British Heart Foundation "charity" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Heart Foundation Employee Reviews about "charity"

Updated 10 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 169 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great office and colleagues who are all working hard to help the BHF achieve its long term strategy(in 17 reviews)

  • "friendly staff, nice environment, good location(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Charity pay doesn't compete with private sector(in 27 reviews)

  • "Often left alone on shop floor as a new volunteer(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "charity"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great charity to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ERP Controller in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worthwhile cause Generous benefits package Smarter working Flexible working Diverse workforce

    Cons

    Charity pay doesn't compete with private sector

    Advice to Management

    Introduce performance related pay

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-19

    British Heart Foundation Response

    June 20, 2019

    Hi, thank you so much for your review. It's great to see after 10 years you still love working as part of a team that makes a life-saving difference, and that our benefits have created a positive working culture. Our flexible and smarter working initiatives often come up as positive ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Shocking Treatment and Unprofessional Outfit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Carlisle, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really really enjoyed meeting and getting to know a lot of volunteers and listening to their life stories. Enjoyed the chance to travel and cover another shop for a week and being put in a very nice hotel with a brilliant restaurant joined onto the hotel. Some generally very nice people in some management positions, unfortunately not all of them.

    Cons

    Having passed my probation the new area manager decided to not put the paperwork through properly, or admin decided to ignore and knock it back for no reason (performance was excellent, without myself and a few other staff members and volunteers the shop would have fell apart). To then later be falsely accused, not have a proper investigation done, judged, jury and executed in the matter of 20 minutes using... probation. (Even though I had passed my probation weeks earlier). To be sold out by a very green area manager who single handedly destroyed the shop and its pricing. To then also be told my health and safety work booklet had not been put in my file, although being told by another member of management it definitely was in my file as we had an audit and this would have been flagged in the report. To provide no evidence or details to follow through on ending probation, to refuse my manager to represent me in the meeting, to claim the meeting was probation review, even though it was questioning me so should have been a fact finding meeting. To feed false information to HR, so when I appeal the decision I am flat out lied too. To waste charity money on tipping loads and loads of furniture (bear in mind tip runs can cost £200-300 per van run, not including payment to van crew yet). To treat volunteers like slaves and forget they are not paid staff members. The worst admin and systems in a "professional" company. To be stabbed in the back after being the only one to take up extra days work to cover the shop, the only one who would volunteer to do extra work and things not in my contract and to try and go above and beyond for the store and the charity. Delivery charges are extortionate, some very poor and devious van crews. Some managers are on way too much money for a charity and do very little work compared to those under them. In general not following any type of procedure for anything. No 3 month probation review as stated in contract, no 6 month final probation meeting. On the 7th month finally had a probation meeting to be passed only to be shafted weeks after. Clear pattern exploiting the use/extending of probation to change your mind on a person when you like.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remember its meant to be a charity, and dont lie to people. Dont falsify that someone didnt pass their probation when they did just so it suits you when you dislike them.

    British Heart Foundation2019-05-03
  3. "Getting really tough to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Dogsbody in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Full time work and pay no evening/night work get to see unusual items meet some great people healthcare plan which goes towards opticians or dental

    Cons

    Not enough paid staff No staff bonuses Too much dependence on what few paid staff there are and not enough volunteers No fun any more THEY FORGET THEY ARE A CHARITY SHOP SELLING 2nd HAND ITEMS They have gone too corporate and it is more money - more money - more money

    Advice to Management

    Remember what we used to be, and focus more on getting staff in through the doors instead of hurting what few staff members we have

    British Heart Foundation2019-04-03

    British Heart Foundation Response

    April 10, 2019

    Thank you for your review. It's good to hear that you feel we offer good staff benefits, and that until recently you've had a positive experience with us. We continually strive to create a positive environment and a healthy work-life balance for our employees, so your comments will ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (2)

    "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    what i liked about this job was it was all about making money for the charity to make profit and to have fun while you were working

    Cons

    its not like that now. i worked for over 10years and in that time its all changed. its about being a retailer that does not care about its people and wants to drive everyone into the ground if they dont make enough profit. the thing is the whole of the shop managers are just feeling so deflated as all have to do so many check lists and complainces that it leaves no time for customer service. area managers are... trying and i feel doing there best to help but regional and above have no clue how everyone is feeling. i had to leave as i was working 50 to 60 hrs pr week just to get trying to get ahead. charity retail shound not be full price retail. stop spening 100's of thousends on projects (not well known) and invest in the staff that matter.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    area managers are mostly ok (i had a really good one who was really compassanate) but its above and all H/O staff who just do not care about the store teams. give more hrs to stores and believe that all managers are working well over the 48hrs. you know we are but choose to ignore. stop doing this.

    British Heart Foundation2018-11-17

    British Heart Foundation Response

    December 19, 2018Recruitment Partner

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. and for taking the time to leave a review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed working for a charity that makes a life-saving difference and had fun whilst working hard. However, we are disappointed to hear that you did not have the overall ...

