British Heart Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Heart Foundation Reviews

Updated 15 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
84%
Recommend to a Friend
British Heart Foundation Chief Executive Dr. Charmaine Griffiths
Dr. Charmaine Griffiths
1 Rating
  1. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Maidstone, England

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Gained a lot of new skills working behind the scenes and staff are friendly providing flexible hours

    Cons

    Tasks are often repetitive which can be boring

    British Heart Foundation2019-07-22

    British Heart Foundation Response

    July 25, 2019

    Hello there , thank you for the review. I'm really pleased that you gained lots of new skills , this is a real benefit to volunteering . We aim to give volunteers the chance to try lots of different roles to give variety and prevent repetition, we will take your feedback on board. Thank you for your support. Jo - Volunteering Team

    Continue reading
  2. "Bhf"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TILL OPERATOR in Hitchin, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely people Expands skills on a wider range

    Cons

    There’s a lot of walking on some days

    British Heart Foundation2019-07-17

    British Heart Foundation Response

    July 31, 2019

    Thanks so much for your review! It’s great to see you are building on your skills and that you enjoy working with your colleagues. We wish you continued success with us!

    Continue reading
  3. "bad management. no consequences for blatantly bad employers not doing job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    nice people to work with. all similar ages.

    Cons

    senior management really bad. No consequences for employers who do not achieve basic requirements in their role and seniors brush it under the carpet. seniors struggle to handle pressure and there are clear favourites in the company. if you are a favourite, you will get ahead. if not, expect to stay in the same position even if you are good at your job. no clear structure and easy to get away with not doing job properly. no

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2019-07-31

    British Heart Foundation Response

    August 14, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and sharing your thoughts with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed working with your colleagues, but are really disappointed that you did not have the overall experience with us that we would want or expect. We want to reassure you that we do take the points you have raised seriously and if you are keen to discuss these confidentially please do reach out to us at careers@bhf.org.uk.

    Continue reading
  4. "Graduate Electrical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Improve my skills good communication with different peoples achieve more confidence to repair electrical appliances.

    Cons

    some of electrical appliances that peoples donated is not in good conditions

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2019-07-16

    British Heart Foundation Response

    July 17, 2019

    Thanks so much for your review. It’s great to read your comments about improving your skills and confidence with us. We wish you continued success with BHF!

    Continue reading
  5. "Staff service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Very good staff and fun job to do

    Cons

    Can get a bit crowded

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2019-07-30

    British Heart Foundation Response

    July 31, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience of working with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us as a Sales Assistant. Thank you for making a life-saving difference, we wish you all the best in your new adventure!

    Continue reading
  6. "Overall a pleasant yet fairly average experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Toy Department Volunteer & Till in Hemel Hempstead, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation

    Pros

    Have volunteered with this company for about 4 years. The people I have and do work along side are all rather friendly and welcoming which helps to make the time I am there volunteering my time a decently pleasant experience. Always seems to be something to be getting on with even in a such a small size shop.

    Cons

    The only thing I struggle to understand is that there seems to be a real shortage in the number of volunteers who are able to help run the place. Meaning that as a volunteer myself that the paid managers seem to think I'm reliable enough for them to ask for me to do lots of extra hours and days rather often. Doing tasks such as being on the till for most of a full 9 to 5 day from time to time. Which is back when I was still in education when it started to get a bit much until I politely had to reinforce the fact that I can only do one day a week at this point in time as I had originally promised and had always stuck to. Since leaving education I don't mind a few more extra hours here and there than what I would of been happy with doing in my educational years until I get into paid work but still find it hard to come by when asked to put loads of extra time and effort in especially as a volunteer.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2019-07-09

    British Heart Foundation Response

    July 15, 2019

    Hello Thank you for all your hard work over the past 4 years , your support will have been so very beneficial to the shop team. It is important that volunteers are happy with the hours they are contributing and if they ever feel it is getting 'too much' they are free to reduce their hours as necessary . Volunteering should be flexible and should fit in with a volunteer's other commitments such as family , education , paid work , other hobbies etc. So I'm glad you were able to reduce your volunteering hours to a level that suited you better. Thank you for your review . Jo - Volunteering Team

    Continue reading
  7. "Super place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great office and colleagues who are all working hard to help the BHF achieve its long term strategy

    Cons

    Food offering isn’t great in the food court on the 5th floor but Camden has plenty to offer

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-26

    British Heart Foundation Response

    July 17, 2019

    Thanks so much for your review! It’s great to see how much you enjoy working with your colleagues to make a life saving difference! We wish you continued success with us!

    Continue reading
  8. "Great Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in New Malden, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The manager was lovely and treated all members of staff with respect.

    Cons

    Must stay for a while without pay before and after the shop closes in order to do admin.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2019-06-24

    British Heart Foundation Response

    June 25, 2019

    Hi, thanks so much for your feedback. It's great to see that you enjoyed working as part of a team that makes a life-saving difference, and you particularly appreciated the manager's respectful approach to the team. We will ensure your comments regarding working outside of store opening times are shared with the relevant teams.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great charity to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ERP Controller in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worthwhile cause Generous benefits package Smarter working Flexible working Diverse workforce

    Cons

    Charity pay doesn't compete with private sector

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2019-06-19

    British Heart Foundation Response

    June 20, 2019

    Hi, thank you so much for your review. It's great to see after 10 years you still love working as part of a team that makes a life-saving difference, and that our benefits have created a positive working culture. Our flexible and smarter working initiatives often come up as positive points in our employe reviews. We are always looking to improve our employee experience and your points around pay will be shared with the relevant team. We wish you continued success with us!

    Continue reading
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Manager in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rewarding, fulfilling and fun.

    Cons

    Relentless, tiring and long hours

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-14

    British Heart Foundation Response

    June 20, 2019

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. It's great to see that you enjoyed working as part of a team that makes a life-saving difference, and that you found it so rewarding. We continually strive to create a positive environment and a healthy work-life balance for our employees, so your feedback regarding workload will be shared with the relevant teams. We wish you all the best in your new adventure!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 196 reviews