British Airways Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Airways Reviews

Updated 14 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
British Airways Chairman and CEO Alex Cruz (no image)
Alex Cruz
420 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff travel at bare minimum rates huge discount travel made easy great leave policy(in 182 reviews)

  • "Great policies and travel benefits(in 67 reviews)

Cons
  • "Skills developed are often quite airline specific so can be difficult to switch jobs outside the(in 41 reviews)

  • "Work life balance can be difficult in some roles(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (6)

    "Incredible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Office Employee in Harmondsworth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Airways full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    BA has so many pro's, most notably: - Flexible working - Supportive managers - Fantastic career progression - Good salaries - Wonderful working environment - A big focus on staff

    Cons

    The location of head office makes travel mildly inconvenient for employees but there is a regular, free bus service to the station and free parking which makes up for it

    Continue reading
    British Airways2019-07-01

    British Airways Response

    July 2, 2019Channels Editor

    Hi, thanks so much for this wonderful review. We are thrilled to get such positive feedback and are immensely proud to have colleagues who are so passionate about working here! Our aim is to give our colleagues the best working environment possible and if you have any suggestions we would love to hear them! We wish you all the best as part of the BA family.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in Heathrow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Airways full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    The staff travel is very expensive

    British Airways2020-02-11
  3. "Good fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England

    I have been working at British Airways full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interesting work Friendly people Good work/life balance Commute by car

    Cons

    Pay not as good as in central London

    British Airways2020-03-14
  4. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Airways full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great team and laid back management, everyone easy to get on with.

    Cons

    limited progression opportunities within the company

    British Airways2020-03-10
  5. "Varied workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aircraft Mechanic in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at British Airways full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of interesting jobs across several aircraft in my team

    Cons

    The nature of the job means there are often lots of periods of down time

    British Airways2020-03-04
  6. "An incredible employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at British Airways

    Pros

    - great staff benefits, not just the flights - a great team and lots of support throughout my placement - opportunities for development - encouraged to explore other areas of the business and connect with people

    Cons

    - traditional work place that struggles to feel like a modern workplace

    Continue reading
    British Airways2020-02-28
  7. "Pleasant, smooth, organized ,friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew Member in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Airways full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, functional , efficient, good communication

    Cons

    Recruitment process may take longer than expected

    British Airways2020-02-27
  8. "Downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cabin Crew in Heathrow, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Airways full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Premium brand. Good quality planes. Nice uniform. Good training.

    Cons

    Now let anyone in. Values really let go. Work you to the bone when you have old contract employees on triple the money doing a third less work. Highly demotivating and treated with an instilled fear factor of losing your job.

    Continue reading
    British Airways2020-03-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "11 years later..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSM in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Airways full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Not a 9-5 job, cool lifestyle, lovely destinations, great memories of time spent with flying colleagues whilst exploring the world. Good brand to add to your cv. I was multi-skilled in several areas of the business by the time I left. Main crew can be boring but onboard senior and CSM became more challenging, with fleet development projects, people management, recruitment, training... the more I was willing to do, the more I advanced.

    Cons

    I end up a workaholic with 6 jobs, multiple name badges with multiple roles, sleep deprived, jet lagged, questioning myself about the state of my soul... my other half didn't recognise me anymore, I talked airline jargon all the time and money was certainly not great considering the efforts and hours I put in. Also, politics... never speak your mind, never tell how you truly feel, never flag issues. You can only be one thing: a pro-management high achiever who loves their job, puts shareholders first and employees last. Also a culture where going out drinking with managers gets you in charge of departments. If you're not that kind of person and don't fit in with the new management, watch your opportunities suddenly disappear and people who play the game receive extra slices of pie for xmas. Equal opportunities? I think not.

    Continue reading
    British Airways2020-03-05
  10. "Good place to work for locals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aircraft Maintenance Supervisor in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Airways full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Staff travel Job security Decent pay Shift pattern is 4 on 4 off

    Cons

    Some people on almost same salary without licence Big push on productivity and delivery Once you reach Aircraft Maintenance Supervisor there's not a lot of room for progression.

    Continue reading
    British Airways2020-02-20
Found 1077 reviews