Broadcast Music Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Broadcast Music Reviews

Updated Oct 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
45%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Broadcast Music CEO Michael O’Neill (no image)
Michael O’Neill
29 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Underpaid for doing the same work as full time employees(in 7 reviews)

  • "This does not feel like a NY headquartered company in the new age digital music industry(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Broadcast Music full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good shifts, friendly people, nice place to work

    Cons

    Travel to Work M25 always busy

    Continue reading
    Broadcast Music2012-09-24
  2. "Awful Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Analyst in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Broadcast Music

    Pros

    People (most) are nice and its fairly relaxed

    Cons

    Wrong people in senior places who really don't know how to man manage nor do they have sufficient knowledge of what goes on on the "ground". Tie you down with 3 month notice period at most levels!!! Senior managers are incapable of spotting talent and have no room for innovation.

    Continue reading
    Broadcast Music2012-04-01
  3. "Bad career move for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Broadcast Music

    Pros

    Some of the people were nice. Pay was ok...

    Cons

    Before I came to BMI, I worked in healthcare IT. I thought the music business would be a nice change. After experiencing the climate and IT management at BMI, I decided to go back to healthcare, but I had a hard time finding a new job at that point. When I interviewed, having music industry experience was seen as a negative, and working for the IT management at BMI, who largely came from healthcare - with a terrible track record there, made things difficult for me. My advice would be to consider a possible career move to BMI carefully, especially if you are ever interested in working in healthcare later. I figured it out, but it wasn’t easy, and I never experienced this kind of issue prior to working at BMI.

    Continue reading
    Broadcast Music2019-11-01
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Great Peers, phenominal benefits, decent pay but toxic management and high turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Broadcast Music full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Met some really great people , the healthcare benefits are the best i've ever had, pay is competitive

    Cons

    Management and, work culture and environment are toxic to say the least - after 6 months, I found myself extremely anxious and depressed dreading to go to work and decided to leave

    Continue reading
    Broadcast Music2019-07-22
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Do not work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Broadcast Music part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the people are kind and trustworthy.

    Cons

    Most are not to be trusted because the culture is Dog Eat Dog. People do not want to lose their jobs so they bald face lie and cover their own butts. Very High Stress over selling Licenses to protect Songwriters. Not sure who gets paid but the highest ups. Vice Presidents attitudes toward employees is sad and hateful. Directors take your ideas and make them their own with no credit to the workers.

    Continue reading
    Broadcast Music2019-07-24
  6. "Great benefits and incentives!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Operations Analyst in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Broadcast Music full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and awesome co-workers

    Cons

    Being challenged by the work can sometimes be difficult.

    Broadcast Music2019-05-20
  7. "Great Company, with some room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Broadcast Music full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, great people.

    Cons

    Slow upward mobility, some antiquated systems, and antiquated project management.

    Broadcast Music2019-05-11
  8. "No upward mobility, Too big"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Broadcast Music full-time

    Pros

    There are some lovely humans there.

    Cons

    Management's hands are tied with unrealistic expectations from supervisors.

    Broadcast Music2019-04-04
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Distribution and Administrative Services Analyst - Works Registration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Broadcast Music full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great manager in the Works Registration area who is transparent and willing to try and help you succeed. Work isn't too difficult, but is tedious and requires good attention to detail. ability to work from home and make you own schedule within reason, only after you have been there a while. Good Benefits Solid job in the music industry, especially for entry level candidates. Overall this was a comfortable job where the perks and benefits potentially outweighed the cons. It just depends on you and your situation. worked great for me who had other passions and jobs outside of BMI.

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement Seems like the company is more interested in spending money elsewhere instead of investing in their employees. Outdated programs and systems (Although this was supposed to change at the time I left)

    Broadcast Music2018-11-29
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Date entry clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Date Entry Clerk in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Broadcast Music full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None super low salary and low class management

    Cons

    The dregs of society work here -- real low lives. They exploit cheap labor from the worst neighborhoods in the outer boroughs. Gutter trash managers. The pay is so low you cannot pay your rent by working here. Minimum wage salaries. Cut throat. Biggest perk when I interviewed was that you get free hot chocolate. I am not kidding. They talk to you and treat you like a gullible child to be exploited while upper management salaries are well over 1 million dollars a year. Yes they rob their employees so the fat cats can get fatter.

    Continue reading
    Broadcast Music2018-10-03
Found 87 reviews