British Gas "senior management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Gas Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated 9 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
44%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
British Gas Chief Executive, Centrica Consumer Sarwjit Sambhi (no image)
Sarwjit Sambhi
78 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Made me feel like I was totally incompetent at my role because of the way I was talked to by senior management(in 31 reviews)

  • "poor management, work life balance, safety issues(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Gas

    Pros

    wage, development and training is excellent. shares and good pension scheme

    Cons

    there were too many restructures and changes of senior management

    Continue reading
    British Gas2015-04-27
  2. "Archaic place to work with a cut throat environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Product Manager in Staines, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It was close to home

    Cons

    Made me feel like I was totally incompetent at my role because of the way I was talked to by senior management

    Continue reading
    British Gas2020-01-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "This company reminds me of Carillion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are great in general

    Cons

    Directors and Senior Management are clueless, when trying to diversify a business to meet changing customer requirements, you need to have the knowledge, skill, experience and most of all the competence to drive through positive change and bring the staff with you, these people are like headless chickens. Change people or change people not at staff level as they keep trying that and it does not work, need new leadership and fresh blood at director level These people do not understand the business's they are trying to run and commerciality is poor, the brand is good but you need to do more in a changing and highly competitive environment Lack of respect for staff, listen to the people doing the job and interacting with your customers you might learn something

    Continue reading
    British Gas2020-01-04
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Horrendous place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    32 hour week from May to August

    Cons

    The rest of it. All stemming from a clueless senior management that are the cause of all the problems that employees have to deal with. A toxic culture all over the business and the inept management are incapable of changing it. That is why their employees are leaving in droves. If you do end up getting a job at British Gas you will need to leave your morales at the door

    Continue reading
    British Gas2019-10-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Management destroying company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stockport, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people are nice as long as you don’t work in sales department where the people who care about £

    Cons

    Senior management are clueless to the point it would be laughable if it wasn’t for the destruction of the company They state customer obsessed - this couldn’t be further from the truth Employees are made to feel like robots and nothing matters other than the bottom line Poor marketing campaigns with boring offers Lack of leadership or vision from above a once amazing company destroyed

    Continue reading
    British Gas2019-09-23
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Uddingston, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They have a good sickness leave and maternity policy

    Cons

    Used to be a great place to work, but over the years it has gotten worse and worse. Job cuts, bonus cuts and poor senior management who are willing to take bonus’s even when the company isn’t doing well.

    Continue reading
    British Gas2019-08-25
  7. "Poor culture in digital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Principal Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Gas for more than a year

    Pros

    Senior management is trying so hard to change digital. You can see the effort.

    Cons

    Culture below senior management on the digital area is disgusting and leaves much to be desired. It's full of intimidation and politics.

    British Gas2019-05-12
  8. "Shocking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The £ is decent that’s all

    Cons

    Bullying culture acceptable even with Senior Management

    Continue reading
    British Gas2019-05-03
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Majorly Deteriorating Standards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people on the frontline take a pride in their work and try to deliver for the customer. As below, this seems to be majorly hindered by poor senior management decisions.

    Cons

    Company standards, procedures, and levels of service have really suffered due to extremely poor management. This in turn has really impacted employee engagement. The business is hell bent on having to cut expenditure at any cost. Worryingly, this seems to be at the expense of customer service. This coupled with the bad management decisions at senior level mentioned above has meant a major deterioration in working standards for employees. The energy price cap and inadequate preparation for this means that major cut backs will have to be delivered through further scaling back an operation, which is already operating at the very limit of it’s capacity. Poor winter planning in field operations means that the company has massively over-planned for the mildest winter in recent history. This in turn means that they are massively ahead of their service plan for this year. Again, this leaves no other option than to immediately implement further cut backs to frontline engineers. In the short term, this will solve work volume issues but longer term it spells disaster for meeting customer demand should we experience a cold winter next year. In summary, DO NOT TOUCH with a barge pole for at least the next 5 years as an employer if you value any sort of work satisfaction. It’s clear that the left hand doesn’t know what the right is doing in recent times and this doesn’t look set to improve until a major overhaul of senior management is implemented.

    Continue reading
    British Gas2019-03-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Company in decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are fantastic their apart from senior management, the colleagues I worked with were tight knit and like family and the support during tough times was brilliant. The salary is good but not worth the pressures it brings

    Cons

    Disgusting senior management. The job your told to do does not reflect the job title Priorities are strictly financially based rather than working on structure and listing to feedback from frontline colleagues . If your not a manager or any senior management your words or feedback means nothing and you don't have a leg to stand on. The systems are oudated the style in which the process the site uses is out of date and and far old school. Their is no modern approach or colleagues interest looked at.

    Continue reading
    British Gas2019-01-01
Found 31 reviews