British Heart Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Heart Foundation Reviews

Updated 22 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
83%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Furniture and Electrical."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive and challenging. You have to be assertive.

    Cons

    Unusual risks eg. trip hazards or glass/both. It's easy to be distracted by other tasks and leave a hazard forgotten about.

    British Heart Foundation2019-11-22
  2. "Brilliant!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Pontefract, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team, friendly volunteers and a learning experience!

    Cons

    Stressful at times but no complaints

    British Heart Foundation2019-11-22
  3. "Opportunities To Learn A Lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Volunteer Retail Sales Associate in Cheadle, North West England, England

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Voluntary Sales Assistant British Heart Foundation - Cheadle I am a chatterbox. I can talk about anything and everything. Volunteering allows me a fantastic opportunity to let my chitchatting dreams run wild. As an outgoing and enthusiastic volunteer, I love meeting and greeting customers. I talk to the customers, make them feel welcome, help them find the things they’re looking for and inform them of Gift-Aid... Club memberships. I keep the sales floor looking fresh and inspiring, and thank everyone who brings in their donations and custom. I am a part of a friendly and helpful team in a relaxed environment. My manager provided me with all the support and help I need. Perfect for enhancing my CV gaining valuable work experience and new skill set.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have no Cons to talk about

    British Heart Foundation2019-11-20
  4. "If you want an easy life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Big open plan office with plenty of light, it's own balcony and onsite canteen. The people are friendly and there are lots of benefits, holiday and flexible working hours.

    Cons

    There are no opportunities to develop or progress. It's difficult to change things and suggest ideas, everyone is quite stuck in their ways. Management have no idea what anyone does and allow people to be lapse. If you don't want to work then can easily get away with doing nothing.

    Advice to Management

    Have more idea what people do within the team and listen to suggestions.

    British Heart Foundation2019-11-15
  5. "Fair place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Stockport, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible times for volunteer work

    Cons

    Sometimes some time Is spent not doing much for warehouse stuff.

    British Heart Foundation2019-11-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Without doubt the best company I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Exeter, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun, upbeat, unfalteringly conscientious and befriending supportive staff who never failed to impress with their tenacious problem solving, ALWAYS finding good in every situation, and using this to help save lives. Working for the foundation not only inspired me to be a better person, but also provided me with life long lessons.

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    British Heart Foundation2019-11-08
  7. "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Upper Holloway, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No pros what so ever

    Cons

    Everything is wrong with this place

    Advice to Management

    Fix up

    British Heart Foundation2019-11-08
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic, poisonous, political and shameful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraiser in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of holiday is great, flexible working hours, well-known brand

    Cons

    Really, you have to just see it for yourself to believe how this place operates. I hope it's not all charities, but I hear it pretty much is. From the backstabbing, to the colleagues ready with pistols at dawn, to the culture of blame and recognition for whoever is flavor of the month, this is a pretty torturous place to work. Not only is a huge amount of money wasted through vanity projects left right and center..., but there are people constantly jostling for position. And all the while, little changes, improves or gets delivered. It's like swimming with your boots on. Then we have the awesome divide in senior management salaries, to those that actually bring in the money (fundraisers), and then those that blow it all on tech that we just don't need (hello IT), while providing super bad support to colleagues all the while. Maybe it looks good on their resumes or something, it doesn't make sense otherwise. In my time I witnessed people just not coming back the next day. Saw millions of pounds come in from people donating in their wills, only to go out again on paying someone off for a redundancy package. Meanwhile the shop workers earn one tenth of a pittance but put their hearts in (pun intended) their work. It's shameful and honestly I'm not sure I'll ever give to a charity again now. I'm just glad to have got out on my own terms. I just don't recommend it, look elsewhere please.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hang your heads in shame. You all need to be reviewed and controlled

    British Heart Foundation2019-10-31
  9. "Retail assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wakefield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work around day to day life Friendly staff

    Cons

    Messy stock room Not enough training

    British Heart Foundation2019-10-29
  10. "Fantastic Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Listen to staff for areas of development and great work life balance with brilliant work benefits.

    Cons

    Pressured role with a lot to do but I wouldn't have it any other way!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    British Heart Foundation2019-10-25
Found 188 reviews