British Heart Foundation Reviews

Updated 27 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
British Heart Foundation Chief Executive Dr. Charmaine Griffiths
Dr. Charmaine Griffiths
6 Ratings
  1. "Great experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Meeting new people, broadened my experience

    Cons

    Unfortunately part time no pay

    Continue reading

    British Heart Foundation Response

    June 25, 2020Recruitment Partner

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. It is great to see that you are enjoying your time with us and have been able to grow your skills and experience. Wishing you continued success!

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Hated working here"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I met some lovely people A lot of training sessions available

    Cons

    Some really toxic managers Big emphasis on hierarchy and a lot of pressure put on teams that ends up put on lower down workers Don't listen to new opinions and ideas Don't care about the people, just making a profit to be "the best charity" Dirty offices, mice live in the vents and poo on the desks Bad cross team collaboration. A lot of pressure to meet team targets rather than whole organisation targets, so teams fight over income streams.

    Continue reading

    British Heart Foundation Response

    June 25, 2020Recruitment Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We're sorry to hear about your experience working with us. It is not what we would want or expect for our colleagues. Our people often come up as a positive point in our reviews and it is good to see that you were able partake is training that is available on Workday Learning. All of the other points that you have raised will be shared with the relevant teams and dealt with accordingly . We welcome all feedback and so if you would like to share any further details around the points above then please contact us at careers@bhf.org.uk for a confidential conversation. Wishing you all the best. BHF recruitment team


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Frustrating"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Hull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time

    Pros

    Non profit. Good controls on corporate expenditure in comparison to many firms. Some really good employees. Great volunteers. Varied work. Relatively short working week, 35 hours, no late nights or long shifts.

    Cons

    Major conflicts between the charity image & the business requirement. Too much pressure on target & kpi achievement, a charity which threatens letters of concern is not my idea of an understanding employer. They encourage whistle blowing & safeguarding yet a line manager will say "we don't talk about such things". Far too many area & regional managers & directors, not required. Ill thought out notions of what is required while ignoring what the employees & customers need.

    Continue reading

    British Heart Foundation Response

    March 31, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are disappointed to hear that you don't feel that we, as an organisation, are listening to you. If you feel that we can be of any support in this area, please contact us on careers@bhf.org.uk. We value your feedback, so this and your other points regarding targets and our use of letters of concern, will be shared with the relevant teams. Recruitment Team

  4. "great!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Gateshead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly staff, very welcoming

    Cons

    sometimes quite on shop floor

    Continue reading

    British Heart Foundation Response

    March 9, 2020

    Thanks so much for your review. We’re really pleased you’re enjoying working with your colleagues,; we believe it’s our people that make BHF such a great place to work. Thank you for making a life-saving difference, we wish you all the best in your new adventure! Recruitment Team

  5. "Great."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Erdington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lovely staff. Great environment. Enjoyable.

    Cons

    Bus journey can be long depending on traffic.

    Continue reading

    British Heart Foundation Response

    February 20, 2020

    Thanks so much for your review! We wish you continued success with us! Recruitment Team

  6. "Good place to work."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker in Plymouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Lots of coffee and banter.

    Cons

    Not enough volunteers , too much Alcaffe and banter.

    Continue reading

    British Heart Foundation Response

    February 20, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience of working with us. We'll pass on your comments about Volunteer recruitment to the relevant teams. Thank you for making a life-saving difference, we wish you all the best in your new adventure! Recruitment Team

  7. "Great Place!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Llandudno, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working here and found the staff to be polite, professional and quick on their feet.

    Cons

    I found it a little hard working the old till that was at the store in Llandudno.

    Continue reading

    British Heart Foundation Response

    February 7, 2020Recruitment Partner

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us! It is great to hear that you loved the culture and working with your colleagues. We're always looking for ways to improve the experience that our retail colleagues have so your comments about the till system will be shared with the retail operations team. Wishing you all the best in your new adventure!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Place I ever been too"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant in Lincoln, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    no pros at all (it's that bad)

    Cons

    rude staff, wont give references

    Continue reading

    British Heart Foundation Response

    March 19, 2020

    Thanks for taking time to leave a review. We are really disappointed to hear of your experience with us as. We want to reassure you that we do take the points you have raised seriously and if you are keen to discuss these confidentially please do reach out to us at careers@bhf.org.uk. Recruitment Team

  9. "Friendly staff and nice environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer Administrator in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The staff are lovely and always welcoming - The customers are mostly friendly too - Good banter with staff - Good experience and helping the community out

    Cons

    - Volunteer so no pay - Manager did not learn my name - Repetitive work so gets a bit boring and no chairs so standing up for hours

    Continue reading

    British Heart Foundation Response

    January 10, 2020Volunteering Team Co-Ordinator

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Genuinely, without Volunteers such as yourself, the BHF couldn't function as well as it does - THANK YOU. I hope your role with us will evolve and the experience will lead to paid employment. Clare - Volunteering Team

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Shocking experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Worcester Park, England
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working for a worthwhile cause Working with some lovely volunteers Meeting friendly customers

    Cons

    Bullying Intimidation Health & Safety concerns No break times Hostility from management

    Continue reading

    British Heart Foundation Response

    February 20, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are really disappointed to hear your about your experience and concerns. Our people are at the heart of everything we do and a focus of our People Strategy is to create an open, healthy and positive work place for everyone, whether they are paid staff or volunteers. If you are keen for this to be investigated further, or feel that you have not been given the sufficient support, please contact us on careers@bhf.org.uk. Recruitment Team

Found 210 reviews