Brightpearl Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Brightpearl Reviews

Updated 23 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Brightpearl CEO Derek O'Carroll (no image)
Derek O'Carroll
34 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Exciting and entrepreneurial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightpearl full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - A fast growing company that helps retailers realise their dreams - Being involved in a fast moving environment which has a real positive buzz about it

    Cons

    None, Brightpearl is the best place I've ever worked at

    Continue reading
    Brightpearl2017-05-24
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Medium to fast-paced, maturing business software developer going places..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brightpearl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Energetic, young-ish team of passionate professionals. - Medium sized, but still small enough to steer the ship in the right direction relatively quickly. - New CEO and Customer First mentality is making all the difference. - Fresh fruit, unlimited hot beverages and breakfast cereals. Beers and cool drinks too sometimes. - Great referral scheme incentives and vested share options. - Comfortable and central office location in Bristol. - Great internal productivity tools and systems. - Flexibility to work from home when required.

    Cons

    - Internal and external communications still go into big black holes and get forgotten about. (Changing the culture through the customer first practice, but is slow) - A bit too quick to get rid of talented and dedicated leaders, developers and staff for short term wins, instead of re-appropriating internally.

    Continue reading
    Brightpearl2017-01-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging but exciting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Lead EMEA in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightpearl full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Rapidly changing and challenging environment to work in. Having been here for 5 years I can confidently say that the current Execs are pushing the business forward and I can't wait for the results!

    Cons

    Not a great place to work if you don't enjoy change and hard work.

    Continue reading
    Brightpearl2016-12-03
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great for tech grads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Brightpearl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent prospects for grads. I've since switched jobs twice now and employers are always very interested in the work that I did at Brightpearl. Work culture is good. Everyone works hard.

    Cons

    Haven't had any problems with Senior Management but myself and others haven't had agreeable times with middle mgmt / line managers from a dev point of view. This was a large contributing factor for me and many of my former colleagues. Technical debt is a huge issue on tech side BP. The company still encourages quantity of fixes over quality. While many people can walk away from this workplace with an improved CV. They can easily get stuck fixing bugs for the majority of their career. The company has plenty of top talent but has difficulty holding on to them. Salary is a bit low, generally won't produce counter offers.

    Continue reading
    Brightpearl2016-12-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightpearl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always challenged, strong leadership in the company, great product and great customers!

    Cons

    Cannot think of anything worth sharing

    Continue reading
    Brightpearl2016-11-02
  6. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Facing in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brightpearl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strongly motivated staff members across the board. Diverse and interesting employee backgrounds. Great social elements.

    Cons

    Sometimes it feels like the company lacks focus on what it wants to achieve, but that has significantly improved since the appointment of a new CEO.

    Continue reading
    Brightpearl2016-07-19
  7. "Best company in Bristol"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brightpearl

    Pros

    Fantastic place to work - excellent for new grads to experience a range of challenges. We also have the best customers which really helps with motivation!

    Cons

    Only if you're afraid of hard work and new challenges

    Brightpearl2016-07-19
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Getting there!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Brightpearl

    Pros

    Great people. Huge array of tech to play with. Lots of scope to make a difference. Flexible working conditions and roles. Exciting prospects.

    Cons

    Still shrugging off the startup training wheels - slight tendency to rush full tilt at new projects (though this is being addressed) and communication isn't great. Some "personalities" to deal with, but none impossible to work with. Low on the benefits. Retail/ecommerce/tax/inventory - it can all be a bit boring.

    Brightpearl2016-06-17
  9. "More perks than I could dream of!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Brightpearl full-time

    Pros

    Brightpearl is a great company to work for. I've had a few Managers throughout my many roles at Brightpearl; and each one has helped me achieve my potential and have been "open ears" when I've had concerns. However, you need to ensure you're in the right department/team to be heard and feel appreciated as this isn't company-wide. We are offered lots of perks for achieving target and this helps to keep staff motivated to do well.

    Cons

    There have been a few situations where I haven't felt like I've been listened to. Upon changing role, I was then listened to which makes me believe that some roles/departments are not considered as "important" or valued quite as highly as other departments/teams.

    Continue reading
    Brightpearl2016-02-26
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Bright Orange"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Bristol, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Brightpearl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fresh , dynamic , friendly , definitely a nice place to work and learn a lot of different technologies and skills. Developers have a rare opportunity to work on wide technology stack , like PHP , Java, Html , CSS , Bash , Ruby , Node.js. It s definitely a polyglot place where the technology serve to solve problems no matter what s about. Flat organisation. Interaction with the CTO and Managers or Investors really easy and direct. You feel free to express your opinion, provide contributions and/or criticism, they are quite open to listen and in case change.

    Cons

    A bit of lack of communication with the teams and a lack of process and methodologies sometimes made the daily work frustrating. Some personal concern about how some technology decision are taken, more on buzz words then real expertise and evaluation. Lack of process for employees evolution and no carrier path. Many developers left because they felt they were left behind or considered not that good.

    Continue reading
    Brightpearl2016-02-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 63 reviews