British Heart Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Heart Foundation Reviews

Updated Nov 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
83%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great charity to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ERP Controller in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worthwhile cause Generous benefits package Smarter working Flexible working Diverse workforce

    Cons

    Charity pay doesn't compete with private sector

    Advice to Management

    Introduce performance related pay

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-19
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Manager in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rewarding, fulfilling and fun.

    Cons

    Relentless, tiring and long hours

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-14
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    really friendly if I was running late they were understanding and flexible

    Cons

    the cashier was quite cold/stubborn

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-13
  4. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours and friendly staff

    Cons

    Changig hours is sometimes annoying

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-12
  5. "Reasonable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Shop Manager in Glasgow, Scotland

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly, International, Fun, Sociable, different

    Cons

    Short lunches, hard working load,

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-12
  6. "Volunteer sent from Job Centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Rotherham, England

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers were genuinely friendly and helpful

    Cons

    Sometimes there is nothing to do, especially on the shop floor (clothing side) so you’re left standing/walking around for hours on end just shuffling things around. I felt like an unofficial security guard at time which wasn’t what I took the work experience placement for. I never learnt how to work the tills.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your volunteers with a little more respect and have some empathy and understanding. We don’t come to work to have snide/rude remarks made about/to us, especially those of us who have mental illnesses and are struggling as it is; it really knocks our confidence and makes us dread turning up the next day. If I was a paid employee, I’d have left and claimed constructive dismissal.

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-11
  7. "Amazing !! People spend too much time in a job to be hating it !!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EBay Customer Service Advisor in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people in this workplace are amazing and really friendly. They are exceptional about mental health eg anxiety. My job is varied and interesting, with no two days the same You wear what you feel comfortable in. They are brilliant about fitting my studies around the business. My supervisor is efficient and approachable. I find her, really nice she progresses me when I am ready and checks in... with me frequently to make sure I am ok.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes things are taken to literal The wages P/H could be more than they are The contracts are temporary and the renewal announcement was very late.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing cause this is a brilliant place to work and I am genuinely happy to come to work everyday. The cons I have outlined are things that are advisory mostly.

    British Heart Foundation2019-05-26
  8. "New job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Blackburn, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly reliable helpful and colleagues

    Cons

    Tasks job confidence job role

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-07
  9. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, development opportunities and friendly, but passionate staff.

    Cons

    High turnover of staff, could be more social.

    British Heart Foundation2019-05-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Awful training location & mangerial attitude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good staff to work with including volunteers

    Cons

    Management too focused on money & not keeping staff & store looked after properly. Excessive workload expected especially on lone workers. Poor training by store manager.

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-18
Found 188 reviews