Brandwatch Employee Reviews about "smart people"

Updated Feb 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 201 reviews

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Brandwatch CEO Giles Palmer (no image)
Giles Palmer
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with great minded and a clever bunch of dynamic people is the highlight of everybody’s day at Brandwatch(in 29 reviews)

  • "Lots of flexible work benefits, and focus on work/life balance(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Unfortunately, you cannot work remotely from a country where brandwatch does not have a branch office(in 23 reviews)

  • "Having to go to team meetings in Brighton, but never came to London(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    693

    229 Comments

    Tech

    85.3K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Brandwatch~716341
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "smart people"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      Jul 3, 2020 - Marketing in Brighton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Fantastic support from direct management and leadership to help you develop professionally - Fantastic perks including free lunches, massages and yoga classes - Highly proficient team of smart people

      Cons

      - Lack of communication across teams - As the "new person", it's easy to feel like an "outsider" - Sometimes there's definitely a sense of entitlement from some members of staff because of all of the amazing perks and benefits

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Still the best placed I've ever worked

      May 3, 2018 - Engineer in Brighton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've worked here for over 5 years; I turned down quite a few good opportunities to join Brandwatch and haven't regretted it for a second. As others have noted, the key strength of the company is its strong culture. I'm surrounded by wonderfully intelligent, compassionate, and driven colleagues. Imposter syndrome is almost instant, and can be overwhelming, but the support you have in the Engineering department is fantastic - if you approach your work with the right attitude then a great career is ahead of you. I've had the privilege of getting to know most of the C-suite at least reasonably well, and strongly believe that their hearts are in the right place. Yes, there are mistakes. These are usually openly acknowledged and discussed in my experience. What Giles and the team have managed to build over the last decade is quite remarkable though, and I'm hopeful for the future. From an Engineering-specific point of view, I have a huge amount of time for Dave Jones, the CTO. He's tremendously sharp, optimistic, encouraging, and a great problem solver. The department seems to be going from strength to strength. I've seen plenty of smart people have brilliant opportunities open up to them during my time here, and I myself have benefited hugely from the flexible and supportive culture here. Ask questions, propose ideas, talk to people, and you'll have a marvellous time here. As an aside, the management training is the best I've seen or heard of - I had a fantastic time with it, it's the best thing a company has ever provided for me.

      Cons

      I don't have a problem with pay myself, and would encourage others to think holistically about what they want. Yes, you can get more in London, and perhaps even in Brighton, but the growth opportunities at this company are huge, and it's hard to put a price on looking forward to going to work each day. Still, I know it's a bugbear for some. Also, this is a company that is growing, and often figuring things out for the first time. There have been mistakes made, and there will be more. If you expect complete stability, you'll likely be disappointed. Expect for there to be changes, and expect them to be openly discussed (if they aren't then talk to your manager). These are difficult waters to navigate and sometimes changes need to be made.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A great, challenging, rewarding place to work

      Oct 16, 2015 -  in Brighton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart people, great CEO, awesome culture, interesting work. And an organisation that genuinely cares about looking after and developing its people. I leap out of bed to get to work in the morning

      Cons

      I cant think of one

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fast growing company in an exciting space

      Mar 25, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Brighton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company grows very quickly so there are also new opportunities. We have managed to become a leader in our space which makes it a very exciting and energetic place to work. The company has a very flat hierarchy and genuinely seems to care about it's staff. There are a lot of very smart people here which makes it a very inspiring place to come in to work everyday.

      Cons

      Growing as quickly as we have means processes and things that worked for a company of 50 people don't work for a company of 200+. In the short term this causes strain as we figure out how to optimise. Key currently is how we deal with communication across a large amount of staff spread across offices and time zones

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      on a very interesting path and mission

      Dec 9, 2013 - Administrative in Brighton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      it's open, friendly, ambitious and full of very smart people. The management listen and learn and have the respect of the entire company. very few people leave and it's growing a lot. great place to be

      Cons

      not necessarily a con, but it's a high-performance culture/place and there is nowhere to hide. You need to be up for a challenge

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Software Engineer

      Feb 22, 2021 - Software Engineer in Stuttgart
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The best company I have ever worked for. A lot of very smart people. The company stands at a very high technological level. Super product. CEO who has a vision and goals for the company and you can talk to him even if you are a regular employee. Good Work/Life Balance

      Cons

      Unfortunately, you cannot work remotely from a country where brandwatch does not have a branch office.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      Nov 11, 2020 - Solutions Consultant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent culture, Kind & smart people, Exciting product

      Cons

      I have no negative feedback at this time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Pros Outweigh the Cons if You Give 100%

      Jul 31, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Weekly meetings include the entire team. Your voice matters. Really smart people. Bagel Fridays. Kegerador. Ping Pong.

      Cons

      Top Managers prioritize company growth far above any individual. Condescending. Minimal training. Cutthroat. Strict 8:30-5:30+.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Smart people. High Quality Offerings. Always an adventure, and never boring.

      Dec 30, 2013 - Client Services in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best bits of 'startup' culture, but in a good sized global company. A very open forum to share good ideas, and feel you have a voice. Growing really quickly, and lots of buzz. Lots of innovative & interesting projects to work on. Very, VERY, smart people. Friendly, collaborative environment and fun culture. Really high quality product and services, which helps...

      Cons

      Not every business unit is in every country at time of writing, so time differences can sometimes take some getting used to, and working around.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Brandwatch Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Brandwatch? Share Your Experiences

    or