Buckinghamshire County Council Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Buckinghamshire County Council Reviews

Updated 18 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Buckinghamshire County Council CEO Rachael Shimmin (no image)
Rachael Shimmin
16 Ratings
  1. "An organisation that invests in, empowers and cares about its employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transport Planner in Aylesbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buckinghamshire County Council full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Having previously worked for a nearby local authority, I have the advantage of being about to take a balanced view on what its like to work for this organisation. Buckinghamshire County Council is a fantastic local authority to work for and since joining it I have felt proud to represent it. The opportunities here allow you to grow and develop as part of a dynamic and forward thinking council culture. I have... felt valued and recognised and wanted since being employed here - as such I would recommend working for Buckinghamshire County Council to anyone who wants to contribute to great outcomes for its residents.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have nothing to add in this section

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice to offer.

    Buckinghamshire County Council2019-06-14
  2. "Local authorities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Administrator in Aylesbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Buckinghamshire County Council full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Large infrastructure and support structure

    Cons

    Lost in the system

    Advice to Management

    Treat each person as an individual not just someone at a desk.

    Buckinghamshire County Council2019-11-19
  3. "Restructure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Private 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Buckinghamshire County Council full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lovely colleagues work hard

    Cons

    Broken and little support given

    Advice to Management

    Support your staff more and appreciate them

    Buckinghamshire County Council2019-11-11
  4. "Graduate Project Officer at Bucks County Council"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Project Officer in Aylesbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buckinghamshire County Council full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent flexible and working from home options, trust between staff and from management, great atmosphere feels like a second home, as a Project Officer you can work across departments and don't get stuck in a niche. Opportunities to volunteer as a mental health champion. One day courses in London with travel paid for.

    Cons

    Lack of development or offer of qualification in this role as of yet. Salary could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Have a development plan set out for staff when they start and work with them to achieve it

    Buckinghamshire County Council2019-09-21
  5. "Staying ahead of the curve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Energy Manager in Aylesbury, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buckinghamshire County Council full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work, flexible working and fantastic people. opportunity to deliver innovative project and contribute to energy efficiency projects that help reduce carbon emissions.

    Cons

    Good practice for learning to handle multiple issues from many different directions.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listen to the officers and taking on board their very valuable comments/ideas

    Buckinghamshire County Council2019-07-10
  6. "It's okay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Buckinghamshire County Council full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working arrangements. Travel discount.

    Cons

    Nepotism. Argumentative. Senior members arrogant.

    Buckinghamshire County Council2019-06-25
  7. "Flexible place to work, plenty of challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contracting Officer in Aylesbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Buckinghamshire County Council full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, able to work remotely when needed Lots of challenging and varied work on offer Management and colleagues are supportive County Hall in Aylesbury is well equipped and centrally located Good amount of annual leave and able to take flex days also

    Cons

    Not much budget available for training but if you write a good business case they'll approve what you request Quite process / paperwork heavy sometimes but isn't every local authority!?!

    Buckinghamshire County Council2019-05-28
  8. "Backwards culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Aylesbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Buckinghamshire County Council full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very few I can think of

    Cons

    Poor management, closed minds, no sense of urgency

    Advice to Management

    Be open to private sector experience

    Buckinghamshire County Council2019-06-09
  9. "Sen teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Buckinghamshire County Council full-time

    Pros

    Rewarding work, get to spend lots of time with the children

    Cons

    can be stressful, particularly when under staffed

    Buckinghamshire County Council2019-03-06
  10. "good to work for good staff perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Buckinghamshire County Council full-time

    Pros

    good work life balance and support parents

    Cons

    long hours low pay compared to private sector

    Buckinghamshire County Council2019-01-18
Found 38 reviews