British Heart Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Heart Foundation Reviews

Updated 15 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
84%
Recommend to a Friend
British Heart Foundation Chief Executive Dr. Charmaine Griffiths
Dr. Charmaine Griffiths
1 Rating
Pros
  • "Friendly staff, work around your prior commitments(in 18 reviews)

  • "Great office and colleagues who are all working hard to help the BHF achieve its long term strategy(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "In being a charity it’s to be cutting edge in terms of innovation(in 30 reviews)

  • "No cons at all great place to work(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Super place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great office and colleagues who are all working hard to help the BHF achieve its long term strategy

    Cons

    Food offering isn’t great in the food court on the 5th floor but Camden has plenty to offer

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-26

    British Heart Foundation Response

    July 17, 2019

    Thanks so much for your review! It’s great to see how much you enjoy working with your colleagues to make a life saving difference! We wish you continued success with us!

    Continue reading
  2. "Great Place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Llandudno, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working here and found the staff to be polite, professional and quick on their feet.

    Cons

    I found it a little hard working the old till that was at the store in Llandudno.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-02-04

    British Heart Foundation Response

    February 7, 2020Recruitment Partner

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us! It is great to hear that you loved the culture and working with your colleagues. We're always looking for ways to improve the experience that our retail colleagues have so your comments about the till system will be shared with the retail operations team. Wishing you all the best in your new adventure!

    Continue reading
  3. "Great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Erdington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lovely staff. Great environment. Enjoyable.

    Cons

    Bus journey can be long depending on traffic.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-02-15

    British Heart Foundation Response

    February 20, 2020

    Thanks so much for your review! We wish you continued success with us! Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  4. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker in Plymouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Lots of coffee and banter.

    Cons

    Not enough volunteers , too much Alcaffe and banter.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-02-11

    British Heart Foundation Response

    February 20, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience of working with us. We'll pass on your comments about Volunteer recruitment to the relevant teams. Thank you for making a life-saving difference, we wish you all the best in your new adventure! Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Shocking experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Worcester Park, England
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working for a worthwhile cause Working with some lovely volunteers Meeting friendly customers

    Cons

    Bullying Intimidation Health & Safety concerns No break times Hostility from management

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-02-10

    British Heart Foundation Response

    February 20, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are really disappointed to hear your about your experience and concerns. Our people are at the heart of everything we do and a focus of our People Strategy is to create an open, healthy and positive work place for everyone, whether they are paid staff or volunteers. If you are keen for this to be investigated further, or feel that you have not been given the sufficient support, please contact us on careers@bhf.org.uk. Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  6. "Friendly staff and nice environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer Administrator in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The staff are lovely and always welcoming - The customers are mostly friendly too - Good banter with staff - Good experience and helping the community out

    Cons

    - Volunteer so no pay - Manager did not learn my name - Repetitive work so gets a bit boring and no chairs so standing up for hours

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-01-06

    British Heart Foundation Response

    January 10, 2020Volunteering Team Co-Ordinator

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Genuinely, without Volunteers such as yourself, the BHF couldn't function as well as it does - THANK YOU. I hope your role with us will evolve and the experience will lead to paid employment. Clare - Volunteering Team

    Continue reading
  7. "Great cause, generally good people. Held back by culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Partnership Development Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great cause Great office Generally good people to work with Decent salary and work/ life balance

    Cons

    Little proactive engagement from senior management in solving cultural and personel issues

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-01-16

    British Heart Foundation Response

    February 4, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience of working with us. Your other points regarding senior management and introducing confidential feedback will be shared with the relevant teams. Whilst we do run a quarterly colleague engagement survey, which encourages confidential feedback, we continually look for ways in which we can improve. Thank you for making a life-saving difference, we wish you all the best in your new adventure! Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  8. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Front End Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing place to work and good work life balance.

    Cons

    People leave very often and that seems normal

    British Heart Foundation2019-12-16

    British Heart Foundation Response

    December 19, 2019

    Thanks so much for your 5 star review. We’re really pleased that you enjoyed working with BHF, and that you had a good work life balance. Thank you for making a life-saving difference, we wish you all the best in your new adventure! Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  9. "Good company - Low pay - Senior HR not approachable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company who provide lots of training materials to grow knowledge.

    Cons

    The pay is very low and when asking to shadow HR department, no one other than the HR BP replies. Very disappointing.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2019-12-29

    British Heart Foundation Response

    February 7, 2020Recruitment Partner

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. It is great to hear that you enjoy the culture in the organisation and have been using the training materials and tools that we have available. It is also great to hear that you would like to learn more about other areas of the business to grow and develop your skills. Please, email careers@bhf.org.uk and we can look in to your shadowing request further? We are always looking for ways to improve the experience that our employees have and want to reassure you that we do take all feedback onboard. Thank you again! Recruitment team

    Continue reading
  10. "Brilliant!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Pontefract, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team, friendly volunteers and a learning experience!

    Cons

    Stressful at times but no complaints

    British Heart Foundation2019-11-22

    British Heart Foundation Response

    November 27, 2019

    Thanks so much for your review! It%E2%80%99s great to see how much you enjoy your role as Sales Assistant, despite the challenges of retail. We're so pleased that you are learning new skills and have such an amazing team. We wish you continued success with us!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 196 reviews