British Heart Foundation Reviews

Updated 27 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
British Heart Foundation Chief Executive Dr. Charmaine Griffiths
Dr. Charmaine Griffiths
6 Ratings
  1. "Great cause, generally good people. Held back by culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Partnership Development Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great cause Great office Generally good people to work with Decent salary and work/ life balance

    Cons

    Little proactive engagement from senior management in solving cultural and personel issues

    Continue reading

    British Heart Foundation Response

    February 4, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience of working with us. Your other points regarding senior management and introducing confidential feedback will be shared with the relevant teams. Whilst we do run a quarterly colleague engagement survey, which encourages confidential feedback, we continually look for ways in which we can improve. Thank you for making a life-saving difference, we wish you all the best in your new adventure! Recruitment Team

  2. "Good place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Front End Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing place to work and good work life balance.

    Cons

    People leave very often and that seems normal

    British Heart Foundation Response

    December 19, 2019

    Thanks so much for your 5 star review. We’re really pleased that you enjoyed working with BHF, and that you had a good work life balance. Thank you for making a life-saving difference, we wish you all the best in your new adventure! Recruitment Team


  3. "Good company - Low pay - Senior HR not approachable"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company who provide lots of training materials to grow knowledge.

    Cons

    The pay is very low and when asking to shadow HR department, no one other than the HR BP replies. Very disappointing.

    Continue reading

    British Heart Foundation Response

    February 7, 2020Recruitment Partner

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. It is great to hear that you enjoy the culture in the organisation and have been using the training materials and tools that we have available. It is also great to hear that you would like to learn more about other areas of the business to grow and develop your skills. Please, email careers@bhf.org.uk and we can look in to your shadowing request further? We are always looking for ways to improve the experience that our employees have and want to reassure you that we do take all feedback onboard. Thank you again! Recruitment team

  4. "Furniture and Electrical."

    5.0
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive and challenging. You have to be assertive.

    Cons

    Unusual risks eg. trip hazards or glass/both. It's easy to be distracted by other tasks and leave a hazard forgotten about.

    British Heart Foundation Response

    December 10, 2019

    Hi Thank you for the 5 star review . Volunteer feedback is so very important to us . We take the well being of all our volunteer and staff very seriously and want to make sure everyone is working in a safe and comfortable environment . I'd be keen to discuss the points you have raised in more detail so we can make any improvements that may be needed . Please contact me direct at vaadvice@bhf.org.uk Jo - Volunteering Team

  5. "Brilliant!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Pontefract, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team, friendly volunteers and a learning experience!

    Cons

    Stressful at times but no complaints

    British Heart Foundation Response

    November 27, 2019

    Thanks so much for your review! It%E2%80%99s great to see how much you enjoy your role as Sales Assistant, despite the challenges of retail. We're so pleased that you are learning new skills and have such an amazing team. We wish you continued success with us!

  6. "Opportunities To Learn A Lot"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Volunteer Retail Sales Associate in Cheadle, North West England, England

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Voluntary Sales Assistant British Heart Foundation - Cheadle I am a chatterbox. I can talk about anything and everything. Volunteering allows me a fantastic opportunity to let my chitchatting dreams run wild. As an outgoing and enthusiastic volunteer, I love meeting and greeting customers. I talk to the customers, make them feel welcome, help them find the things they’re looking for and inform them of Gift-Aid Club memberships. I keep the sales floor looking fresh and inspiring, and thank everyone who brings in their donations and custom. I am a part of a friendly and helpful team in a relaxed environment. My manager provided me with all the support and help I need. Perfect for enhancing my CV gaining valuable work experience and new skill set.

    Cons

    I have no Cons to talk about

  7. "Fair place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Stockport, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible times for volunteer work

    Cons

    Sometimes some time Is spent not doing much for warehouse stuff.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Without doubt the best company I have ever worked for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Exeter, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun, upbeat, unfalteringly conscientious and befriending supportive staff who never failed to impress with their tenacious problem solving, ALWAYS finding good in every situation, and using this to help save lives. Working for the foundation not only inspired me to be a better person, but also provided me with life long lessons.

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    British Heart Foundation Response

    November 27, 2019

    What an amazing review, and fantastic comments! Thank you for taking the time to share them. We are so pleased BHF made such a positive impact on you, and we hope we can continue to inspire others. We wish you all the best in your new adventure.

  9. "Retail assistant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wakefield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work around day to day life Friendly staff

    Cons

    Messy stock room Not enough training

    British Heart Foundation Response

    November 12, 2019

    Thanks so much for your review. We%E2%80%99re really pleased that you enjoyed the friendly supportive working environment. However, we are disappointed to hear that you didn't receive enough training. If you would like to discuss this further confidentially, please contact us on careers@bhf.org.uk.

  10. "Fantastic Employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Listen to staff for areas of development and great work life balance with brilliant work benefits.

    Cons

    Pressured role with a lot to do but I wouldn't have it any other way!

    Continue reading

    British Heart Foundation Response

    October 29, 2019

    Thanks so much for your review! It’s great to read your comments about development and work-life balance. We wish you continued success with us!

Found 210 reviews