British Red Cross Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Red Cross Reviews

Updated 20 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 154 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Michael Adamson
31 Ratings
  1. "Recruitment and Selection Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interestring work, nice people to work with.

    Cons

    Low salary and not very efficient processes.

    British Red Cross2018-07-20
  2. "Positive place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    Plenty of room for growth and a great place to gain experience

    Cons

    Slow to innovate, set in their ways.

    Advice to Management

    Trust junior staff to make decisions

    British Red Cross2018-07-13
  3. "Volunteer Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Our volunteers are amazing. Its great to help people in the local community which gives great job satisfaction.

    Cons

    Long hours and poor recognition

    British Red Cross2018-07-10
  4. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good staff around you, always willing to help when they can.

    Cons

    Senior management fail to listen and support staff Poor communication No respect for staff at the lower end of the scale.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff. They are trying to protect you & the organisation; they’re your eyes and ears don’t abuse them!

    British Red Cross2018-07-03
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good for 6 years then forced out Intimated . Pressured ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Van Driver in Ipswich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great value Most managers are fantastic .

    Cons

    Poor management . Lower management not thanked just pushed to there limits No thanks to the volunteers at all Wastefulness of donations

    Advice to Management

    Ask the workers what they think And listen , and stop the bullies

    British Red Cross2018-06-27
  6. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    amazing culture, lots of services, friendly staff, learning culture

    Cons

    salary is not the best one

    British Red Cross2018-06-14
  7. "Casework coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    Training and development opportunities and flexible working

    Cons

    Bureaucracy and low salaries

    Advice to Management

    Ensure salaries reflect responsibility

    British Red Cross2018-06-11
  8. "Great opportunity to get job experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Assistant in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at British Red Cross for less than a year

    Pros

    Extreme flexibility in terms of how many shifts you want to do and when you want to do it

    Cons

    no cons, well, except you don't get paid what you end up with something to add on the work experience section on your CV

    Advice to Management

    none

    British Red Cross2018-05-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good purpose but expected too much from you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Coordinator/Interim Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working. Gave you heaps of responsibility which is brilliant for a first or second job. Ability to learn new skills volunteering opportunities is amazing. I've done a lot of extra stuff purely from the volunteering, outside of my job. Brilliant training and procedures, my staff were kept safe and I knew what I was doing. My team were lovely and we worked hard.

    Cons

    Because the volunteering opportunities are great, you end up devoting your life to the Red Cross, no overtime pay. Pay is not enough. If you were only given the written responsibilities in the job description, it would be OK. Pay increases are terrible. I do believe that management that prioritises expansion is given preference over nurturing what they've currently got. I was left without a manager for 6 months because...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I really wanted to continue working here but I was not given the opportunity to try different things because my workload was too great. Please understand that we aren't all rich and that we need financial help to do our jobs - I needed to drive for example, however I was paid so little that I could not afford lessons. If you won't pay your staff enough plan bursaries for things like this.

    British Red Cross2018-05-01
  10. "Support Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross for more than 5 years

    Pros

    GreatWork Culture and Flexibility

    Cons

    Lots of policies and roles to flow,,, less flexibility when it comes to work style

    British Red Cross2018-05-02
Found 154 reviews