British American Tobacco Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British American Tobacco Reviews

Updated 19 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
British American Tobacco Chief Executive  Jack Bowles (no image)
Jack Bowles
92 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Was a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Service Manager in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British American Tobacco full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Spent more than 10 years, and progresses my carrier significantly. Great location, facilities, salary.

    Cons

    The biggest negative is that it is the tobacco industry. I believe for the past few years, the ship is sinking, hence not too much room to progress.

    British American Tobacco2019-11-07
  2. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at British American Tobacco full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    prefer not to share my opinion

    British American Tobacco2020-01-06
  3. "Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Systems Engineer in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British American Tobacco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay and good environment

    Cons

    Poor management and buddy system. Incompetent leadership

    Advice to Management

    Stop bringing people from Brazil and Managers that do not know anything about the product

    British American Tobacco2020-01-16
  4. "Truly Employee Focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British American Tobacco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great pay and perks - Friendly and intelligent people - Very much a people focused organisation - Interesting and well funded science - Professional and 'very' relaxed environment - Truly flexible hours - Academic feel - No expenses spared Highly recommend.

    Cons

    - Can be a little goal focus flippant at times - Promotion can be difficult (dead mans shoes')

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! Reward capacity rather than time in role (Something all companies a little guilty of)

    British American Tobacco2020-01-02
  5. "Great training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trade Marketing Representative 

    I worked at British American Tobacco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had a lovely team and manager pushed for my development. Training was great.

    Cons

    Strategies changed daily and managment didn't tell field staff or customers all that they needed to know.

    British American Tobacco2020-01-08
  6. "Very very very vaguely glad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Executive 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British American Tobacco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible Bonus Salary Shares Development

    Cons

    Big Decision making Organisation structure

    British American Tobacco2019-12-12
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at British American Tobacco full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    None Its a good company

    British American Tobacco2019-11-22
  8. "Great people, best benefits and pay but product is still dangerous to life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Portfolio Manager in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British American Tobacco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay and Benefits second to none. Good development culture and training opportunities.

    Cons

    Higher up you go, more politics and dog eat dog culture.

    Advice to Management

    Try to go into new products!

    British American Tobacco2019-12-04
  9. "Great on experience. Woefully short on senior diversity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Director in London, England

    I worked at British American Tobacco full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Cross functional / geographical experience. Depth and breadth

    Cons

    Poor diversity especially at senior management levels. Category not inspiring

    Advice to Management

    Diversity and diversification. Be bolder.

    British American Tobacco2019-11-12
  10. "Good people, terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British American Tobacco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are lovely, invests time in training, managers are helpful when they can be, free parking

    Cons

    Most workers are stuck on a contract that constantly gets renewed instead of being hired directly by BAT, not a lot of room for progression

    Advice to Management

    Look after your contracted employees - they put in a lot of work for you and would probably want nothing more than to be permanent staff. It's horrible having a looming end date that may or may not be renewed each time.

    British American Tobacco2019-10-28
Found 1183 reviews