British Red Cross Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Red Cross Manager Reviews

Updated 15 Nov 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
5%
Recommend to a Friend
Michael Adamson
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Red Cross makes you cross"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Van Driver/Warehouse Manager in Gillingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good charity help lot of different people all over the world Does great things Max 35 hrs per week

    Cons

    No over time low rates of pay for shop managers and drivers Area managers give very little praise to staff and volunteers

    Advice to Management

    Try doing the job yourself and see if you would do it for the £ Say thanks no and again . Would you work for free ???

    British Red Cross2015-09-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "High profile organisation with many low quality leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Manager in Plymouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working for a charity that supports those in need. Lots of policy and some systems.

    Cons

    Retail arm of charity appears to be managed by some leaders that are full of their own importance. Very authoritarian management style demonstrated by many that leads to stifled outcomes, or no outcome.

    Advice to Management

    Start managing, get out of your offices and do your jobs! Check what middle managers are doing by using simple management practices!

    British Red Cross2018-11-16
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Difficult and very glad to be out of it !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Shop Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Met some lovely people - you want 20 words - at times felt that I was doing some good for others.

    Cons

    There is an inherent culture of bullying The Manager of the first shop I worked in was dishonest as was her assistant. When reported, Head Office were not interested in listening let alone acting. The Manager of the second shop spoke down to me on many occasions, ignored the internal theft of a volunteers belongings and expected me to close shop every day due to his family commitments. He had no regard for mine.

    Advice to Management

    Choose your managers more carefully and don't just concentrate on profits

    British Red Cross2017-09-10
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Demotivating culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at British Red Cross

    Pros

    There are good people. It's a recognised brand and sometimes you feel very proud to be part of it.

    Cons

    The good and capable people are not the ones at the top. Management have decided to start paying the living wage but only to people who have worked here for three years or more. We are all equal but some are more equal than others. I don't know how the CEO can say poverty is a problem in the UK but pay staff a non-living wage. Being able to feed your kids shouldn't be a reward in a loyalty scheme. The current restructure...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look at yourselves and try to remember the reason you joined the Red Cross.

    British Red Cross2016-05-09
  5. "11 great years working for Red Cross"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Manager in Pembroke Dock, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    blessed with great line managers, very fair to work for, lots of training opportunities, feel trusted and valued,

    Cons

    I have not any chance of promotion as a retail manager in 11 years, low pay within retail, the equivalent managers in Services earn a heck of a lot more, it could , if you let it, make you very dissatisfied,

    Advice to Management

    keep your eye on the grass roots,

    British Red Cross2014-06-05
  6. "Volunteering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Shop Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great community feel and friendship between shop colleagues. Personally I had a wonderful manager - good relationship with volunteers and was quick to bring any issues to Head Office. Flexible working hours - in our shop, you arranged shifts with your manager and colleagues. Tea and biscuits and a good chat available all day! Good training leaflets for personal health and safety.

    Cons

    Volunteering is unpaid. Issues raised to Head Office are not always followed up quickly or solutions are not always followed through.

    Advice to Management

    Visit the individual shops and set appropriate weekly/monthly income targets taking into consideration the value of items donated, collaboration with brands, number of customers, time of year etc. Give better advice/training/regulations on how to deal with customers (i.e. personal safety, stealing, conmen etc.)

    British Red Cross2016-03-22
  7. "Hell on earth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Manager in
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pro is they do occasionally hire and offer paid work

    Cons

    Bad company to work for, one of the worst for pressure and the are supposed to be a charity not a high end business

    British Red Cross2012-10-18
  8. "Great, supportive place to work with clear leadership, I am proud to work for the RC. Only drawback is pay level."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross

    Pros

    Plenty of training opportunities, support for personal projects. Knowing that every day we all pull together to help people in crisis wherever they are and whoever they are is a great motivator. There are so many talented and dedicated members of staff and volunteers, it's inspiring to talk to people and see our work.

    Cons

    Pay levels low, so staff retention not good. A shame to waste such talent. Extra hours the norm - especially as we are a volunteer-led organisation, but extra hours is true for senior staff too.

    Advice to Management

    The flat structure is great to work in, with easy access to senior management and even Trustees. We attract some amazing volunteers and staff. Sad that pay levels are not competitive and many staff leave for better pay.

    British Red Cross2010-12-12
Found 8 reviews