British Heart Foundation Retail Sales Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Heart Foundation Retail Sales Assistant Reviews

Updated 10 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
99%
Recommend to a Friend
British Heart Foundation Chief Executive Dr. Charmaine Griffiths
Dr. Charmaine Griffiths
0 Rating
  1. "Brilliant!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Pontefract, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team, friendly volunteers and a learning experience!

    Cons

    Stressful at times but no complaints

    British Heart Foundation2019-11-22

    British Heart Foundation Response

    November 27, 2019

    Thanks so much for your review! It%E2%80%99s great to see how much you enjoy your role as Sales Assistant, despite the challenges of retail. We're so pleased that you are learning new skills and have such an amazing team. We wish you continued success with us!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Shocking experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Worcester Park, England
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working for a worthwhile cause Working with some lovely volunteers Meeting friendly customers

    Cons

    Bullying Intimidation Health & Safety concerns No break times Hostility from management

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-02-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Bath, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great pay for relatively easy work (they pay £8.30 hour as a sales assistant regardless of your age) - You can opt into doing additional training and learning and you can shadow anyone in the company to learn about their job - The job can be quite fun and varied. There’s always something different every day to do. But it can also be very repetitive and boring - There is quite a good benefits package you get a health/dental plan, 25% discount, A good amount of holidays allowance and plenty of overtime offered

    Cons

    - The job can be stressful due to the amount of stock that you can get. There is always a very high workload. There are not enough members of staff hired in the shops. It’s usually just a team of a couple of people and volunteers are heavily relied upon - Working conditions are rather dangerous and unsafe to be around - There is an atmosphere of bullying from the management team

    British Heart Foundation2019-10-04

    British Heart Foundation Response

    October 14, 2019Recruitment Partner

    Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. It is great to see that you're enjoying the variety and additional learning that is on offer to all of our employees. It is also good to see that you're making use of our benefits package. This often comes up as a positive comment within our reviews. Regarding your other comments, we want to reassure you that we do take all the points you have raised seriously. If you would like to discuss these points in more detail and confidentially, please do reach out to us at careers@bhf.org.uk

    Continue reading
  4. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Fantastic to put on CV - Fun people volunteer, so you get to meet lots of great people - Stores are generally frequented by nice folk, lots of older customers. Super nice to exchange banter with - Fun to see what people will donate, lots of surprisew

    Cons

    - You don't get paid I guess, but I've never seen it as a con

    British Heart Foundation2017-02-26
  5. "sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Sales Assistant in Partick, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation

    Pros

    hard working staff at all times

    Cons

    not enough help too employees

    British Heart Foundation2016-07-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Management expect too much of paid staff and volunteers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Falkirk, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Met lots of lovely people. Volunteers were all long serving people an made me feel very welcome.

    Cons

    Complaints are never followed up, always ignored. Only time the management talk to paid staff and volunteers is to tell them to do more work and then complain about the work done.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2016-02-02
  7. "Volunteered my time as a Retail Sales Assistant in BHF Walthamstow, London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Retail Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to meet all sorts of people from various backgrounds with interesting stories to tell. Learn no skills and techniques, get discounted clothing items and sometimes permission to keep goods they plan to junk. You are trusted with responsibilities and down the line cash handling.

    Cons

    Lack of opportunities to progress onto payment role, management can be very hipocritical. Too many tasks being assigned to you, shortage of staff in shifts while other shifts may end up being over staffed. Lazy paid staff members, volunteers often worker much harder and put in more effort.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2014-09-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews