Brookings Institution Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Brookings Institution Reviews

Updated 28 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 182 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
John Allen
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "The opportunity to learn from great scholars(in 18 reviews)

  • "A relaxing work environment that is conducive to productivity despite the obvious reputation and pressure on deliverables(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Junior staff is basically at the whim of where managers want to put them(in 19 reviews)

  • "Virtually no opportunity for upward mobility(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Summer Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Brookings Institution

    Pros

    It's possible to get a chance to work on really interesting projects and see how a big think tank functions. It's cool to see how they rank their priorities, and attend some of their events.

    Cons

    The different offices don't necessarily interact with each other, making the organization somewhat siloed. Also the visible credit (bylines, acknowledgements) you get for your work depends on who you're working with.

    Advice to Management

    It would be helpful to have a standardized system for giving interns writing credit and things to do.

    Brookings Institution2017-06-04
  2. "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Brookings Institution

    Pros

    Access to great and intellegent policy experts and governance specialists; larger understanding of the United States and the world; increased credibility

    Cons

    limited upward mobility without a PhD

    Brookings Institution2017-02-23
  3. "Collegial environment poor compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookings Institution full-time

    Pros

    You get to work on very interesting projects and contribute to the advancement of understanding overall. Interesting sessions and events, you can really learn a lot while you're there!

    Cons

    Serious lack of diversity outside global departments. Groupthink resulting from being in a room with a limited number of experiences. Few opportunities for advancement.

    Brookings Institution2019-06-28
  4. "Very intellectually stimulating - amazing impact and world-class panels"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookings Institution full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very intellectually stimulating - amazing impact and world-class panels

    Cons

    Overly bureaucratic, resulting in efficiencies in business processes

    Brookings Institution2019-06-20
  5. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Brookings Institution

    Pros

    Lovely Mentors and a great learning environment

    Cons

    None as per my experience

    Brookings Institution2019-06-03
  6. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookings Institution for less than a year

    Pros

    access to amazing scholars, normal work hours, professional development, interesting work

    Cons

    I was not paid for my work, which was disappointing

    Advice to Management

    Please pay your interns, it makes it an unachievable internship for low-income students

    Brookings Institution2019-03-31
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Educational"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brookings Institution full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learn from the best experts worldwide

    Cons

    Low salary and very few benefits

    Advice to Management

    I had a great experience there

    Brookings Institution2019-04-05
  8. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brookings Institution for less than a year

    Pros

    A great opportunity to work with one of the foremost think tanks and learn a lot in the process

    Cons

    The internship I had was really unstructured and there was no mentorship or someone I could directly go to with questions about my work.

    Brookings Institution2019-04-02
  9. "intern review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at Brookings Institution

    Pros

    really felt a part of the team

    Cons

    I cannot think of any downsides

    Brookings Institution2019-03-07
  10. "Great Place for Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Intern in Washington, DC

    I worked at Brookings Institution for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Place to Intern if you are graduate student in the field of IR and Public Policy Team Oriented Culture The opportunity to learn from great scholars They really care about helping their interns find jobs

    Cons

    some interns are paid and some are not, depending on the department

    Brookings Institution2019-02-24
Found 182 reviews