British Heart Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Heart Foundation Reviews

Updated 22 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
83%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Pressured"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Whitby, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good experience working with volunteers

    Cons

    High pressure weekly and monthly targets

    Advice to Management

    Check out. Staffing levels

    British Heart Foundation2019-05-28
  2. "good company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Testing in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    easy job and you will have a %15 discount

    Cons

    nothing really to say about it

    British Heart Foundation2019-04-25
  3. Helpful (3)

    "British Heartless Foundation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ashton-under-Lyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Helping a good cause. You get to see really interesting donations/items.

    Cons

    If you have any sort of mental health problems, do not work for this company. There is alot of ignorance amongst staff (especially management) and the company will do nothing to help you. This is a company that is still in the dark ages when it comes to mental health among their workers. I would not recommend working here.

    Advice to Management

    I think all paid staff (especially managers) should have to take part in sensitivity training. I think the ignorance and judgment towards people with mental illness is disgusting.

    British Heart Foundation2019-05-18
  4. "Modern, commercial charity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People & Organizational Development in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - work life balance - friendly - good company culture - invested in training staff - great benefits and generous annual leave of 30 days for head office - modern head office

    Cons

    - need more internal succession

    British Heart Foundation2019-04-10
  5. "Overall a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Generally a great bunch of people. Plenty of opportunity to get involved in projects outside your remit and contribute to the cause.

    Cons

    Rapid change challenged some old school views which could be frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    Be a bit more flexible when initiating change.

    British Heart Foundation2019-04-10
  6. "Great place with Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working with a large group of like minded, talented people who have the same goal in mind which is to make a difference and help save lives Having good exposure to all different types of technology, ways of working and delivering life changing projects and programmes open to ideas and new ways of working to help depts. and functions across the organisation

    Cons

    Some of the facilities could do with updating at some of the offices (I know that's being looked into)

    British Heart Foundation2019-04-10
  7. "Customer sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy going environment and friendly worker

    Cons

    Long hours and less break time

    British Heart Foundation2019-04-22
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Shocking Treatment and Unprofessional Outfit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Carlisle, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really really enjoyed meeting and getting to know a lot of volunteers and listening to their life stories. Enjoyed the chance to travel and cover another shop for a week and being put in a very nice hotel with a brilliant restaurant joined onto the hotel. Some generally very nice people in some management positions, unfortunately not all of them.

    Cons

    Having passed my probation the new area manager decided to not put the paperwork through properly, or admin decided to ignore and knock it back for no reason (performance was excellent, without myself and a few other staff members and volunteers the shop would have fell apart). To then later be falsely accused, not have a proper investigation done, judged, jury and executed in the matter of 20 minutes using... probation. (Even though I had passed my probation weeks earlier). To be sold out by a very green area manager who single handedly destroyed the shop and its pricing. To then also be told my health and safety work booklet had not been put in my file, although being told by another member of management it definitely was in my file as we had an audit and this would have been flagged in the report. To provide no evidence or details to follow through on ending probation, to refuse my manager to represent me in the meeting, to claim the meeting was probation review, even though it was questioning me so should have been a fact finding meeting. To feed false information to HR, so when I appeal the decision I am flat out lied too. To waste charity money on tipping loads and loads of furniture (bear in mind tip runs can cost £200-300 per van run, not including payment to van crew yet). To treat volunteers like slaves and forget they are not paid staff members. The worst admin and systems in a "professional" company. To be stabbed in the back after being the only one to take up extra days work to cover the shop, the only one who would volunteer to do extra work and things not in my contract and to try and go above and beyond for the store and the charity. Delivery charges are extortionate, some very poor and devious van crews. Some managers are on way too much money for a charity and do very little work compared to those under them. In general not following any type of procedure for anything. No 3 month probation review as stated in contract, no 6 month final probation meeting. On the 7th month finally had a probation meeting to be passed only to be shafted weeks after. Clear pattern exploiting the use/extending of probation to change your mind on a person when you like.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remember its meant to be a charity, and dont lie to people. Dont falsify that someone didnt pass their probation when they did just so it suits you when you dislike them.

    British Heart Foundation2019-05-03
  9. "Volunteer Shop Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Brandon, East of England, England

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Gaining new skills & experience of telephone enquiries, serving customers & operating the till.

    Cons

    Unpaid work & hours for a period of time without employment

    British Heart Foundation2019-04-14
  10. "Brilliant place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, social life if you want it, important cause, leadership who listen and you feel part of something much bigger.

    Cons

    Some teams can be very stretched at times but there’s usually support in place should you need it.

    Advice to Management

    Carry on listening to people and involving colleagues of all levels in decision making.

    British Heart Foundation2019-03-28
Found 188 reviews