BounceX Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BounceX Reviews

Updated 19 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
68%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
BounceX Co-Founder & CEO Ryan Urban (no image)
Ryan Urban
107 Ratings
Pros
  • "While many companies claim to operate this way, Bounce Exchange is a rare place where you actually get out of it what you put into it(in 13 reviews)

  • "Some genuinely great people work here so it's easy to make friends(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Yes we work hard and sometimes that means long hours but that's simply because a high percentage of people who work here are incredibly driven(in 14 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance can be a challenge but, at least for me, the work is exciting enough that I’m happy to dedicate much of my time to BounceX(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great People, Great Company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SDR in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BounceX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Amazing Culture (driven, intelligent people who are also incredibly friendly and nice to be around) -Great Perks such as team building, snacks, healthcare, flexible working, nights out , gym membership, (both sponsored and unorganised drinks with colleagues) -Fantastic place to learn and earn As someone who hadn't tended to "drink the cool aide" previously. I found it impossible to resist and genuinely saw going to work everyday as going to spend a day working towards a common goal with my friends. This isn't to say it is an unprofessional place to work. The people are truly the cream of the crop and my experience of EMEA management was one which I learned an awful lot from. Rob, Shell and Jacq (EMEA GM and EMEA Marketing Director and EMEA Customer success Director) are all amazing at what they do and also truly great people to be around.

    Cons

    -Not always a huge amount of visibility into the US business but the company has initiatives to try and address this (Buddy programme, frequent visits from US colleagues, Sales Kick-Off in NYC etc)

    Continue reading
    BounceX2019-11-07
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Don't Believe the hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BounceX full-time

    Pros

    The CEO is good, but don't expect to see much of him.

    Cons

    It's like a cult. You can't say a bad word. BX does a great job of making it look like it's the place to be from the outside, but the reality is quite different. It has an unpopular, expensive and hard to integrate product in a very crowded Martech / email marketplace. There are also some big egos and arrogance containimating the atmosphere, in what is a small team (so there's no escaping it). I saw a guy in the US get fired for bad mouthing at a private party at the weekend. In london going for a drink and having a moan after a hard week is part of our culture. Its extremely restrictive in that sense you have to "drink the cool aid" at all times. Its false. The UK team is still very much a satellite of the USA and there are a few Americans that struggle with british business culture compounding the atmosphere. It hasn't emulated the success of the US as they have been inflexible (arrogant) with go to market strategies here, and the product is significantly less powerful than the US version due to EU data privacy laws.

    Continue reading
    BounceX2019-11-05
  3. "The Full Package"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BounceX full-time

    Pros

    In my previous role I had exposure to 100's of tech organisations, yet this is the only one which I ever considered jumping ship to, a few points below on why this company turned my head- Great team on both sides of the pond- welcoming, friendly, supportive, open and transparent. There is no sense of hierarchy in terms of who you interact with and everyone is super approachable. The companies focus on training and development is excellent. The initial on-boarding is very thorough, giving you the best opportunity to hit the ground running. This is then topped up regularly, whether it be team, office, company or individually based. The benefits are excellent and the best I have ever had from an employer, which is often rare with businesses who are still so young/ startup. You truly feel cared for and like you matter. Work hard / play hard. This is my first role where I have had a true work/ life balance and particularly one of which I have not felt guilty or judged for having... which is rare in the role I do. If anything this feeling of autonomy in fact makes me want to work harder and be successful for the company and myself. The culture is lovely and I knew from my first interview that this is where I wanted to be.

    Cons

    As with all startups there are inevitable growing pains, changes/ additions to process and structure but quite frankly all the Pro's weigh this out. The senior management/ directors are also super open to suggestions and ideas - which is great as this is often kept to the more senior members of the team with no chance for other employees to share their inputs/ opinions.

    BounceX2018-10-01

    BounceX Response

    October 2, 2018Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Wow, we love that you've taken the time to write such a thoughtful review and we're so glad it was BounceX that turned your head! It's great that you value the work/life balance we're cultivating here - startups aren't ordinarily known for this so thanks for the shout out! And yes, we feel those growing pangs too as we evolve into a global organisation, but we're glad you feel like your input is appreciated and valued - we can assure you it is! - Your fellow BounceXers

    Continue reading
  4. "Great Product and Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Success Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BounceX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team, impressive client base, collaborative culture, and overall a really great product. Senior management truly cares about the people and hard work pays off with transparent career path for continued growth within the organisation. One of the happiest companies I've work for!

