Build-A-Bear "fun environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Build-A-Bear Employee Reviews about "fun environment"

Updated Sep 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Build-A-Bear CEO Sharon John (no image)
Sharon John
178 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The pay was the bare minimum of minimum wage(in 38 reviews)

  • "Especially if you’re looking for something part time in retail(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "fun environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant 

    I worked at Build-A-Bear part-time

    Pros

    Great management fun environment and everyday is different

    Cons

    Pay isn't great, minimum plus a zero hour contract

    Build-A-Bear2019-07-16
  2. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Build-A-Bear for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun work environment and friendly staff. It's always good when you know you've made a kid's day.

    Cons

    Too much pressure to up sell every product and if you fail to meet the high targets your monthly review is marked down, no matter how good of an employee you are.

    Build-A-Bear2018-02-16
  3. "could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Bear Builder in Trafford Park, England

    I have been working at Build-A-Bear for less than a year

    Pros

    Always a fun environment, and seeing the smile on children's faces is very rewarding.

    Cons

    Bad pay, 4 hour contract, not enough shifts, only really busy on weekends so staff not needed in week day

    Advice to Management

    give people more hours and hire less staff so that people can get a decent monthly wage as 80 quid is just not enough

    Build-A-Bear2017-05-29
  4. "Good for energetic people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Build-A-Bear full-time

    Pros

    Fun environment to work, great team dynamic. Staff discount is a bonus, and there is always opportunity to grow in your role and further your career,

    Cons

    Not for the faint of heart, can be an intense job, surround by lots of screaming children and fussy parents. You need to have a thick skin and a lot of energy in order to cope with the workload.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Build-A-Bear2016-12-11
  5. "If you believe in their ethos, you'll enjoy it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Sales Assistant/Bear Builder in Greenhithe, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Build-A-Bear

    Pros

    If you are an individual that enjoys people interaction and is patient, then it is a fun environment to work in!

    Cons

    Flexibility and salary isn't great plus the pressure of delivering quality customer service can be challenging.

    Advice to Management

    For a part time role, appreciation of an individual's actual career and life ambitions should be considered, not punished.

    Build-A-Bear2016-12-06
  6. "Great starter job for anyone looking for a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Build-A-Bear part-time

    Pros

    £4.75 an hour is okay for under 18s They dont really ask for experience Fun environment and working with kids is very rewarding

    Cons

    Management often point out flaws instead of positives They expect a lot from their staff for not much in return The shift patterns can be annoying

    Build-A-Bear2016-11-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Depends what you are looking for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Store Manager in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Build-A-Bear part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Bonus when store performs well 30% discount for family and friends Fun environment Working with children Family environment with team members

    Cons

    Low pay Stressful on occasion Forceful targets from head office Bad communication between HQ and stores Staff incentives don't happen often

    Advice to Management

    More hours for management

    Build-A-Bear2016-05-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Basildon, East of England, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Build-A-Bear part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great management when I first started Flexible for student Fun work environment Gives opportunity with little experience

    Cons

    Management left and was never effectively replaced Not much full time opportunity

    Build-A-Bear2016-04-24
  9. "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Sales Assistant/Bear Builder in Telford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Build-A-Bear for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun work environment. Great if you enjoy working with kids and can hold a conversation with anyone for 10 mins + while you make their bear.

    Cons

    Terrible management, seem to be chosen on who's worked there the longest. You are on 'reserve' every Saturday so you can't make plans unless they need you in. Shifts are given the night before.

    Advice to Management

    More professionalism needed

    Build-A-Bear2015-12-15
  10. "Great place to work. Perfect for a first job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant/Bear Builder in Maidstone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Build-A-Bear part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is lovely. You feel like you can ask the mangers anything if you are unsure of what you are doing! Fun environment. You get to meet some really interesting characters!

    Cons

    As you get older the 4 hour contract isn't practical. And getting sent home after 2 hours of work isn't great either.

    Advice to Management

    They took me on with no previousl experience, they trusted me and gave me my first job. And for that I will always be grateful.

    Build-A-Bear2015-04-30
Found 59 reviews