British Red Cross Reviews

Updated 18 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
British Red Cross Chief Executive Michael Adamson (no image)
Michael Adamson
46 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Brilliant cause, toxic work environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Vital work. The chance to work on truly important issues for a household name organisation, steeped in history. Working alongside some very committed people, who are incredibly dedicated to their work.

    Cons

    The culture of particular teams at Head Office is entirely toxic. Staff are overworked and undervalued - some amazing people hired but tend to leave the on a revolving door basis within 0.5-1.5 years without looking back. Severe bullying and mistreatment exhibited by staff in positions of power (one member of senior leadership in particular) is shockingly routine, and passed down management chain - staff must learn to accept it or eventually leave the organisation. Many of us are still coming to terms with encountering this sort of workplace behaviour at a charity that claims to spread the #PowerOfKindness

    Continue reading
    British Red Cross2020-03-02
  2. "Good place to volunteer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Portadown, Craigavon, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Every day is different and it's great knowing you've done something good

    Cons

    The building I operated in was a very small highstreet building

    British Red Cross2020-01-28
  3. "Great cause, lack of progression"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraiser 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The mission of the Red Cross is, in my opinion, faultless. The work remains as crucial and relevant today as when it was founded 150 years ago, and the more I learnt through working at the organisation, the more I believed this. It's a highly motivation cause, and you are surrounding by colleagues who truly care about what they do. Few places can say that. The organisation is huge and has many specialist teams, which means your colleagues can be leaders in their field. As a junior staff member you can learn a great deal from them.

    Cons

    Although apparently it is bench marked, pay is not competitive. Two years after leaving and my salary is almost £10,000 more. Opportunities for progression in my time were rare and hard to come by. The organisation makes the mistake of hiring highly ambitious and capable people, and then having nothing to offer them in terms of their own development - I found that often posts were recruited for externally in favour of promoting within. Its important to get the right person for the job, but actually, as recruitment is quite competitive, very often you will find someone with more experience externally than someone you are promoting up. Staff retention is poor within head office as a result. It's also quite hierarchical and with a lot of red tape. This is probably not unusual for a large NGO and strategies are important. However it felt a lot less empowering as you couldn't make decisions without consultation of others and sometimes that approach is slow and ineffective.

    Continue reading
    British Red Cross2020-01-27
  4. "Ok"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Aid Trainer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team you work with

    Cons

    Low salary and lots of miles

    British Red Cross2020-01-10
  5. "Good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, wanting to do good.

    Cons

    Messy, a lot of paperwork and bureaucracy.

    British Red Cross2020-01-13
  6. "A great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Fundraiser 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working Casual dress, Creative work, Flexible work, Friendly staff

    Cons

    Need to make more changes to the organisation

    British Red Cross2019-11-24
  7. "HR Admin Assistant"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing environment and excellent workplace culture Contributing to a meaningful cause Fast paced

    Cons

    Low paid Little opportunities for growth

    British Red Cross2019-10-26
  8. "Fantastic place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, supportive environment to work. Pay and ts&cs were good and they care about their staff.

    Cons

    Lots of red tape, similar to different large NGO's I have worked at.

    British Red Cross2019-10-13
  9. "Amazing team"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casework Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities to develop and attend training.

    Cons

    Pay and lack of practical support to respond to increase demand of the service.

    British Red Cross2019-10-07
  10. "welcoming and nice to work with"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Shop Floor 

    I worked at British Red Cross part-time

    Pros

    line manager focused and willing to help, explained tasks and how to do things clearly and well

    Cons

    shop could get busy at times, difficult to handle

    British Red Cross2019-08-19
Found 188 reviews