British Heart Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Heart Foundation Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 145 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
British Heart Foundation CEO Simon Gillespie
Simon Gillespie
57 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "too many volunteers and not enough paid staff(in 13 reviews)

  • "speaking from my experience there where no cons(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Wolverhampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Meeting lots of lovely People, great working environment, never a dull moment, very supportive management

    Cons

    No complaints from me, very happy to be here

    Advice to Management

    Thank you !

    British Heart Foundation2018-05-16

    British Heart Foundation Response

    July 30, 2018Recruitment Partner

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. It is good to see you love working as part of a team that makes a life-saving difference, and that you particularly enjoy the working environment. We thank you for your review and wish you continued success with us!

  2. "Modern, commercial charity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People & Organizational Development in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - work life balance - friendly - good company culture - invested in training staff - great benefits and generous annual leave of 30 days for head office - modern head office

    Cons

    - need more internal succession

    British Heart Foundation2019-04-10
  3. "Overall a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Generally a great bunch of people. Plenty of opportunity to get involved in projects outside your remit and contribute to the cause.

    Cons

    Rapid change challenged some old school views which could be frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    Be a bit more flexible when initiating change.

    British Heart Foundation2019-04-10
  4. "Great place with Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    working with a large group of like minded, talented people who have the same goal in mind which is to make a difference and help save lives Having good exposure to all different types of technology, ways of working and delivering life changing projects and programmes open to ideas and new ways of working to help depts. and functions across the organisation

    Cons

    Some of the facilities could do with updating at some of the offices (I know that's being looked into)

    British Heart Foundation2019-04-10
  5. "Customer sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Easy going environment and friendly worker

    Cons

    Long hours and less break time

    British Heart Foundation2019-04-22
  6. "Volunteer Shop Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Customer Service in Brandon, East of England, England

      I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Gaining new skills & experience of telephone enquiries, serving customers & operating the till.

      Cons

      Unpaid work & hours for a period of time without employment

      British Heart Foundation2019-04-14
    • "Brilliant place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Graduate in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great people, social life if you want it, important cause, leadership who listen and you feel part of something much bigger.

      Cons

      Some teams can be very stretched at times but there’s usually support in place should you need it.

      Advice to Management

      Carry on listening to people and involving colleagues of all levels in decision making.

      British Heart Foundation2019-03-28

      British Heart Foundation Response

      April 10, 2019

      Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. It's great to see that you enjoyed working as part of a team that makes a life-saving difference, and the overall culture. We wish you all the best in your new adventure!

    • "GOOD"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Volunteer in Nuneaton, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Getting to know people, improving confidence

      Cons

      It can get repetitive

      British Heart Foundation2019-03-20
    • "Getting really tough to stay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - General Dogsbody in Liverpool, England
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Full time work and pay no evening/night work get to see unusual items meet some great people healthcare plan which goes towards opticians or dental

      Cons

      Not enough paid staff No staff bonuses Too much dependence on what few paid staff there are and not enough volunteers No fun any more THEY FORGET THEY ARE A CHARITY SHOP SELLING 2nd HAND ITEMS They have gone too corporate and it is more money - more money - more money

      Advice to Management

      Remember what we used to be, and focus more on getting staff in through the doors instead of hurting what few staff members we have

      British Heart Foundation2019-04-03

      British Heart Foundation Response

      April 10, 2019

      Thank you for your review. It's good to hear that you feel we offer good staff benefits, and that until recently you've had a positive experience with us. We continually strive to create a positive environment and a healthy work-life balance for our employees, so your comments will ...

      Show More
    • "Volunteer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Volunteer in Guildford, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time

      Pros

      Leaning new skills and having a sense of achievement

      Cons

      There isn’t any at present

      Advice to Management

      Keep the volunteer,’s busy so they don’t get bored

      British Heart Foundation2019-03-11
    Found 145 reviews