British Heart Foundation Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Heart Foundation Store Manager Reviews

Updated 10 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Friendly, stimulating environment for all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team spirit with good work ethic

    Cons

    None I personally encountered during my stay

    British Heart Foundation2019-01-16

    British Heart Foundation Response

    February 12, 2019Recruitment Partner

    Hi there- thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is good to see that you enjoyed the team that you worked with and that your overall experience was positive. We wish you all the best in your new adventure :)

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get a different approach to retail. Working for a good cause.

    Cons

    You get abuse from costumers very often and you costumer service team on head office don't support you at all.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the good staff, they leave the business because they feel they are not appreciated.

    British Heart Foundation2019-09-10
  3. "Pressured"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Whitby, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good experience working with volunteers

    Cons

    High pressure weekly and monthly targets

    Advice to Management

    Check out. Staffing levels

    British Heart Foundation2019-05-28

    British Heart Foundation Response

    June 10, 2019Recruitment Partner

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. It is great to see that you enjoy working with our volunteers. We will ensure that your point around targets and staffing levels are raised with the relevant teams and dealt with accordingly. Wishing you continued success ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (2)

    "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    what i liked about this job was it was all about making money for the charity to make profit and to have fun while you were working

    Cons

    its not like that now. i worked for over 10years and in that time its all changed. its about being a retailer that does not care about its people and wants to drive everyone into the ground if they dont make enough profit. the thing is the whole of the shop managers are just feeling so deflated as all have to do so many check lists and complainces that it leaves no time for customer service. area managers are... trying and i feel doing there best to help but regional and above have no clue how everyone is feeling. i had to leave as i was working 50 to 60 hrs pr week just to get trying to get ahead. charity retail shound not be full price retail. stop spening 100's of thousends on projects (not well known) and invest in the staff that matter.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    area managers are mostly ok (i had a really good one who was really compassanate) but its above and all H/O staff who just do not care about the store teams. give more hrs to stores and believe that all managers are working well over the 48hrs. you know we are but choose to ignore. stop doing this.

    British Heart Foundation2018-11-17

    British Heart Foundation Response

    December 19, 2018Recruitment Partner

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. and for taking the time to leave a review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed working for a charity that makes a life-saving difference and had fun whilst working hard. However, we are disappointed to hear that you did not have the overall ...

    Show More
  5. "Rewarding in so many ways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Stoke-on-Trent, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started as a volunteer in the March and was made assistant manager in the May of the same year. Great progression opportunities Friendly teams from volunteer right up to regional managers and above Rewarding both financially and with a sense of doing something for such a good cause Supportive in all ways possible Getting to work with such a diverse range of people Having to put in the work to see the... results gives you a great sense of achievement

    Show More

    Cons

    None to report from me

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. The support, advice and friendly approachable nature to all members of the team.

    British Heart Foundation2018-08-16
  6. "No support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Bournemouth, England
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meeting new people and training volunteers.

    Cons

    Loads of unnecessary paperwork. Even if you hit your kpi,s and targets oe even go over them if you are down in one category they want you to analyse this department and see why.

    Advice to Management

    Be more supportive to staff.

    British Heart Foundation2017-08-02
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Last year with BHF was 2007"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Store Manager in Scunthorpe, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with a wide range of people throughout the community all coming together for a common cause. Some amazing people coming from the Voluntary Sector to give up their time and offer support.

    Cons

    Fat cats sat at the top with huge bonuses, while management puts in extra unpaid hours and struggles on a minimal wage. Lack of support shown when family member had a heart attack was kindly informed work should be my main priority. Left shortly afterwards

    Advice to Management

    Show more compassion and support to the people who raise funds in the retail departments, not only are they raising awareness ,money and representing the organisation, they also mange and support the people around them. They are the foundations of the British Heart stop crushing them and put in more support! They are the team players.

    British Heart Foundation2016-09-19
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Do as I say not as I do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Gloucester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    25% staff discount. You don't get to spend as much money because your social life goes out of the pan

    Cons

    You're either a slave that doesn't know better or a pig that just wants to get to the trough. You'll never work for more disorganised company albeit with illusions of grandure. Chronically low staffed you will be squeezing last drop of blood sweat and tears out of VOLUNTEERS. Business model unsustainable but they'll make you believe it's your fault as a manager. Your concerns or ideas you may as well put them... in the shredder. At the very best someone will take credit for your success, take it over and turn it into a disaster. And when your name is under that you lose any credibility with your customers or partners. Head Office including HR has only one mission: limit the damage and help area manager to shut 'trouble makers up'. Off sick long term with spinal injuries? They'll happily make you lift heavy sofas on your first day back in. You're not a manager you're just a skivvy, trying to do million jobs at once. Mission impossible.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look up the following definition in the dictionary and abide by them: professionalism, integrity, respect, team work, hard work

    British Heart Foundation2016-08-31
  9. Helpful (18)

