British Heart Foundation Assistant Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Assistant Manager

British Heart Foundation Assistant Manager Reviews

Updated 12 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Gloucester, England
    Recommends

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work as a team

    Cons

    wages very low ..... Can't think of anything

    British Heart Foundation2019-01-03

    British Heart Foundation Response

    January 8, 2019Recruitment Partner

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. It is good to see that you enjoyed working as a team whilst with us. This is a point that regularly comes up in our employee reviews. It is also positive to see that you cannot think of many cons and we will ensure that ...

    Show More
  2. "Reasonable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Shop Manager in Glasgow, Scotland

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly, International, Fun, Sociable, different

    Cons

    Short lunches, hard working load,

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-12

    British Heart Foundation Response

    June 20, 2019

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It's good to see that overall you had a positive experience with us and that you enjoy working with a friendly team to make a life saving difference. With regards to the other points you have raised, we will ensure they are shared ...

    Show More
  3. "Rewarding in so many ways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Stoke-on-Trent, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started as a volunteer in the March and was made assistant manager in the May of the same year. Great progression opportunities Friendly teams from volunteer right up to regional managers and above Rewarding both financially and with a sense of doing something for such a good cause Supportive in all ways possible Getting to work with such a diverse range of people Having to put in the work to see the... results gives you a great sense of achievement

    Show More

    Cons

    None to report from me

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. The support, advice and friendly approachable nature to all members of the team.

    British Heart Foundation2018-08-16
  4. "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Wolverhampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meeting lots of lovely People, great working environment, never a dull moment, very supportive management

    Cons

    No complaints from me, very happy to be here

    Advice to Management

    Thank you !

    British Heart Foundation2018-05-16

    British Heart Foundation Response

    July 30, 2018Recruitment Partner

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. It is good to see you love working as part of a team that makes a life-saving difference, and that you particularly enjoy the working environment. We thank you for your review and wish you continued success with us!

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Dont do it its not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really interesting work thats it

    Cons

    You get treated like crap

    Advice to Management

    Loose the ego and appreciate your staff and volunteers

    British Heart Foundation2018-02-01
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Bullying management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None unless you're a BULLY

    Cons

    Manager was a bully to staff and volunteers, swearing at people if they didnt do what she wanted them to do , went home early , left volunteers to run shop, when i complained to area manager nothing was done , this company doesn't care about its staff only money , how is bullying allowed in this day and age in such a big company and nothing is done about it , they would rather get money than look after their staff

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of your bullying managers and follow up any complaints made by staff rather than sweep it under the carpet

    British Heart Foundation2017-08-15
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Bulling Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Assistant Manager in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation for more than a year

    Pros

    Great volunteers but used for terribly Good cause but a company who exploits the fact people have died to extract money

    Cons

    Pressure and bullying commonplace Very Sad that they are used in such a derogatory way.

    Advice to Management

    Stop exploiting venerable adults and abusing staff

    British Heart Foundation2017-04-30
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Rewarding but frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's very rewarding working for a charity as big and BHF and working with volunteers is interesting and valuable experience. Friendly people and no day is the same. Hands on work.

    Cons

    Upper management can take ages to make a decision. A lot of bureaucracy. Not a lot of focus on what the charity actually does, which is slightly de-motivating as you can be unsure of what you're working for.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more in depth training for managers to cover all aspects of paperwork

    British Heart Foundation2016-11-07
  9. Helpful (3)

    "The worst I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Volunteers, always busy, some nice people

    Cons

    I've co-managed in several high end retail sales companies and this is by far the most unorganised and chaotic place I've ever worked! Training for the job was almost non-existent, you were very briefly shown how to do something then you were expected to be an expert. If you made a mistake there were huffs or jibs. Store standards were terrible. The shop was filthy, dust balls and rubbish everywhere, cabinet... furniture never got cleaned unless you asked and asked or done it yourself, floors were never moped unless you done it yourself, price tickets were always missing and nobody knew if something needed booking in or if it had been sold. Stock was always missing and deliveries were dumped anywhere, stock needing booking in just sits around for ages and delivery dockets and paperwork get spread about everywhere and you end up with piles of paper and random tickets on the desk which just gets dumped because nobody knows what it is. There is some great stock which needs PAT testing but never gets to see the light of day, electrical shelves need refilling ASAP but can be left and left.....unless you do it yourself. The trackers need streamlining as you waste more time switching tabs and filling in figures than you do serving and leading your team. The store manager is either taking personal phone calls for 20mins a time or standing around doing nothing other than barking orders. This place basically sucked out all the enthusiasm out of me and made me very negative.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Streamline trackers, re-merch all stores to create more space between sofas and get a decent training program in place,

    British Heart Foundation2016-02-20
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Bulling Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Assistant Store Manager in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation

    Pros

    Worthwhile cause but thats all

    Cons

    Horrible to work for...Bulling commonplace

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff they deserve more respect

    British Heart Foundation2016-01-30
Found 11 reviews