Brightside Academy Teacher Reviews

Updated 28 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
60%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Brightside Academy  Chief Executive Officer Martin Handler (no image)
Martin Handler
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Working at BSA"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher Assistant 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Brightside Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    During this pandemic we are still being paid. Trainings are provided to help with areas of growth.

    Cons

    Pay does not match the work that has to be done. Support is needed in some areas. Low on staff.

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2020-04-28
  2. "Great place to begin as a teacher."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher Assistant in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightside Academy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work is fulltime and consistent. Guaranteed 40hrs per week. Offers opportunity for growth based on education.

    Cons

    Overtime may be mandatory. Raise increase is rare.

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2020-04-28
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Teacher in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightside Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable hours, positive environment, opportunity for professional growth, paid trainings and meetings, great benefits, convinient location to travel by bus and really making a positive difference for our inner city kids. We promote a Home Away From Home environment.

    Cons

    It's hard to call out because our job is in demand. Being a Teacher is essential to the field so we Teachers have to go to work. So it can be difficult to Call Out or be late.

    Brightside Academy2020-04-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "The Smithfield location borders on abuse. Few people seem to even care. The whole center is a disaster."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Preschool Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brightside Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. The company is a disaster and desperate for people.

    Cons

    Abusive people towards kids and staff. Was forced off my lunch early to fill in a staffing gap because someone came back half an hour late. The late person wasn't reprimanded and I lost half my lunch.

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2019-10-14
  5. "Run"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Teacher Assistant in Brooklyn, NY

    I worked at Brightside Academy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some staff were awesome to work with. Building great bonds with kids and some parents

    Cons

    Everything else. Salary, upper administration was horrible. They don't care about the staff at all. They barely care about black and brown children at all and the level of their learning. Teachers are constantly over-ratio and overworked. Often you are asked to do things to cover up their flaws and asked to go above and beyond while getting scraps in return. Minimal to no raises are given. Horrible place to work. Not worth it

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2019-09-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "1/10 Would Not Recommend"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightside Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    +I worked along some of the most dedicated women I know.

    Cons

    +Health and Safety- Our building was falling apart and we had to do emergency evacuations in my classroom multiple times a month. We would either go to the library across the street or to another room that didn't have controlled A/C / Heater. +We were over ratio and rooms were overbooked to the point we didn't have enough cubbies for the children so we had to put their jackets under the sink. +Not supportive leadership- We were often shamed to improved being told we embarrassment to the supervisor, by the supervisor herself. She even told my coworker to be quiet, in the middle of a meeting and when I reported that to HR, my director said, "Well she needed to be quiet!" +The food is not healthy for the children, it's often pancakes, hashbrowns, and canned fruit. +There was a lack of supplies for the children, which led to them fighting a lot. + There is no computer, wifi, or printer for the teachers. All copies we made at home, or our colleges. Lesson plans were handwritten. +Not enough support in the classrooms. Children were having meltdowns, and we really need a training in trauma support, or a school counselor. +There was mistreatment of staff in general. +Working a full 9 hours was very draining. While we do get paid more, with the little resources, and having to print/buy things after work I would get home late.

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2019-08-21
  7. "Manage and supervise a classroom of 12 students."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Preschool Teacher in Bronx, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brightside Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Schedule flexibility Paid vacation Relocation for employees available

    Cons

    Low pay Loads of work Out of ratio

    Brightside Academy2019-04-02
  8. "Don't recommend for anyone...ever"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brightside Academy full-time

    Pros

    Great teaching staff but that's it.

    Cons

    Management is the absolute worst.

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2019-04-03
  9. "its ok"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Supply Teacher in Philadelphia, PA

    I have been working at Brightside Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice staff to work with

    Cons

    depending on where you go low slary

    Brightside Academy2019-02-01
  10. "Doesn’t Care about the Children"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightside Academy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with the children Some staff

    Cons

    Short staffed Underpaid No supplies No support for coporate “Handlers” “Not in the buisness of Education” - Direct Quote from CEO Martin Handler The Handlers are rude and disrespectful Don’t care about Black and Brown children in the community they serve Janitor and Chef are the same person Filthy establishments Money hungry Owners Always out of Ratio - Not enough coverage Directors not qualified, just hold degrees Food is disgusting Facility is not cleaned Supplies are sent at the last minute or not at all.

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2018-11-27
Found 49 reviews