    "Saddened"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time

    Pros

    Never a dull moment! Keeps you fit

    Cons

    Overworked, underpaid, very stressful, not valued, diabolical health & safety, poor working conditions, no care for paid staff let alone volunteers who give time freely, trackers for everything, unrealistic targets to name a few! As a manager I am very outgoing, love new challenges and have a lot of drive, this company how ever have sucked every last ounce of passion out of me to the point they have finally broken... me and I am currently seeking new employment! The biggest problem is lack of measure in change. Don't get me wrong they are the best at what they do as a charity retailer on the high street, but what is shown to the public on the shop floors is far cry from what happens behind the scenes. Shops generally consist of a paid manager, assistant manager and paid assistant if you lucky, the rest of the team is made up of good hearted volunteers some of who work as though it is a full time job! The back working areas are horrendous, no space for storage and mounds of stock (if you're doing the job correctly) the environments are more than often dangerous. There is a huge problem when it comes to getting any form of repairs done, you are often told "that will cost too much money" so jobs are always bodged. Shops have to work with rats/fleas/un-safe equipment etc. When you try to communicate problems the area managers who are equally under as much pressure seem to live in fear of the regional managers so things often get swept under the carpet. When a visit is due from anyone higher up you are told to make sure everything is clear, totally unrealistic as for one it takes a good week to sort it out and two it does not allow the real daily working environment that we work in to be seen! Currently I am working with 9 different trackers! These generally are the brain wave of an area manager that is then shared amongst all the others. These trackers are repetitive in their nature. Then you have the conference call scenario, there is around 15 shop managers on one call, these take up so much time as you are always waiting for people to dial in who are late, then you can't hear a thing due to all the background noise and the area manager is constantly telling people to be quiet, these calls can last up to 40 minutes a time and some days you end up having 3. This is all detracts from being able to run your store and achieve targets of 250 hanging items to the shop floor each day. Whilst sitting on a call you see the donated stock flowing up the stairs and know your workload has just doubled. If it's a day where volunteers don't turn up and you are short staffed you don't stand a chance! Then you are made to feel incompetent when your stock hasn't hit the shop floor because you have been tied up in conference calls throughout the day. My store receives around 500 bags per week, which if you saw the size of the store you would understand, if you don't work that stock continually you have major problems. More recently the company have become suddenly OCD about health and safety, sending managers on risk assessment courses, great yes but all it's doing is passing the buck back down to the store manager if anything goes wrong, we were told we would be the ones who would serve time in prison if we don't keep on top of it all and accident occur, yet they refuse to spend money on improvements that are desperately needed! They take on cheap rents to be able to maximise their profits. Fundraising..... Where to start! The company has its own fundraising department who appear to have the easy job, as the small stores are expected to fundraise daily, targets often set at £50 per day, you are expected to turn it in to a "fun" challenge for your volunteers, believe me there is no fun in this at all, you have no choice but to send your best volunteer out to collect this money which then leaves you short handed in the store. Volunteers who are vulnerable and there are many in these stores are the preferred ones to go out collecting as they have the "pity factor" it's disgusting! However if you are like me and many other managers you more often then not end up putting your own money in the collection so you don't feel worthless when you have to report your figures on yet another conference call. Gift Aid, the company expects a minimum of 5 new sign ups per day and a 40% conversion rate each week on gift aid sales, the pressure from this leads to many managers fiddling the gift aid system i.e using donor id's from a person who hasn't actually donated any stock recently. This is a grave concern as this is illegal and an imprisonable offence by the HMRC, but this is what the company's expectations are doing to store managers. When you are honest and speak up about the pressure you are told that there are worst company's and bigger pressures that you could be working for and that maybe you are just not cut out for the job. There is no consistency with plans, organisation or communication. You are spoken to very rudely by certain departments when you have a problem. This company spend an awful lot of time sending out emails and surveys but never actually do anything about the results that have been given from them except to send out yet another glossy, colourful piece of laminated art work to place on the staff notice board that nobody ever reads as they simply don't have time. I really wish that more outside organisations would really start looking at these stores as I know they would serve notices and close them down, the danger is very worrying especially when you have vulnerable people volunteering for you. I have met Peter Hollins once during my 12 years in the company, he was a lovely gentleman, he did mention he was a little shocked at the conditions but then disappeared back to London, of course everything was spick and spam for the visit! There are no real incentives as such working here apart from a 25% discount on donated stock. Bonuses are now virtually impossible to make due to the recent restructuring of the bonus scheme. There are no health packages, child care vouchers or anything else, yet the regional support managers/ area managers/ regional managers all get health packages/ phones/ lap tops and cars. I dread to think how much all of this costs, there are so many wasted and needles roles in this company that could save hundreds of thousands of pounds that could go towards more research. It is very rare you see much bad press about them as things are kept quiet and they have an excellent legal team. They are very clever at getting rid of problems if a disgruntled person comes forward. This organisation needs investigating at a very deep level especially when it comes to wasting people's generous donations. Am I an angry employee? Absolutely! After 12 years of giving everything I have, I have now finally woke up to the sad reality that I have been a victim of nothing more than what can only be deemed as a cult! There is so much more than what I have written here, but I am so overwhelmed with it all I am aware I have vented too much. When I have gained a new position and got away from this place I fully intend to expose the whole lot to the national media and anyone who will listen with the evidence I have built. Good luck to any new potential employees, you have been warned.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To the guys at the top, get out in to these stores. Don't tell anyone you are coming because the word spreads down the line well in advance and problems are covered so you don't see them! I am deeply saddened that this company has turned me in to such a negative and unhappy person and I only hope you see this as every complaint gets stuck at a certain level.

    British Heart Foundation2016-02-17
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Bulling Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Assistant Store Manager in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation

    Pros

    Worthwhile cause but thats all

    Cons

    Horrible to work for...Bulling commonplace

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff they deserve more respect

    British Heart Foundation2016-01-30
Found 10 reviews