place to build core competence on business fundamentals - from financial modelling to organisation design and capabilities. Most of all you learn the art of "corporate storytelling" - which is imperative for a career at a large company. Fantastic lifestyle, from flights to hotels, everything is designed to maximize your comfort to get the job done People around are highly intelligent and (even...

      Show More

      Cons

      Experienced hires - your previous experience is used more as a credibility builder for the firm, rather than an opportunity to leverage your knowledge and skills. Consulting people are part of a mold - and they push everyone to be the same. Work life balance is a big issue - 14 hours days are a minimum

      Advice to Management

      Learn to understand and leverage knowledge and skills experienced hires bring

      Boston Consulting Group2018-09-27
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good place to work and develop"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time

        Pros

        Learning and development opportunities are great

        Cons

        Work life balance can be quite bad

        Boston Consulting Group2018-09-26
      • Helpful (1)

        "Senior Consultant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time

        Pros

        Top consulting firm - great environment

        Cons

        There are no cons really - work life balance

        Boston Consulting Group2018-08-31
      • "HR"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time

        Pros

        Positive work environment, good leadership.

        Cons

        There are not any significant cons.

        Advice to Management

        .................

        Boston Consulting Group2018-08-26
      • "Full time consultant working close with clients"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time

        Pros

        Great client focus and work place culture

        Cons

        High pressure environment when deal happening

        Advice to Management

        Better pay

        Boston Consulting Group2018-06-13
      Found 2071 reviews