British Heart Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Heart Foundation Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 169 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Brilliant place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, social life if you want it, important cause, leadership who listen and you feel part of something much bigger.

    Cons

    Some teams can be very stretched at times but there’s usually support in place should you need it.

    Advice to Management

    Carry on listening to people and involving colleagues of all levels in decision making.

    British Heart Foundation2019-03-28

    British Heart Foundation Response

    April 10, 2019

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. It's great to see that you enjoyed working as part of a team that makes a life-saving difference, and the overall culture. We wish you all the best in your new adventure!

  2. "GOOD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Nuneaton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Getting to know people, improving confidence

    Cons

    It can get repetitive

    British Heart Foundation2019-03-20
  3. "Getting really tough to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Dogsbody in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Full time work and pay no evening/night work get to see unusual items meet some great people healthcare plan which goes towards opticians or dental

    Cons

    Not enough paid staff No staff bonuses Too much dependence on what few paid staff there are and not enough volunteers No fun any more THEY FORGET THEY ARE A CHARITY SHOP SELLING 2nd HAND ITEMS They have gone too corporate and it is more money - more money - more money

    Advice to Management

    Remember what we used to be, and focus more on getting staff in through the doors instead of hurting what few staff members we have

    British Heart Foundation2019-04-03

    British Heart Foundation Response

    April 10, 2019

    Thank you for your review. It's good to hear that you feel we offer good staff benefits, and that until recently you've had a positive experience with us. We continually strive to create a positive environment and a healthy work-life balance for our employees, so your comments will ...

    Show More
  4. "Volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Guildford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Leaning new skills and having a sense of achievement

    Cons

    There isn’t any at present

    Advice to Management

    Keep the volunteer,’s busy so they don’t get bored

    British Heart Foundation2019-03-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Lovely group of people with their heart in the right place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is such an interesting place to work - no two days are the same! I’ve been on a huge learning curve since joining: in part, as head office is made up of a multitude of diverse disciplines. I feel proud of what I do and the difference I make.

    Cons

    There are so many people and teams that we do sometimes end up pulling in different directions. It would be nice to see more streamlined and prioritised work plans.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage joined-up strategies that will help us all to deliver more effectively.

    British Heart Foundation2019-03-01

    British Heart Foundation Response

    March 20, 2019

    Hi, thanks so much for your feedback. It is great to see that you enjoyed working as part of a team that makes a life-saving difference, and particularly the training you have received. With regards to the other points you have raised, we will ensure they are shared with the relevant ...

    Show More
  6. "Seeking a positive challenge and in return receive great reward and recognition then this is the place for you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Wellbeing, Safety & Resilience in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Our people who are passionate and caring, our values played out daily and the fact that we are making a real difference.

    Cons

    Not really a con but the pace of change is rapid, progressive and positive - offers lots of opportunities to ‘stretch’ your personal and professional self

    Advice to Management

    Keep actively listening

    British Heart Foundation2019-01-25

    British Heart Foundation Response

    February 12, 2019Recruitment Partner

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The passion and dedication of our people regularly comes up in our reviews and we try to ensure that all of our employees are recognised for their hard work and are offered as much growth as possible within their roles. We wish ...

    Show More
  7. "Friendly, stimulating environment for all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team spirit with good work ethic

    Cons

    None I personally encountered during my stay

    British Heart Foundation2019-01-16

    British Heart Foundation Response

    February 12, 2019Recruitment Partner

    Hi there- thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is good to see that you enjoyed the team that you worked with and that your overall experience was positive. We wish you all the best in your new adventure :)

  8. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are lovely to work with.

    Cons

    Can not think of any downsides to this job

    British Heart Foundation2019-01-10

    British Heart Foundation Response

    January 11, 2019Recruitment Partner

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. It is good to see that you worked with a lovely team whilst you were with us.It is also positive to see that you cannot think of many cons or downsides! We wish you all the best for the future.

  9. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Gloucester, England
    Recommends

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work as a team

    Cons

    wages very low ..... Can't think of anything

    British Heart Foundation2019-01-03

    British Heart Foundation Response

    January 8, 2019Recruitment Partner

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. It is good to see that you enjoyed working as a team whilst with us. This is a point that regularly comes up in our employee reviews. It is also positive to see that you cannot think of many cons and we will ensure that ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Volunteer - Induction Nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Hamilton, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Staff seem nice enough, however, one woman was very rude to the other new volunteer who had just started today and the other volunteers/paid staff seemed to not like her too much either.

    Cons

    I was given a booklet with the health and safety information then left alone in the staff break room for half an hour. I was basically following another volunteer around for 3 hours until they went home, I was not given any tasks and was barely taught anything. I simply had to wander around for 4 hours doing absolutely nothing at all.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to your new volunteers and have a set plan in place for when they come for their induction. I was literally walking in circles around the store for 4 hours, occasionally popping into the break room to sit for 10 minutes.

    British Heart Foundation2019-01-14

    British Heart Foundation Response

    January 24, 2019

    Hi Thank you for bring this to our attention . It is being sent to the appropriate teams to investigate further . I would be keen to continue this conversation if you could possibly contact me direct ? Please email me at vaadvice@bhf.org.uk Jo - Volunteering Team

Found 169 reviews