British Red Cross Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Red Cross Reviews

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 190 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Michael Adamson
45 Ratings
  1. "welcoming and nice to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Shop Floor 

    I worked at British Red Cross part-time

    Pros

    line manager focused and willing to help, explained tasks and how to do things clearly and well

    Cons

    shop could get busy at times, difficult to handle

    British Red Cross2019-08-19
  2. "Ambulance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - EMT Ground Ambulance 

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    Good culture when at work

    Cons

    Lack of progression at work

    British Red Cross2019-08-15
  3. "Friendly and supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative in Grantham, England

    I worked at British Red Cross part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team to work with

    Cons

    So many processes and procedures

    British Red Cross2019-08-14
  4. "Really good training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at British Red Cross part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good office, Really good work-life balance

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of

    British Red Cross2019-08-13
  5. "keep up the good work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross for more than 3 years

    Pros

    gained self confidence, got chance to work with people in need

    Cons

    nothing to say the people i work with was very nice

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work and keep helping people in need

    British Red Cross2019-08-08
  6. "Good place to work but decision making could be slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good at connecting staff to the work of the BRC and wider Red Cross and who we were there to support. Large organisation with opportunities for secondment and development.

    Cons

    Teams are quite siloed and it was sometimes hard to cut across this. More leadership needed from senior management to support the organisational changes and to speed up decision making.

    British Red Cross2019-08-01
  7. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Volunteer Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexitime, A/L, Colleagues, rewarding job.

    Cons

    Poor management structure and terrible HR.

    Advice to Management

    Staff are at capacity, stop burning them out.

    British Red Cross2019-07-31
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Disappointing decline of a excellent charity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    When you can help somebody in need its a nice feeling. Part of a charity that has great values

    Cons

    Poor attitude and performance from long term paid members of staff across various departments with no hope for change or accountability. Little or no support from management. Money being spent is not being spent on improving the service and equipment to help us do the job or provide help for people in need. Lots of departments working independently instead of together. Unprofessional and racist behaviour from senior members...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This organisation is a shambles too many people sat in paid jobs with no desire to progress or add value. Accountability for people who are terrible at there job and dealing with people. Less time spent on individual projects and more on the service as a whole. A serious look at how management and long term staff member behave. Stop using volunteers to support ineffective managers and hubs. Upper level management should...

    Show More
    British Red Cross2019-07-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Poor leadership and comms"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraiser 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours and some friendly staff

    Cons

    Poor leadership and management style from some managers. Too focused on worrying about making themselves look good and ticking boxes. Not enough appreciation for people that put in the hard work and hours. IT systems are also dreadful.

    Advice to Management

    Too many senior managers are comfortable, complacent and only interested in looking out for themselves.

    British Red Cross2019-07-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Volunteer with BR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at British Red Cross part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible and rewarding company to work for

    Cons

    No cons to work for this company

    British Red Cross2019-07-10
Found 190 reviews