Boston Consulting Group Summer Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Summer Associate

Boston Consulting Group Summer Associate Reviews

Updated 9 Oct 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Boston Consulting Group CEO Rich Lesser
Rich Lesser
8 Ratings
  1. "Hard work but the people make the company great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work that is helping shape some of the most influential companies around.

    Cons

    Hours are pretty antisocial but changes quite dramatically from case to case

    Advice to Management

    Healthy snacks that arent nut bars would be great!

    Boston Consulting Group2016-10-10
  2. "Summer Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people and opportunity to contribute to the actual project. Luxurious lifestyle and fantastic benefits (cross-country travel, insanely nice hotels and dinners)

    Cons

    The actual work can be extremely mundane. There was a lot of learning in the first two weeks, but after that, just a lot of Power Point and political, bureaucratic nonsense. Absence of work-life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Instruct managers on how to conduct feedback sessions-- I often found that the "feedback" session I would have with my manager would be extremely broad and did not help me figure out how I could actually improve. My manager would start every session asking how I thought I was doing instead of giving me her opinion at all.

    Boston Consulting Group2018-10-09
  3. "Summer Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group

    Pros

    BCG care about the work that you do. There is a great working atmosphere and everybody wants to help you become better at your job.

    Cons

    the major con i would say is the longish hours and the variability of them. although generally you are rewarded after times have been hard

    Advice to Management

    i dont have much advice to give to management. the chance for promotion is very well defined and seems achievable and the business is run well.

    Boston Consulting Group2016-02-23
  4. "Amazing place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting people, genuinely challenging work, and a brilliant atmosphere around the office.

    Cons

    Sometimes the intensity is incredible, but that's is far from a consistent trait, and one that should be expected

    Advice to Management

    Keep on listening to staff; what impressed me most was the degree to which everything just worked without huge delays.

    Boston Consulting Group2015-09-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Opportunities/Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group for less than a year

    Pros

    People are fantastic. Managers are invested in personal growth. High level of transparency regarding expectations/promotions.

    Cons

    Can be draining to travel constantly. Work life balance can be highly case dependent

    Advice to Management

    Best part of this company is investment in each individual's growth. Keep it up as the company grows.

    Boston Consulting Group2017-10-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience, little balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Associate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group for more than a year

    Pros

    great learning and mentoring opportunities

    Cons

    little work life balance despite efforts

    Boston Consulting Group2017-04-21
  7. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer Associate in Jakarta
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Best consulting firm with great culture, good compensation, great colleagues, and opportunities to learn things fast

    Cons

    Might need to adjust with work life balance, should be fine after few months work.

    Boston Consulting Group2017-01-17
  8. "Great experience with a catch (SEA Unit)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Associate in Jakarta
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers are great, cases are challenging and international. The office is also very tight-knit and we have events going on every once in a while (Friday Free Lunch, Summer Festival, etc.)

    Cons

    Staffing is a consistent problem in this office; at least 40% of the interns were only ~70% utilized throughout the duration of the internship. There was also some work/life balance issue, although it varies a lot by case.

    Advice to Management

    Staffing definitely needs to be worked on. It is difficult to judge an intern when they only worked for a very limited amount of time.

    Boston Consulting Group2016-09-23
  9. "Can't imagine being somewhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer Associate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredibly smart people Dedication to client and providing the right answer and value Great team dynamic

    Cons

    Be ready for plans to blow up in order to finish time-sensitive deliverables, but expect management to help you find a way to do them again Lots of travel can be a great thing, but not always the best for starting relationships

    Boston Consulting Group2016-08-09
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Couldn't ask for a better working experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group for less than a year

    Pros

    - Incredible colleagues and supervisors that really care about your progress and development - A culture of feedback and openness - Highly efficient office team and flexible work structure

    Cons

    - Hours are somewhat longer than 40 hrs per week, though work is very engaging - Travel often required for work

    Advice to Management

    Keep the amazing work atmosphere, and convey how great the BCG culture is at recruitment to get that edge over Bain and McKinsey!

    Boston Consulting Group2015-10-26
Found 16 reviews