British Heart Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Heart Foundation Reviews

Updated Nov 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
83%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Kidderminster, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A friendly and nice place to volunteer,

    Cons

    Theyre were no job vacancies for paid staff while I was there

    British Heart Foundation2019-10-16
  2. "Feedback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy Head of FM in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A very smart working space that embraces the agile working ethos.

    Cons

    Building is multi-tenanted and the majority tenant literally employs 1,000's of staff so communal areas can become a little congested.

    British Heart Foundation2019-10-14
  3. "If you want an easy life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Big open plan office with plenty of light, it's own balcony and onsite canteen. The people are friendly and there are lots of benefits, holiday and flexible working hours.

    Cons

    There are no opportunities to develop or progress. It's difficult to change things and suggest ideas, everyone is quite stuck in their ways. Management have no idea what anyone does and allow people to be lapse. If you don't want to work then can easily get away with doing nothing.

    Advice to Management

    Have more idea what people do within the team and listen to suggestions.

    British Heart Foundation2019-11-15
  4. "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Upper Holloway, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No pros what so ever

    Cons

    Everything is wrong with this place

    Advice to Management

    Fix up

    British Heart Foundation2019-11-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic, poisonous, political and shameful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraiser in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of holiday is great, flexible working hours, well-known brand

    Cons

    Really, you have to just see it for yourself to believe how this place operates. I hope it's not all charities, but I hear it pretty much is. From the backstabbing, to the colleagues ready with pistols at dawn, to the culture of blame and recognition for whoever is flavor of the month, this is a pretty torturous place to work. Not only is a huge amount of money wasted through vanity projects left right and center..., but there are people constantly jostling for position. And all the while, little changes, improves or gets delivered. It's like swimming with your boots on. Then we have the awesome divide in senior management salaries, to those that actually bring in the money (fundraisers), and then those that blow it all on tech that we just don't need (hello IT), while providing super bad support to colleagues all the while. Maybe it looks good on their resumes or something, it doesn't make sense otherwise. In my time I witnessed people just not coming back the next day. Saw millions of pounds come in from people donating in their wills, only to go out again on paying someone off for a redundancy package. Meanwhile the shop workers earn one tenth of a pittance but put their hearts in (pun intended) their work. It's shameful and honestly I'm not sure I'll ever give to a charity again now. I'm just glad to have got out on my own terms. I just don't recommend it, look elsewhere please.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hang your heads in shame. You all need to be reviewed and controlled

    British Heart Foundation2019-10-31
  6. "Stable and good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Student in London, England

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Highest paid phd science studentship with increasing stipend yearly

    Cons

    Lots of output and data to produce - high expectations but understable

    British Heart Foundation2019-09-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Bath, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great pay for relatively easy work (they pay £8.30 hour as a sales assistant regardless of your age) - You can opt into doing additional training and learning and you can shadow anyone in the company to learn about their job - The job can be quite fun and varied. There’s always something different every day to do. But it can also be very repetitive and boring - There is quite a good benefits package you get a... health/dental plan, 25% discount, A good amount of holidays allowance and plenty of overtime offered

    Show More

    Cons

    - The job can be stressful due to the amount of stock that you can get. There is always a very high workload. There are not enough members of staff hired in the shops. It’s usually just a team of a couple of people and volunteers are heavily relied upon - Working conditions are rather dangerous and unsafe to be around - There is an atmosphere of bullying from the management team

    British Heart Foundation2019-10-04
  8. "Fab!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff Great office Workers are valued and invested in

    Cons

    Its a bit of a drive to get to work but I would sacrifice this because I love my job so much. I love the change I am makign in people's lives.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    British Heart Foundation2019-09-19
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraising Support Administrator in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, supportive office environment.

    Cons

    Limited opportunity for progression in my role.

    British Heart Foundation2019-09-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get a different approach to retail. Working for a good cause.

    Cons

    You get abuse from costumers very often and you costumer service team on head office don't support you at all.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the good staff, they leave the business because they feel they are not appreciated.

    British Heart Foundation2019-09-10
Found 188 reviews