Brightside "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Brightside Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated 30 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Brightside CEO Brendan McCafferty   (no image)
Brendan McCafferty
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good location, free parking and decent staff benefits(in 10 reviews)

  • "The 'minions' are really great people, bonding with other staff in the face of adversity(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Thoroughly enjoyed my time at Brightside."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Aust, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brightside full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No two days are the same, each case presents a different challenge which keeps things interesting. The people are great and the teams are good size, which allows you to build good working relationships as well as friendships outside of the office. There's been a very obvious change in how they operate over the last few years and they're quite obviously making the effort to be more customer-centred rather than focusing on the interests of the company. There's always opportunity to stray outside of your job role and take on extra responsibilities and duties if you want to, all you have to do is ask! I started as a customer service agent taking CS calls (i.e. processing changes to policies, finance admin and general policy administration) and ended up handling all of their social media and review platforms, using them to assist customers who prefer to do things online rather than on the phone. Being able to contact customers who left reviews and analyse the data collected gave me a better understanding of customer needs and enabled me to be a much more effective customer service agent. If you're good with numbers, maybe ask if you can get involved with the Finance team, I'm certain they'll make it work. The office itself is good, ample parking and canteen services if you can't be bothered to make a packed lunch. The view is great even on a rainy day! If its sunny you can go for a walk around the site, or kick a footy around on the green. I had to leave due to university commitments, but they tried really hard to keep me on and make it work around my study schedule. Although it didn't work out, I really appreciate that they tried to make it work!

    Cons

    The training programme you go through at the beginning of your employment (around 4 weeks) doesn't cover everything and it can feel a bit overwhelming when you first start taking calls, although it would be impossible to learn absolutely everything you need to know in this time. After 2 weeks or so on the phones, you'll be surrounded by experienced agents who can support you and you'll feel completely comfortable.

    Brightside2019-09-12

    Brightside Response

    October 10, 2019Social Media Manager

    Thanks so much for such a detailed review of Brightside. Love that you feel that there are plenty of opportunities at brightside, and it's great that you were able to explore roles and find a role you really enjoyed. Your feedback about the training programme is heard loud and clear and we're in the process of changing these to be more detailed for each role.

    Continue reading
  2. "Enjoyable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brightside full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots to get involved in Company embraces change Fast paced which means you learn quickly Great people Still investing in company wide events e.g. summer party, Christmas party, regular events at work

    Cons

    Need to recruit external experience in some areas Want to move quickly but don't always have a plan People have a tendency to focus on things outside of their direct control

    Continue reading
    Brightside2019-10-30
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Work house ethic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brightside full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The 'minions' are really great people, bonding with other staff in the face of adversity. Free parking. You have to pick up so much work that isn't part of your original role that you gain quite an extensive range of experience inadvertently.

    Cons

    Constant conflicting information, terrible communication which breeds a culture of uncertainty and demoralisation. Inconsistent rules depending on what makes them the most money or makes them look good on paper so what is gross misconduct for one, is a pat on the back for another. Staff are run ragged and just when you think there might be a glimmer of hope that things will get better, more redundancies are made and you're worse off than ever. Redundancies are a regular thing here. Progression is very limited and if your face doesn't fit, you have no hope, it's very much who you know and genuine aptitude and achievement means nothing. People will get elevated and you'll pick up their work, because their old role won't be back filled, and you'll get no extra remuneration for it or thanks, you'll just take on more and more until you break.

    Continue reading
    Brightside2018-05-26
  4. "Mostly positive and would recommend, but some areas for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Graduate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightside full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are great and the office has a great social and working environment. The management is also very good, and everybody is very approachable regardless of their role. The level of pay is also good for my first job since leaving university, and the employee benefits are very good.

    Cons

    So far the role I'm in has been fairly repetitive, and has not been as varied as I was promised when beginning the job- and at times I have found myself to be not motivated. However, the role may well become more varied in the future.

    Continue reading
    Brightside2018-04-24
  5. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brightside full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Was great working there, great people and well minded. Loved the working environment.

    Cons

    Difficult to work up. Lots of external applicants for more senior roles.

    Continue reading
    Brightside2017-12-13
  6. "A company trying it's best but still struggling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Aust, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brightside full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people Decent Benefits Interesting work Some targeted investment in technology Corporate comms are good

    Cons

    Job uncertainty, redundancies every year Salaries are slightly below market average

    Continue reading
    Brightside2017-11-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Brightside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brightside full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The colleagues I work with at agent level are great people. Everyone is in it for each other when working on the phones.

    Cons

    Awful operational decisions, constantly being told in meetings that they have a "plan" to improve and move forward yet they show absolutely no drive to replace leaving staff. Hauling huge amounts of pressure on the team leaders to deliver impossible targets with such a small amount of staff. I have seen 8 managers come and go on my team alone in the period of time I have worked here. That either shows a lack of operational responsibility for recruitment or further highlights my point on poor expectations laid on to the managers from the outset. Absolutely no appreciation is shown to the agents working on the floor, sales days are simply just a themed office on a budget for a day every quarter and old freebies from current/former partners are dished out as reward. Abysmal treatment of Ebike customers due to lack of online journey for over 2 years. It seems developing 2 systems to put our products on to were paid for and implemented and they weren't even catered for our bike product which was knowingly down for a very long time building to that point. Poor appraisal structuring (setting you up to lose out on pay rise) cannot go into detail but using lack of evidence of hard work due to manager turnover just makes everyone feel their 1 years worth of hard work was for nothing. And the team who did have a manager that wasn't dismissed have been better off for it. Cannot find a single ounce of trust on the HR department. Through my experience if any personal/inter colleague issue is raised with HR the whole office will know about it within a week. No chance of progression, I remember being told with a group of my colleagues by a high up member of staff that it is unrealistic that any of us will get an opportunity to move up in the business. Colleagues that have dedicated a lot of time and effort to the company have been messed about too many times as well and as a result have left.

    Continue reading
    Brightside2017-06-18
  8. "Change is underway...for the better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightside full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people - sense of fun and collaboration New management team - plans in place to turnaround performance Perfect location with lots of parking

    Cons

    Gone though a huge amount of change over the last couple of years which has led to poor morale - the new team are in place with focus and energy to improve the business.

    Continue reading
    Brightside2016-08-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews