British Airways Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 of over 2,155 reviews

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
British Airways CEO Sean Doyle
Sean Doyle
156 Ratings
Pros
  • "Can travel the world with staff travel and good life work balance(in 252 reviews)

  • "Great as you get travel benefits(in 83 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "At times you need to work long hours(in 59 reviews)

  • "You are just a number to the company(in 51 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Employer

      Jan 2, 2021 - Catering Assistant in Heathrow, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great employer to work for.

      Cons

      Can be long hours from time to time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      British Airways Response

      Colleague Engagement Executive

      Hello and thank you for leaving a review. We are thrilled to get such positive feedback and are immensely proud to have former colleagues who are so passionate about their time working here! Our aim is to give our colleagues the best working environment possible! We wish you all the best as part of the BA family.

    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Hard work,

      Jan 21, 2021 - Cabin Crew in Heathrow, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff, travel and variety of work

      Cons

      Very long hours, pay has decreased, no flexibility

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      British Airways Response

      Colleague Engagement Executive

      Shift patterns can be tough and aren’t for everyone! Being crew can mean some long flights and time away from family. Work life balance and wellbeing are at the forefront of our people strategy and we do our best to ensure that everyone is well rested and has enough down time. We always aim to meet and surpass the industry average with our pay. If you want any advice on how you can grow in your role, please do reach out to your manager.

    3. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great experiance

      Dec 12, 2020 - Pilot in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly staff and enjoyable job

      Cons

      long hours and not enough food

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      British Airways Response

      Colleague Engagement Executive

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience as part of the BA team. We really appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that overall you would recommend us as a great place to work.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great airline

      Nov 20, 2020 - Cabin Crew in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of fun flying the flag

      Cons

      Long hours and shift work

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      British Airways Response

      Colleague Engagement Executive

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience as part of the BA team. We really appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that overall you would recommend us as a great place to work. Shift patterns can be tough and aren’t for everyone! Being crew can mean some long flights and time away from family. Work life balance and wellbeing are at the forefront of our people strategy and we do our best to ensure that everyone is well rested and has enough down time. If you have any concerns about your work life balance, please do reach out to your line manager.

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Fun job

      Nov 28, 2020 - Mixed Fleet Cabin Crew in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Travelling, sense of community amongst crew

      Cons

      Long hours, bad roster stability, no social life

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Contractor, more than 1 year

      great company

      Nov 13, 2020 - Senior Finance Assistant in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and environment, great colleagues

      Cons

      At times you need to work long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Place to work

      Oct 30, 2020 - Customer Service Manager (CSM) in Heathrow, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Used to be a great company, good people lovely perks

      Cons

      Long Hours, Target driven, Uncompassionate

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Great company but the worst possible management

      Nov 5, 2020 - Cabin Crew Member in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The cabin crew team and camaraderie.

      Cons

      Senior management don't value staff, you get very little or no recognition for a job well done. They keep making useless efforts to increase recognition but it never happens. Management just want to divide and conquer, bad industrial relations. From now on the cabin crew pay package is so poor: low basic, long hours, total flexibility so your days off are not respected. Their pay package was excellent but now everybody has a new contract with lower terms and conditions, lower remuneration and benefits. It is not a career anymore, it's a job you will do for a couple of years. Huge corporation and you are just a number.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Cabin Crew Pay

      Sep 29, 2020 - Cabin Crew in Gatwick, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility Commission Opportunities Good Part Time

      Cons

      Low Pay Long hours Can feel disconnected from management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great flexibility

      Aug 25, 2020 - Marketing Communications Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Challenge, fun, quality, interesting, teams

      Cons

      Long hours, unpredictable deadlines, redundancies recently due to covid

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 59 Reviews

    Popular Careers with British Airways Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at British Airways? Share Your Experiences

    British Airways logo
    or