British Red Cross Reviews

Updated 18 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
British Red Cross Chief Executive Michael Adamson (no image)
Michael Adamson
46 Ratings
  1. "Friendly and supportive"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Administrative in Grantham, England

    I worked at British Red Cross part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team to work with

    Cons

    So many processes and procedures

    British Red Cross2019-08-14
  2. "Ideal job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Lincoln, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not micro managed. Teams worked well together.

    Cons

    Projects set up and working well but then funding stopped for various reasons. No job security

    Continue reading
    British Red Cross2019-08-26
  3. "Poor Management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job itself was straightforward. Volunteers were good to work with.

    Cons

    Expected to work through lunch hour for free if no volunteers were in. Refused all my holiday requests because manager thought I could be at work and still take holiday. Didn't understand that because I was only on a 7 hour contract that if I came in for 1 day that week then I hadn't taken my holiday allowance. Expected me to work nearly ever Saturday even though these should have been split between the manager and me. Would text me at all times, evenings, weekends - I wasn't allowed to have a day off, I had to be available to answer her questions at all times. Manager threatened to cancel my training due to her personal issues (this is what she said herself via text message). This was a 7 hour part-time role yet felt like full-time. I lasted less than 3 months because of how the manager treated me. It just wasn't worth the hassle for 7 hours a week at minimum wage.

    Continue reading
    British Red Cross2019-09-15
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Be cautious and ask to look where you'll be working before agreeing to the role."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Salford, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some colleagues were lovely Range of training you can partake in, however none of it was helpful to the actual job role I was doing

    Cons

    They lie to you in the interview about what the job entails, I specifically asked in the interview about the amount of phone work I'd have to do and they said very little if any. It was all phone work to the point it was very similar to a call centre job! it's pretty much a call centre type job stuck on the phones all the time People in management roles are inadequate No sense of ownership especially when a customer issue arises. For example the sales teams don't care unless they can make money out of the caller, otherwise it's passed on to the customer care even though it's sales which created the issue in the first place. As a customer service administrator you are left to take all the negatives from customers such as cancelled training sessions and you are left to give them shoddy explanations. Also lots of non first aid training calls come through to your line some are from people who are in desperate need and you are left with no training on how to deal with this and are blamed that they came through to the wrong number. You literally have to 'pass them on' and are left feeling guilty that you couldn't help.

    Continue reading
    British Red Cross2019-09-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work but decision making could be slow"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good at connecting staff to the work of the BRC and wider Red Cross and who we were there to support. Large organisation with opportunities for secondment and development.

    Cons

    Teams are quite siloed and it was sometimes hard to cut across this. More leadership needed from senior management to support the organisational changes and to speed up decision making.

    British Red Cross2019-08-01
  6. "Meh"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Volunteer Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexitime, A/L, Colleagues, rewarding job.

    Cons

    Poor management structure and terrible HR.

    Continue reading
    British Red Cross2019-07-31
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Volunteer with BR"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at British Red Cross part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible and rewarding company to work for

    Cons

    No cons to work for this company

    British Red Cross2019-07-10
  8. "I had a good time."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - First Aider in Leeds, England
    Recommends

    I worked at British Red Cross part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to acquire lots of skills and meet great people.

    Cons

    Requires a lot of travel so might not be for everyone.

    British Red Cross2019-07-04
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Disappointing decline of a excellent charity"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    When you can help somebody in need its a nice feeling. Part of a charity that has great values

    Cons

    Poor attitude and performance from long term paid members of staff across various departments with no hope for change or accountability. Little or no support from management. Money being spent is not being spent on improving the service and equipment to help us do the job or provide help for people in need. Lots of departments working independently instead of together. Unprofessional and racist behaviour from senior members of the British Red Cross in meetings and other inappropriate times. Zero to no support from most departments. Lack of funding for tools to do job but money for other vanity projects. Volunteers are over worked and pressured into more hours and doing things that should be done by actual BRC staff. Training is too long and is poorly organised. Most parts are pointless and feel like filling time, example pointless exercises and too many breaks. Our time is misspent, it doesn't justify the travel or the amount of our free time needed. The lack of value added from attending is disheartening and most people in attendance feel the same. Unsafe work environment at times with pointless processes that don't work. Lack or urgency or understanding of service from paid members of staff. Lots of people work part time or are at retirement age and have no drive or desire to improve. Generational gap is noticeable and some use of language and terms are completely unsuitable for current times or any professional work environments. Overall poor standards of professional behaviour in most hubs and spokes. Some facilities are in need of deep clean or repair. Service users are not made to feel welcome or comfortable. IT services act like they are only interesting in what they feel like doing and BRC requests are an inconvenience. Communication is terrible and information is not shared correctly or woth the people that need it. Recruitment is disorganised and frustrating. People are being blamed for having poor English Language skills to hide the fact recruitment is poorly organised, sometime unwilling to provide the time and service to help volunteers as they are not motivated or competent. Paid members of staff have no motivation or drive as they complain about being underpaid or having no budget available to improve services due to misspent donations and money from the service . Part time staff do not hand over requests or information to people to follow up when not working its a case of its not my problem unless I am in work. Volunteers don't tend to stay because there is no support or opportunities to grow. Volunteers are pressured in to chasing donations and being out of pocket to be part of BRC Training is made out to be valuable to help you do your role but is not and has lots of unnecessary parts that make it seem like trainers justifying a job by making it more work than required the reality is this could be done online or during volunteering with a manager or senior volunteer. This takes people away from family, paid work and other more productive uses of time like the role they applied to do.

    Continue reading
    British Red Cross2019-07-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Hit and miss depending on your team, generally little support and a lot of pressure"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible (although it does depend on your line manager), nice location, Blue Light Card perks, friendly staff (if you are lucky)

    Cons

    Well below market pay leading to extremely high staff turnover, long hours not recognised, no staff consultation, Union-averse organisation, staff is silenced as all processed are imposed with little or no consultation. Staff don't have their own desks.

    Continue reading
    British Red Cross2019-07-08
Found 188 reviews