British Red Cross Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Red Cross Reviews

Updated 15 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 165 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Michael Adamson
36 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Coordinator 

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues and volunteers, great learning opportunities and a general amazing opportunity to help those in need. Work and life balance is good and there are plenty of paid holiday.

    Cons

    The salary is a joke. I could never have supported a family and could not put any savings aside to to and see my family and close friends. It's hard to move into new roles within the organisation and progress career wise. The organisation does not invest in you to gain skills outside your role, e.g to become a manager. I felt quite isolated and relying only on a local manager and did not feel that I was part of...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Equalities and monitoring is an issue that needs to be solved. Lower levels of the organisation is very diverse but the higher up you get it get whiter and more male focused. Salaries need to be raised. They are lowest in the sector.

    British Red Cross2018-08-24
  2. "Retail Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    Worthy charity cause supporting both overseas and in the UK

    Cons

    Very physical work at times

    British Red Cross2018-08-22
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Service Delivery Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large humanitarian organisation that cares about the service users

    Cons

    Fails to support staff, large overheads which makes it noncompetitive in the markets it is looking for contacted work

    British Red Cross2018-08-02
  4. "Recruitment and Selection Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interestring work, nice people to work with.

    Cons

    Low salary and not very efficient processes.

    British Red Cross2018-07-20
  5. "Positive place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    Plenty of room for growth and a great place to gain experience

    Cons

    Slow to innovate, set in their ways.

    Advice to Management

    Trust junior staff to make decisions

    British Red Cross2018-07-13
  6. "Volunteer Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Our volunteers are amazing. Its great to help people in the local community which gives great job satisfaction.

    Cons

    Long hours and poor recognition

    British Red Cross2018-07-10
  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good staff around you, always willing to help when they can.

    Cons

    Senior management fail to listen and support staff Poor communication No respect for staff at the lower end of the scale.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff. They are trying to protect you & the organisation; they’re your eyes and ears don’t abuse them!

    British Red Cross2018-07-03
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good for 6 years then forced out Intimated . Pressured ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Van Driver in Ipswich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great value Most managers are fantastic .

    Cons

    Poor management . Lower management not thanked just pushed to there limits No thanks to the volunteers at all Wastefulness of donations

    Advice to Management

    Ask the workers what they think And listen , and stop the bullies

    British Red Cross2018-06-27
  9. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    amazing culture, lots of services, friendly staff, learning culture

    Cons

    salary is not the best one

    British Red Cross2018-06-14
  10. "Casework coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    Training and development opportunities and flexible working

    Cons

    Bureaucracy and low salaries

    Advice to Management

    Ensure salaries reflect responsibility

    British Red Cross2018-06-11
Found 165 reviews