British Heart Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Heart Foundation Reviews

Updated 15 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
84%
Recommend to a Friend
British Heart Foundation Chief Executive Dr. Charmaine Griffiths
Dr. Charmaine Griffiths
1 Rating
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    really friendly if I was running late they were understanding and flexible

    Cons

    the cashier was quite cold/stubborn

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-13

    British Heart Foundation Response

    June 18, 2019

    hello and thank you for leaving a review about your time at the BHF , we really do love to hear from our amazing volunteers. Really pleased to hear that you found people to be really friendly and that you enjoyed the flexibility that comes with volunteering . Jo - The Volunteering Team

    Continue reading
  2. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours and friendly staff

    Cons

    Changig hours is sometimes annoying

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-12

    British Heart Foundation Response

    June 12, 2019

    Hi, thanks so much for your feedback. It's good to see that you enjoyed working as part of a team that makes a life-saving difference, especially the work-life balance. We wish you all the best in your new adventure!

    Continue reading
  3. "Reasonable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Shop Manager in Glasgow, Scotland

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly, International, Fun, Sociable, different

    Cons

    Short lunches, hard working load,

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-12

    British Heart Foundation Response

    June 20, 2019

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It's good to see that overall you had a positive experience with us and that you enjoy working with a friendly team to make a life saving difference. With regards to the other points you have raised, we will ensure they are shared with the relevant teams. We thank you for your review and wish you continued success with us!

    Continue reading
  4. "Volunteer sent from Job Centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Rotherham, England

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers were genuinely friendly and helpful

    Cons

    Sometimes there is nothing to do, especially on the shop floor (clothing side) so you’re left standing/walking around for hours on end just shuffling things around. I felt like an unofficial security guard at time which wasn’t what I took the work experience placement for. I never learnt how to work the tills.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2019-06-11
  5. "Amazing !! People spend too much time in a job to be hating it !!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EBay Customer Service Advisor in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people in this workplace are amazing and really friendly. They are exceptional about mental health eg anxiety. My job is varied and interesting, with no two days the same You wear what you feel comfortable in. They are brilliant about fitting my studies around the business. My supervisor is efficient and approachable. I find her, really nice she progresses me when I am ready and checks in with me frequently to make sure I am ok.

    Cons

    Sometimes things are taken to literal The wages P/H could be more than they are The contracts are temporary and the renewal announcement was very late.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2019-05-26

    British Heart Foundation Response

    June 10, 2019Recruitment Partner

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review for us. It is great to hear that you enjoy working with our people and that you enjoy the flexibility that you have within the role. Work life balance often comes up as a positive point in our reviews. Thank you for he other points that you raised regarding contracts. We strive to improve our employee experience and will ensure that this point is raised with the relevant teams. We wish you continued success with us!

    Continue reading
  6. "New job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Blackburn, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly reliable helpful and colleagues

    Cons

    Tasks job confidence job role

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-07
  7. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, development opportunities and friendly, but passionate staff.

    Cons

    High turnover of staff, could be more social.

    British Heart Foundation2019-05-21

    British Heart Foundation Response

    June 12, 2019

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. It's great to see you love working as part of a team that makes a life-saving difference, and that you particularly enjoy the development opportunities. We thank you for your review and wish you continued success with us!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Awful training location & mangerial attitude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good staff to work with including volunteers

    Cons

    Management too focused on money & not keeping staff & store looked after properly. Excessive workload expected especially on lone workers. Poor training by store manager.

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-18

    British Heart Foundation Response

    June 25, 2019

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. We are really disappointed to hear that you’ve not had the experience with us that we would want or expect. We continually strive to create a positive environment and a healthy work-life balance for our employees, so your comments regarding workload and training will be shared with the relevant teams. If you are keen for this to be investigated further, or feel that you have not been given the sufficient support, please contact us on careers@bhf.org.uk.

    Continue reading
  9. "Pressured"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Whitby, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good experience working with volunteers

    Cons

    High pressure weekly and monthly targets

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2019-05-28

    British Heart Foundation Response

    June 10, 2019Recruitment Partner

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. It is great to see that you enjoy working with our volunteers. We will ensure that your point around targets and staffing levels are raised with the relevant teams and dealt with accordingly. Wishing you continued success with us!

    Continue reading
  10. "good company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Testing in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    easy job and you will have a %15 discount

    Cons

    nothing really to say about it

    British Heart Foundation2019-04-25

    British Heart Foundation Response

    May 1, 2019

    Hi, thanks so much for your feedback. It's good to see you love working as part of a team that makes a life-saving difference, and that you particularly enjoy your work-life balance. We thank you for your review and wish you continued success with us!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 196 reviews