British Heart Foundation Sales Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Heart Foundation Sales Assistant Reviews

Updated 30 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in New Malden, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The manager was lovely and treated all members of staff with respect.

    Cons

    Must stay for a while without pay before and after the shop closes in order to do admin.

    Advice to Management

    Pay staff for the time worked outside of the opening times of the shop.

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-24

    British Heart Foundation Response

    June 25, 2019

    Hi, thanks so much for your feedback. It's great to see that you enjoyed working as part of a team that makes a life-saving difference, and you particularly appreciated the manager's respectful approach to the team. We will ensure your comments regarding working outside of store ...

    Show More
  2. "Staff service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Very good staff and fun job to do

    Cons

    Can get a bit crowded

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    British Heart Foundation2019-07-30

    British Heart Foundation Response

    July 31, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience of working with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us as a Sales Assistant. Thank you for making a life-saving difference, we wish you all the best in your new adventure!

  3. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours and friendly staff

    Cons

    Changig hours is sometimes annoying

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-12

    British Heart Foundation Response

    June 12, 2019

    Hi, thanks so much for your feedback. It's good to see that you enjoyed working as part of a team that makes a life-saving difference, especially the work-life balance. We wish you all the best in your new adventure!

  4. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Bedford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very professional staff and understand the importance of customer service, also very friendly staff

    Cons

    Wasnt paid any money, as i was doing work experience

    Advice to Management

    no advice needed

    British Heart Foundation2018-12-19

    British Heart Foundation Response

    January 8, 2019Recruitment Partner

    Hello - thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the team that you worked with and learnt some valuable customer service skills! We wish you all the best for the future!

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Worse place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Assistant manager really nice has actually become a friend outside work

    Cons

    No training expected to know everything a baby sitting service

    Advice to Management

    Train staff more better screening for volenteers and stop the bullying....would avoid working here at all costs awful company allows members of staff to bully each other and does nothing to stop it

    British Heart Foundation2018-04-03

    British Heart Foundation Response

    August 15, 2018Recruitment Partner

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. We are really disappointed to hear that you’ve not have the experience with us that we would want or expect. We want to reassure you that we do take the points you have raised seriously and will be shared with the relevant teams.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Positive experience, friendly staff and always busy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Varied roles within the job. Get to help with an amazing charity. Learn a variety of skills. Often kept busy, rarely a dull moment. Work with a variety of interesting volunteers. Great management team.

    Cons

    Occasionally a lack of respect from customers. Frequent problems with theft. Shop floor is often crammed. Personal hygiene of fellow volunteers is not the best.

    Advice to Management

    I got a job volunteering very easily, literally walked in and started working the next day. Maybe a more thorough process of application, as I could have had bad intentions and stole from tills, as an example.

    British Heart Foundation2017-10-16
  7. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Sales Assistant in Huddersfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at British Heart Foundation for less than a year

    Pros

    well oiled company and works well with employees and customers when either selecting products or items for or from the shop floor

    Cons

    they usually don't have certain products for the customers or if they do they never have enough to sell or put out and also there products are to highly priced

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    British Heart Foundation2017-10-04
  8. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Melton Mowbray, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very interactive with customers, help customers when needed, serve customers at till and have cash handling and do card payments.

    Cons

    Having to sort out donations when they came in by customers

    British Heart Foundation2017-04-05
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Your time isn't appreciated as a volunteer."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Sales Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    20% discount on stock. Made one friend. Learn retail skills. Really can't think of anything else, I disliked it there.

    Cons

    Very boring on shop floor - sometimes it was extremely quiet and there was nothing to do and staff give you looks because you're not doing anything despite the fact I'd tidied around many times and there was literally nothing to do and I wasn't given the opportunity to learn anything else other than shop floor stuff. Pushed to make extra sales - wasn't too big of a deal but a lot of pressure was put on you Extreme... lack of staff - many times I was on the shop floor alone as I was the only volunteer in on that day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be much nicer to volunteers since they're doing unpaid work in their spare time. One of the assistant managers I had was very intimidating. Always spoke down to me and others even though we had been helping out for months. And never once showed appreciation for my help when I was always alone working on the shop floor. I even came in to help on my birthday and the assistant manager knew but didn't even wish me a... happy birthday. Was so humiliated volunteering there. When I eventually left it was so awkward, I told the woman I was leaving and she said okay I'll take you off the list...... I wasn't really looking for attention but I wish I'd had a better send off or at least an acknowledgement of my work. The workplace really could have done with more friendly and caring staff.

    Show More
    British Heart Foundation2017-04-19
  10. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Fantastic to put on CV - Fun people volunteer, so you get to meet lots of great people - Stores are generally frequented by nice folk, lots of older customers. Super nice to exchange banter with - Fun to see what people will donate, lots of surprisew

    Cons

    - You don't get paid I guess, but I've never seen it as a con

    British Heart Foundation2017-02-26
Found 18 reviews