    Show More
  5. "Great place to work when you want to push boundaries and try something new"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The BHF is a place that's always open to new ideas and trying a new approach. The leadership team, and other people in the organisation, actively encourage everyone to innovate and to aim higher.

    Cons

    The innovative spirit sometimes crashes against the challenge of being a large charity with systems that take a long time to work around, and old hierarchies. I know that lots of large organisations have the same problem, but it can be frustrating to be caught between the two worlds.

    Advice to Management

    The more the walls of hierarchy are broken down, the better things will become. We're already heading in the right direction, but an honest respect of the views and work of people right across the organisation will help us all achieve more, sooner.

    British Heart Foundation2018-08-14

    British Heart Foundation Response

    September 11, 2018Recruitment Partner

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. It is good to see that you enjoy working as part of a team that makes a life-saving difference, and particularly the new ideas and innovations. With regards to the other points you have raised, we will ensure they are shared with the relevant ...

    Show More
  6. "Sunday shop assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant in East Grinstead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get the opportunity to learn and move up in the company. Working very closely with the managers of the shop. Really nice relationships with the volunteers. 25% discount.

    Cons

    Pay isn't great but that's common for charity work. Hours weren't great. kinda thrown in at the deep end and given a lot of responsibility quite early.

    Advice to Management

    pay your shop staff more.

    British Heart Foundation2017-07-09
  7. Helpful (5)

    ""They chew you up and spit you out""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraiser in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great to put on your CV In the ASOS building so get invited to the £1 sample sales Good location (Camden)

    Cons

    There is a strong focus on the business rather than the individuals that are working there, leaving individuals feeling unheard and unimportant. HR are looking out for the senior managers, and don't have time or the need to focus on the culture or wellbeing of others in the organisation. The BHF have been known to suspend people and fire people in the Fundraising team and walk them out that day with no real... explanation to any of the other staff. Low morale in the office - especially within PR and Philanthropy & Partnerships (this is where I witnessed some of the most unhappiest of staff) Senior leadership team do not stick to the BHF values at all. Incredibly hierarchical More like a private sector organisation than a charity Your work tends to be so focused and specialised as the organisation is so large that you don't get to explore innovative, creative ideas as much as you might like to. Siloed working across the whole organisation, especially in Comms and Fundraising. Many reports of people suffering from depression following their time working in the organisation due to the hierarchical nature leaving people feeling unimportant, under valued and undermined.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the individuals that put this organisation together - these people are key to your success and desirability. You don't have long riding along on the success of the organisation just due to the sheer size of you. Take stock, focus on who is important and take time to hear those people.

    British Heart Foundation2017-07-27
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Shocking waste of funds in head office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Decent head office * People are for the most part lovely * Great CV piece * An incredible cause * BHF are arguably the biggest cardiovascular research charity in the world, so you know that good stuff should be happening

    Cons

    * Fundamental lack of understanding in senior and mid-senior level staff of what needs to happen * Incredibly slow decision making * Lots of lip service from all levels up and down * Culture of accepted failure * there's no accountability for failure * A truly massive set up, bigger than internationals I have worked in previously * Good money is spent after bad on a regular basis, terrible decisions keep... historic processes, people and systems going rather than making the "difficult" decisions * Very poor salaries, even for a charity * Seem to employ tons of mediocre staff than a handful of brilliant staff

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Rather than just appeasing the 101 committees that exist and relying on the fact that you are a "charity", actually look at the set up. A commercial organisation with a similar volume of employees and geographic spread would be a LOT leaner in spend, staffing and physical location. If every penny counts, why have a large, North London head office? It is time to evaluate the company, staff and culture and make... the sweeping cuts and actual organisational changes in a fast and concise manner to really start achieving goals rather than just swinging from one priority to another in the hope that the magic dust does not run out. Address the culture of acceptable failure, constant delays and siloed working activities and actually run as a lean, cohesive organisation and more money can be spent on the cause rather than keeping the cause ticking over.

    Show More
    British Heart Foundation2017-03-29
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Rewarding but frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's very rewarding working for a charity as big and BHF and working with volunteers is interesting and valuable experience. Friendly people and no day is the same. Hands on work.

    Cons

    Upper management can take ages to make a decision. A lot of bureaucracy. Not a lot of focus on what the charity actually does, which is slightly de-motivating as you can be unsure of what you're working for.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more in depth training for managers to cover all aspects of paperwork

    British Heart Foundation2016-11-07
  10. "Friendly people and efficiently run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation

    Pros

    Colleagues in central London office were all very fun and friendly. A positive culture and a good location in Camden.

    Cons

    Don't do much to nurture talent and develop them. Feels like a disconnect between senior staff and more junior staff. An even bigger disconnect between staff and the charity's beneficiaries. As with much of the charity sector, the pay isn't great, but that comes with the territory. Their marketing team were over-reliant on agencies.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in digital and in-house creative - you're paying a premium with agencies. And get to know your staff and volunteers.

    British Heart Foundation2016-06-24
Found 169 reviews