British Red Cross Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Red Cross Reviews

Updated 7 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 151 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Michael Adamson
30 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "HR Manager, Retail at British Red"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at British Red Cross full-time

      Pros

      Company values great to support and work for

      Cons

      Manager very unprofessional made things personal

      Advice to Management

      Have some morals

      British Red Cross2018-10-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Very rewarding, I just love working here"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at British Red Cross full-time

      Pros

      Good leave, maternity policy, benefits

      Cons

      No flexi, funny shift pattern

      British Red Cross2018-09-05
    • "Amazing talent left untapped"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

      I have been working at British Red Cross full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Working with good people Trustworthy charity Working for an incredible cause

      Cons

      Bureaucratic Lack of innovation Lack of funding means employees can't be nurtured and gain new skills unless directly related to their role Terrible IT/Data management systems majorly impacts effectiveness and ability to do your job Not good at connecting staff to the cause

      British Red Cross2018-09-19
    • "Retail Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at British Red Cross full-time

        Pros

        Worthy charity cause supporting both overseas and in the UK

        Cons

        Very physical work at times

        British Red Cross2018-08-22
      • Helpful (1)

        "Anonymous"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Service Coordinator 

        I worked at British Red Cross full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Great colleagues and volunteers, great learning opportunities and a general amazing opportunity to help those in need. Work and life balance is good and there are plenty of paid holiday.

        Cons

        The salary is a joke. I could never have supported a family and could not put any savings aside to to and see my family and close friends. It's hard to move into new roles within the organisation and progress career wise. The organisation does not invest in you to gain skills outside your role, e.g to become a manager. I felt quite isolated and relying only on a local manager and did not feel that I was part of...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Equalities and monitoring is an issue that needs to be solved. Lower levels of the organisation is very diverse but the higher up you get it get whiter and more male focused. Salaries need to be raised. They are lowest in the sector.

        British Red Cross2018-08-24
      • Helpful (1)

        "Very disappointing, on the face if it an incredible organisation but the values are nothing more than a tag line."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Training Trainer 

        I worked at British Red Cross full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        The wider business does a lot of fantatsic work (disaster relief, refugee support). The induction and atmosphere/vision at head office is brilliant. Some trainers are superb.

        Cons

        I manage a hearing disability. The team leader said the BRC weren't prepared go an extra mile just for one member of staff. Having to store a lot of kit (it takes over your house). Schedule changes as very short notice, often unnecessarily. Expected to park at retail car parks without prior permission from the owners, but management could not offer any guarantee we wouldn't be fined.

        Advice to Management

        They could try and be a little kinder and more supportive of staff managing disabilities rather than demonising them or pushing them to sign themselves off. It seems head office are trying to push a culture change so hopefully long term things will improve.

        British Red Cross2018-09-11
      • Helpful (2)

        "Service Delivery Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Large humanitarian organisation that cares about the service users

        Cons

        Fails to support staff, large overheads which makes it noncompetitive in the markets it is looking for contacted work

        British Red Cross2018-08-02
      • "Recruitment and Selection Coordinator"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at British Red Cross full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Interestring work, nice people to work with.

        Cons

        Low salary and not very efficient processes.

        British Red Cross2018-07-20
      • "Positive place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at British Red Cross full-time

        Pros

        Plenty of room for growth and a great place to gain experience

        Cons

        Slow to innovate, set in their ways.

        Advice to Management

        Trust junior staff to make decisions

        British Red Cross2018-07-13
      • "Volunteer Coordinator"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at British Red Cross full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Our volunteers are amazing. Its great to help people in the local community which gives great job satisfaction.

        Cons

        Long hours and poor recognition

        British Red Cross2018-07-10
      Found 151 reviews