British Red Cross Volunteer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

British Red Cross Volunteer Reviews

Updated 8 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
29%
Recommend to a Friend
9%
Approve of CEO
British Red Cross Chief Executive Michael Adamson (no image)
Michael Adamson
5 Ratings
  1. "keep up the good work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Volunteer in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross for more than 3 years

    Pros

    gained self confidence, got chance to work with people in need

    Cons

    nothing to say the people i work with was very nice

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work and keep helping people in need

    British Red Cross2019-08-08
  2. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Volunteer Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexitime, A/L, Colleagues, rewarding job.

    Cons

    Poor management structure and terrible HR.

    Advice to Management

    Staff are at capacity, stop burning them out.

    British Red Cross2019-07-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Volunteer with BR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at British Red Cross part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible and rewarding company to work for

    Cons

    No cons to work for this company

    British Red Cross2019-07-10
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Disappointing decline of a excellent charity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    When you can help somebody in need its a nice feeling. Part of a charity that has great values

    Cons

    Poor attitude and performance from long term paid members of staff across various departments with no hope for change or accountability. Little or no support from management. Money being spent is not being spent on improving the service and equipment to help us do the job or provide help for people in need. Lots of departments working independently instead of together. Unprofessional and racist behaviour from senior members of the British Red Cross in meetings and other inappropriate times. Zero to no support from most departments. Lack of funding for tools to do job but money for other vanity projects. Volunteers are over worked and pressured into more hours and doing things that should be done by actual BRC staff. Training is too long and is poorly organised. Most parts are pointless and feel like filling time, example pointless exercises and too many breaks. Our time is misspent, it doesn't justify the travel or the amount of our free time needed. The lack of value added from attending is disheartening and most people in attendance feel the same. Unsafe work environment at times with pointless processes that don't work. Lack or urgency or understanding of service from paid members of staff. Lots of people work part time or are at retirement age and have no drive or desire to improve. Generational gap is noticeable and some use of language and terms are completely unsuitable for current times or any professional work environments. Overall poor standards of professional behaviour in most hubs and spokes. Some facilities are in need of deep clean or repair. Service users are not made to feel welcome or comfortable. IT services act like they are only interesting in what they feel like doing and BRC requests are an inconvenience. Communication is terrible and information is not shared correctly or woth the people that need it. Recruitment is disorganised and frustrating. People are being blamed for having poor English Language skills to hide the fact recruitment is poorly organised, sometime unwilling to provide the time and service to help volunteers as they are not motivated or competent. Paid members of staff have no motivation or drive as they complain about being underpaid or having no budget available to improve services due to misspent donations and money from the service . Part time staff do not hand over requests or information to people to follow up when not working its a case of its not my problem unless I am in work. Volunteers don't tend to stay because there is no support or opportunities to grow. Volunteers are pressured in to chasing donations and being out of pocket to be part of BRC Training is made out to be valuable to help you do your role but is not and has lots of unnecessary parts that make it seem like trainers justifying a job by making it more work than required the reality is this could be done online or during volunteering with a manager or senior volunteer. This takes people away from family, paid work and other more productive uses of time like the role they applied to do.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This organisation is a shambles too many people sat in paid jobs with no desire to progress or add value. Accountability for people who are terrible at there job and dealing with people. Less time spent on individual projects and more on the service as a whole. A serious look at how management and long term staff member behave. Stop using volunteers to support ineffective managers and hubs. Upper level management should spend time with ground level staff and volunteers across the UK not just where there friend is, favourite hotel they enjoy or can visit family etc. Hire an continuous improvement manager who is independent and not biased. Don't expect volunteers to do things paid staff members wont. Don't let the BRC.s reputation continue to be damaged by poor leadership and selfish motivations. Resign and use the unjustified wages and expenses to rebuild the service. This Service could work well if more time and effort was spent raising and maintaining standards and having the correct people accountable for things. Have a way to check that people are preforming well, provide them support to do this and also hole them accountable if standards are not met within a reasonable time scale. The values of the Red Cross are not a formality they should be taken seriously by everybody which is not the case. I recorded a member of BRC making Racially insensitive, Homophobic and misogynistic comments in a meeting on BRC property. If this was leaked it would be damaging to BRC and the gentleman involved. I do not wish for that to happen but somebody else would as its 2019 and that is unacceptable in any environment more so at the Red Cross with its 7 fundamental principles being ignored by management and paid staff. If this service can not be fixed it might be an idea to start again with a different upper management team that isn't out of touch and has bad habits as this current team is responsible for this disorganised shambles beneath them. Training needs streamlining urgently most people don't come back for day two and its a massive waste of time due to how its structured

    Show More
    British Red Cross2019-07-31
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Worse place to volunteer and managers need more training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Acocks Green, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Leaving and never going back

    Cons

    The lack of training on the managers

    Advice to Management

    Leave and never work here again

    British Red Cross2019-01-31
  6. "Refugee Unit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Volunteer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic training and staff

    Cons

    None applicable Great organisation to be at.

    British Red Cross2018-02-27
  7. Helpful (3)

    "very poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Volunteer in Blackpool, England

    I worked at British Red Cross

    Pros

    No pro's come to mind

    Cons

    Manager promised training as volunteer which never occurred He then wanted me to run modules of training alongside him which I was not prepd to do without training He told me when I started that all those he worked with in Blackpool / Preston were ex's, very close friends,unsure why Manager talked about his private life I really didnt want/need to know He wanted to know all about my private life which I wasn't prepd to discuss I had to contact him about volunteering, he didnt approach me with dates times etc. I approached another more senior manager to complain as they sent me an email & I was fed getting emails from other counties irrelevant to me. She said she would speak to him & get back to me on a specified number. She rang on a different number so I missed the call. After a text she was to phone me back & never did. I asked her why in 3 wks she had not been in touch & she said she was waiting for my call despite agreeing she would call me. Very poor service

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have some sort of grievance procedure given to all volunteers as soon as they start so they can do something about this kind of thing. Have some form of regular contact with volunteers so you know if people are unhappy.

    British Red Cross2016-07-11
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Volunteer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Red Cross

    Pros

    Get a feeling of helping out with the local community and doing something worthwhile to help people around

    Cons

    Felt pressurised to commit time each week to the organisation, customers asking for a discount, training was rushed and I felt like I didn't know what I was doing

    British Red Cross2016-05-29
  9. "Volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Volunteer in London, England

    I worked at British Red Cross for more than a year

    Pros

    It just to gain experience.

    Cons

    There is no problem at the British Red Cross.

    British Red Cross2016-02-26
  10. "Great Workplace!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Newtown, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great way to get experience with working with the public and handling stock. Really good social element to it. Definitely recommend it!

    Cons

    When it's not as busy it can get tedious, but this is easily remedied by the staff in charge who keep you busy with additional things to do

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    British Red Cross2015-12-30
Found 15 reviews