British Heart Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Heart Foundation Reviews

Updated 18 October 2018
214 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
British Heart Foundation Chief Executive Simon Gillespie
Simon Gillespie
69 Ratings

214 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "too many volunteers and not enough paid staff" (in 13 reviews)

  • "Co-workers (stockroom assistants) would break items on purpose if they couldn't be bothered to take them up to the shop floor" (in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Wolverhampton, England
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Wolverhampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Meeting lots of lovely People, great working environment, never a dull moment, very supportive management

    Cons

    No complaints from me, very happy to be here

    Advice to Management

    Thank you !

    British Heart Foundation Response

    30 Jul 2018 – Recruitment Partner

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. It is good to see you love working as part of a team that makes a life-saving difference, and that you particularly enjoy the working environment. We thank... More


  2. "Dynamic and Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The BHF is always changing which create a dynamic and challenging environment in all the right ways! You get to own your work and set expectations.

    Cons

    As you would expect within a charity the staffing model is lean, but don't let that put you off.

    British Heart Foundation Response

    3 Oct 2018 – Recruitment Partner

    Hi, thank you so much for your lovely review. It is great to hear that you feel challenged in your role and enjoy the autonomy that is provided. We wish you continued success with us!

  3. "Retail Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in London, England
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly and approachable staff. Various roles to gain experience in.

    Cons

    Needs more recognition on adverts and leaflets so that more customers can donate.


  4. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues
    Lovely customers
    Fun working environment

    Cons

    There are not really any cons.


  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager
    Current Employee - Area Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Health and well-being is #1 focus. Employees are looked after with great duty of care and supported when they need it most.

    Cons

    They are not cons but just something to be aware of as the perception is often the total opposite of this: hard work, high targets, short staffed almost always.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to empower and listen to your staff. They have some fantastic ideas


  6. "Hand on heart, the best place I've worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Working with such wonderfully gifted and enthusiastic people. Everyone who works here seems to have a genuine commitment to making a difference for our cause and desire to do the best work towards it. There are great opportunities if you want them to get involved in a variety of activities and effort by leaders to make this a great organization to work for. It is an ambitious, inclusive and caring organization, offering you the chance to shape it and have your say. I've really been able to make a difference to the organization and have had great support from my manager.

    Cons

    Very few cons I can think of. If you are looking to make your millions this is not the place and neither should it be, but if you are looking to have a rewarding career and know you are working for a greater cause, you can't go far wrong. Anything that needs attention is getting it so I have optimism it will continue to just get better.

    British Heart Foundation Response

    11 Sep 2018 – Recruitment Partner

    Hi, thank you so much for your fab feedback! It is good to see you love working as part of a team that makes a life-saving difference, and that you particularly enjoy the people and all of the... More


  7. "Volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Friendly place to volunteer,
    25% Employee discount
    Nvq person comes out fortnightly for those wanting to gain nvqs whilst being there.

    Cons

    Sometimes there's too many volunteers and other days they can be struggling for staff

    British Heart Foundation Response

    3 Sep 2018

    Hi thank you for your review . We love to hear from our volunteers and it was great to read your comments.
    Jo
    Volunteering Team

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in London, England
    Current Employee - Senior Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    This is the best place I have ever worked! I really enjoy working with such great, enthusiastic and talented people! The BHF is doing some really interesting things, investing more in its work and conversely in it's people with new digital tools and new technologies like Workday - always trying to improve itself and do better. This makes for a friendly and warm place to work where people can be themselves, are listened to and where the Values are very strong. People matter here!

    Cons

    I cannot think of a downside, it really is a great place to work with an open culture!

    Advice to Management

    Keep living the values and being open and transparent and engaging.

    British Heart Foundation Response

    3 Oct 2018 – Recruitment Partner

    Hi, thank you so much for your review and feedback. It is great to hear that you really enjoying the working environment, the exciting projects and open culture! It is also great that cannot think... More


  9. "Guidance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Perth, Scotland
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Perth, Scotland
    Recommends

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It is a very homey place to volunteer, my nervousness is slowly slipping away, thanks to the manager.

    Cons

    So far, I have none.

    British Heart Foundation Response

    3 Sep 2018

    Thank you for your feedback we really do love to hear from our amazing volunteers!

    Jo
    Volunteering Team


  10. "Management Great , Co-workers not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stockroom Assistant in Leicester, England
    Former Employee - Stockroom Assistant in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great management.
    Great for work experience.

    Cons

    Co-workers played around too much.
    Co-workers (stockroom assistants) would break items on purpose if they couldn't be bothered to take them up to the shop floor. Wasting money.

    Advice to Management

    Look out for your stockroom assistants as they play around too much.

    e.g. throwing/breaking items, disrespecting others and their families.

    British Heart Foundation Response

    11 Sep 2018 – Recruitment Partner

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. It is good to see that you gained good work experience and skills whilst working for us. With regards to the other points you have raised, we will ensure they... More


Showing 214 of 251 reviews
Reset Filters