British Heart Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Heart Foundation Reviews

Updated 15 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
84%
Recommend to a Friend
British Heart Foundation Chief Executive Dr. Charmaine Griffiths
Dr. Charmaine Griffiths
1 Rating
  1. "If you want an easy life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Big open plan office with plenty of light, it's own balcony and onsite canteen. The people are friendly and there are lots of benefits, holiday and flexible working hours.

    Cons

    There are no opportunities to develop or progress. It's difficult to change things and suggest ideas, everyone is quite stuck in their ways. Management have no idea what anyone does and allow people to be lapse. If you don't want to work then can easily get away with doing nothing.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2019-11-15
  2. "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Upper Holloway, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No pros what so ever

    Cons

    Everything is wrong with this place

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2019-11-08
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Toxic, poisonous, political and shameful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraiser in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of holiday is great, flexible working hours, well-known brand

    Cons

    Really, you have to just see it for yourself to believe how this place operates. I hope it's not all charities, but I hear it pretty much is. From the backstabbing, to the colleagues ready with pistols at dawn, to the culture of blame and recognition for whoever is flavor of the month, this is a pretty torturous place to work. Not only is a huge amount of money wasted through vanity projects left right and center, but there are people constantly jostling for position. And all the while, little changes, improves or gets delivered. It's like swimming with your boots on. Then we have the awesome divide in senior management salaries, to those that actually bring in the money (fundraisers), and then those that blow it all on tech that we just don't need (hello IT), while providing super bad support to colleagues all the while. Maybe it looks good on their resumes or something, it doesn't make sense otherwise. In my time I witnessed people just not coming back the next day. Saw millions of pounds come in from people donating in their wills, only to go out again on paying someone off for a redundancy package. Meanwhile the shop workers earn one tenth of a pittance but put their hearts in (pun intended) their work. It's shameful and honestly I'm not sure I'll ever give to a charity again now. I'm just glad to have got out on my own terms. I just don't recommend it, look elsewhere please.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2019-10-31
  4. "Stable and good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Student in London, England

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Highest paid phd science studentship with increasing stipend yearly

    Cons

    Lots of output and data to produce - high expectations but understable

    British Heart Foundation2019-09-24

    British Heart Foundation Response

    October 29, 2019

    Thanks so much for your review! We wish you continued success with us!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Bath, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great pay for relatively easy work (they pay £8.30 hour as a sales assistant regardless of your age) - You can opt into doing additional training and learning and you can shadow anyone in the company to learn about their job - The job can be quite fun and varied. There’s always something different every day to do. But it can also be very repetitive and boring - There is quite a good benefits package you get a health/dental plan, 25% discount, A good amount of holidays allowance and plenty of overtime offered

    Cons

    - The job can be stressful due to the amount of stock that you can get. There is always a very high workload. There are not enough members of staff hired in the shops. It’s usually just a team of a couple of people and volunteers are heavily relied upon - Working conditions are rather dangerous and unsafe to be around - There is an atmosphere of bullying from the management team

    British Heart Foundation2019-10-04

    British Heart Foundation Response

    October 14, 2019Recruitment Partner

    Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. It is great to see that you're enjoying the variety and additional learning that is on offer to all of our employees. It is also good to see that you're making use of our benefits package. This often comes up as a positive comment within our reviews. Regarding your other comments, we want to reassure you that we do take all the points you have raised seriously. If you would like to discuss these points in more detail and confidentially, please do reach out to us at careers@bhf.org.uk

    Continue reading
  6. "Fab!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff Great office Workers are valued and invested in

    Cons

    Its a bit of a drive to get to work but I would sacrifice this because I love my job so much. I love the change I am makign in people's lives.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2019-09-19

    British Heart Foundation Response

    September 20, 2019Recruitment Partner

    Hi there. Thank you so much for leaving a review for us. It is a great to hear that you're enjoying your experience with us. Our friendly staff and office environment often comes up as a positive comment in our employee reviews. We wish you all the best and continued success with us!

    Continue reading
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraising Support Administrator in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, supportive office environment.

    Cons

    Limited opportunity for progression in my role.

    British Heart Foundation2019-09-18

    British Heart Foundation Response

    September 20, 2019Recruitment Partner

    Hello, thank you so much for leaving a review for us. It is a great to hear that you're enjoying your experience and feel that we are a great place to work! Our friendly office environment often comes up as a positive comment in our employee reviews. Regarding progression opportunities we would recommend having a conversation with your Line Manager in order to find our more about what internal opportunities are available for you. You can also make use of the range of courses and webinars on our Workday Learning platform to support you with your personal development. We wish you all the best and continued success with us! :)

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get a different approach to retail. Working for a good cause.

    Cons

    You get abuse from costumers very often and you costumer service team on head office don't support you at all.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2019-09-10

    British Heart Foundation Response

    September 20, 2019Recruitment Partner

    Hi, thank you for leaving a review for us. It is great to hear that you had a positive experience overall and were able to gain new skills in retail. We want to ensure that all of our employees have a great experience and feel as supported as possible within their roles. Your points around support from head office and appreciation will be raised with the relevant teams and dealt with accordingly. Thanks for making a life saving difference and we wish you all the best.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Poor management and no progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ebay in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely colleagues Flexi hours Lunch/tea breaks Food sometimes provided

    Cons

    No career progression Poor management Data protection

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2019-09-09

    British Heart Foundation Response

    September 20, 2019Recruitment Partner

    Hello, thank you for leaving a review for us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed working with a lovely team and the flexible hours that we have. The friendliness of our team members and flexible working environment often comes up as a positive point in our employee reviews :). Regarding your other points, we want to ensure that all of our employees have a positive experience with us and feel supported in their roles. If you would like a further confidential chat with us then please email careers@bhf.org.uk and we can arrange this.

    Continue reading
  10. "Good but not always something to do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Eltham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice friendly people. The manager was really happy to leave me with complicated or important tasks despite being young.

    Cons

    When the manager changed days no one got me anything to do and it was very boring.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2019-09-04

    British Heart Foundation Response

    September 9, 2019

    Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave a review . Feedback from our volunteers is really important and we use it to help improve the volunteering experience at BHF. I'm really pleased that you worked with nice friendly people and that the manager gave you lots of interesting things to keep you busy . Sorry that this wasn't the case when the manager wasn't in as we work hard to make sure all our volunteers are given a wide variety of roles and tasks . Very few tasks have an age restriction so there should always be loads to do to prevent anyone getting bored . We will take this feedback on board . Jo _ Volunteering Team

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 196 reviews