    Cons

    There's a bit of disconnect with the US team, as the team in the UK is much smaller. It's gotten better over the past few months but there's still definitely room for improvement.

    Continue reading
    BounceX2018-10-01

    BounceX Response

    October 2, 2018Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition

    We love it when our humans are happy so yay to that! It's great to hear you value the time and thought we've put into career pathing at BounceX, we're excited to see everyone progress along it :) There's always positive work to be done and we're always looking to find more ways to collaborate across the pond so keep the suggestions coming! - Your fellow BounceXers

    Continue reading
  5. "Amazing humans, tons of ownership & a great startup vibe!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BounceX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's an exciting time to be at BounceX, particularly in the fast-growing London office. The team is focused, energised and committed to achieving goals together, and there's a strong sense of comradery and collaboration with a lot of laughter along the way. There are some seriously smart humans here and everyone is passionate about the product and MarTech space we're in. The level of curiosity is so good to be around, it's definitely the place to be if you want to learn tons quickly and there's a lot invested upfront when it comes to onboarding and training with a week or two in the NYC HQ as standard. Responsibility is there for the taking, you're encouraged to have a voice, ownership of your work and take accountability plus you're recognised and celebrated for your achievements which is great. As the business grows there's an opportunity to grow with it; I've seen people internally transfer from NYC to London and make lateral moves within the business and be promoted from within. The London office has a start-up vibe coupled with the backing and support from our US colleagues so it's the best of both worlds on that front. There's a strong focus on company culture, with dedicated employee resource groups in place to ensure equality for all (which I've never seen in a company of 300 before!) and the benefits are on par with larger companies too. I love that we have flexible working hours and 2 days per month to work from home too - plus a lot of other perks!

    Cons

    A startup environment isn't for everyone, sometimes processes are in the midst of being worked out and you have to roll up your sleeves to get stuff done (it's all hands on deck here which I love) but everyone is excited by the impact you can have to make improvements and suggestions as the business grows.

    Continue reading
    BounceX2018-09-25
  6. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Conversion Strategy in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BounceX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture - intelligent, stimulating, challenging and caring. Good sense of community. Amazing position in the market - get to be a startup but yet simultaneously work for some of the biggest brands in the world. Super tight integration with our amazing team in New York, with opportunities to visit.

    Cons

    We are a startup, and that comes with a few growing pains which aren't for everybody - it requires people to dig in and do a variety of work, and sometimes career progression can be less prescriptive and more what you make of it. That doesn't appeal to everybody, however I love it and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

    Continue reading
    BounceX2018-09-25
  7. "Place Rocks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BounceX full-time

    Pros

    Never worked anywhere else where the energy actually picks up throughout the day! The office environment is vibrant and intensity is palpable. If you want to work with intelligent, driven people, you should really apply!

    Cons

    Yes we work hard and sometimes that means long hours but that's simply because a high percentage of people who work here are incredibly driven.

    Continue reading
    BounceX2018-01-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BounceX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great Work/Life Balance - Interesting products with amazing upside - Large investment in engineering recently - Top-level benefits (401K, WFH Policy, Top Medical/Dental/Vision, etc...) for a company of our size - Tremendous opportunities for growth if you put the work in - Amazing brand new office/location (1 World Trade Center) - Greatly emphasizes Diversity & Inclusion boasting 8 Employee Resource Groups - Tons of cross-collaboration amongst teams - Invested HR department

    Cons

    - Challenging environment for someone who is not a self-starter - Fast-paced...A positive for many but something to note if you are looking for something traditional

    Continue reading
    BounceX2019-12-20
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Learn what you can and move on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BounceX full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really enjoyable coworkers who are generally smart and hardworking. People are dedicated and want to get the job done. HR seems invested but can only do so much. Lots of opportunity due to turnover and lack of senior employees.

    Cons

    Salaries are below industry average for “tech”, way more investment in sales than product, legacy leadership issues

    Continue reading
    BounceX2019-11-02
  10. "Great Place for Data Science"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Scientist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BounceX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large databases make it possible to do interesting data science Innovative work culture, you're free to try a lot of things on your own

    Cons

    Data Science team is new so if you do not have an entrepreneurial/self-starter mindset, the place will not suit you.

    BounceX2019-11-09
Found 119 reviews