British Red Cross Reviews

Updated 1 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
British Red Cross Chief Executive Michael Adamson (no image)
Michael Adamson
46 Ratings
  1. "Retail assistant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross part-time

    Pros

    Get to work with others as a team along with getting to know the customers

    Cons

    Not always having enough volunteers on

    British Red Cross2019-03-19
  2. "Nice place to work"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at British Red Cross part-time

    Pros

    Nice atmosphere and manager. Always something to do

    Cons

    None I can think of

    British Red Cross2019-03-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Friendly Staff but unorganised"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    Friendly staff and decent pay

    Cons

    unorganised training process and lack of connection with management

    British Red Cross2019-03-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Dated organisation with massive lack of diversity"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great international and local work. Lots of emergency fundraising appeals. Great volunteers in the services.

    Cons

    No opportunity for progression or development. No diversity within the organisation. Terrible management

    Continue reading
    British Red Cross2019-03-08
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Toxic management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team to work with. People who genuinely care about what they do.

    Cons

    Senior leadership team is incredibly dysfunctional. Toxic and bullying behaviour from certain members. A culture of fear in one directorate. It won't be long till a serious complaint is made. The technology is a farce and in any other organisation the director would have gone due to the multiple failings.

    Continue reading
    British Red Cross2019-02-13
  6. "BRC"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    Great Values, principles and people

    Cons

    Corporate centre dominates the organisation

    Continue reading
    British Red Cross2019-02-13
  7. "Emergency Response"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Emergency Responder in Aldershot, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people who are dedicated to helping others and have like mind sets.

    Cons

    Clueless managers who do not engage with the Services that they are deployed by leading to decent in the ranks. Not interested in listening to their staff and therefore will never change.

    Continue reading
    British Red Cross2019-02-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic culture, nasty leadership team for the most part"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great cause and good team with talented middle management

    Cons

    There is a culture of fear driven by the dysfunctional leadership team, some of them downright bullies without any consequences for the continued bad behaviour. No focus on staff development, senior management does not live any of the organisational values and the 'power of kindness' is nothing more than a tagline as there is little kindness shown towards own employees. The CEO does not hold his team accountable for failures. The IT is a farce, people are expected to work amidst multiple IT failures but we still have the same people responsible for running a failing function.

    Continue reading
    British Red Cross2019-02-22
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Shame they can't live their brand promise of kindness"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good flexibility around hours; a great cause; a big organisation with high staff turnover means opportunities come up fairly often.

    Cons

    Toxic management behaviour throughout the levels of management, including, unfortunately, the senior management team. A culture that allows and endorses bullying, as well as a 'divide and conquer' mentality; where staff are often left without adequate management support to handle very full workloads. I've been really shocked and sickened by what I've seen while I've been here; I think the only people who can stick it out are those who don't care or those who have the hide of a rhino. Terrible IT systems and tech that is unreliable and sucks time from your day. The brand is now about the power of kindness but I can safely say I have never seen anywhere more unkind. And this is in the head office!

    Continue reading
    British Red Cross2019-02-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Worse place to volunteer and managers need more training"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Acocks Green, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Leaving and never going back

    Cons

    The lack of training on the managers

    Continue reading
    British Red Cross2019-01-31
Found 189 reviews