BuroHappold Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BuroHappold Reviews

Updated 12 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
BuroHappold Chief Executive Officer Neil Squibbs (no image)
Neil Squibbs
36 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Workplace bullying from senior management affects the culture negatively(in 12 reviews)

  • "The desire to exceed expectations can eat into work life balance(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A brilliant company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time

    Pros

    They are very supportive of career development and the office has a friendly atmosphere.

    Cons

    If you are not prepared to work hard in a team, you may dislike the environment.

    BuroHappold2020-02-11
  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lighting Designer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to develop skills and capabilities

    Cons

    Communication within the different teams is a mess. Not enough holiday allowance

    BuroHappold2020-03-11
  3. "Data analysis based on acquisition from large building such as stadia and other venues for crowd simulation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Data Scientist in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Social inclusive work space with a wide variety of departments.

    Cons

    Working too many hours after regular program

    BuroHappold2020-03-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Energy Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing project, great culture amd people

    Cons

    Salary could be higher. Project deadlines sometimes are tight and do mean you might have to work some extra hours. Still this is rare not the usual.

    BuroHappold2019-12-07
  5. "Great company, projects and staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mechanical Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility of work, projects, working environment

    Cons

    Salary disparity for same grades and lower than many competitors

    BuroHappold2019-10-22
  6. "A positive work space"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time

    Pros

    Inspiring colleagues with a drive to make a difference

    Cons

    The desire to exceed expectations can eat into work life balance

    BuroHappold2019-09-26

    BuroHappold Response

    September 30, 2019HR Insights and Reporting Analyst

    Great to hear that you're enjoying your time with us, and we hope that continues. It's positive that you want to exceed expectations, but please ensure that's not eating into your personal time, that work-life balance you mention is important. Do have a chat to your line manager or HR contact if you're looking for help managing that and we hope you continue to enjoy your career with us.

    Continue reading
  7. "London office: it needs technically skilled leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in London, England
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Chilled environment and nice people

    Cons

    Technical skills of higher grades is poor, not great place to learn and develop your career

    BuroHappold2019-10-05
  8. "Great Company with challenging projects!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Structural Engineer in Bath, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BuroHappold full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good exposure to a variety of projects. Provides a good opportunity to learn and develop, especially at the beginning of your career. It is also a very young company, with quite a few socials being organised after work (pizza nights, board games, etc.).

    Cons

    Salary is on the lower side of what the industry pays.

    BuroHappold2019-09-16

    BuroHappold Response

    September 30, 2019HR Insights and Reporting Analyst

    Thanks for your review and we're glad that you enjoyed working on a range of projects with us. I hope you also took part in some of those social events too. Whilst our salary isn't the highest in the industry, we do work hard to remain competitve in terms of salary but also with a range of benefits including a strong persion offering. I note you're not with BuroHappold right now but I hope as your career progresses you do consider rejoining and working on that broad range of projects again. All the best.

    Continue reading
  9. "Mixed feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities to further your career on exciting and innovative projects. Not a lot of hierarchy. Friendly staff who are there to do great engineering.

    Cons

    Frustrating to see the same old project management issues causing same old problems on projects. Hard to work part-time with "just get the job done" culture.

    BuroHappold2019-09-06

    BuroHappold Response

    September 10, 2019Global Head of Inclusion, Diversity & Engagement

    Hello Thank you for sharing your feedback, it's great to see reviews from those with such a wealth of experience of the business as yourself. It's encouraging to hear your views about our career opportunities and projects. We always welcome feedback on matters that may be proving more frustrating however, as without this we are unable to learn and develop. I would be very happy to meet to discuss your points relating to project management issues and in particular those relating to working part time. Thanks again for your time and honesty.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great place to work, values, flexibility and variety of projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    > Exciting Projects > Great team > Flexible locations > Great office locations

    Cons

    > Sometimes high pressure scenarios > Culture of working late

    BuroHappold2019-07-22

    BuroHappold Response

    August 27, 2019Global Head of Inclusion, Diversity & Engagement

    Hi There It is always great to get feedback, so thank you for taking the time to jump on and leave yours. It's encouraging to hear how you feel about our projects and that you working in a great team. We'd definitely welcome further discussion concerning your point about working late and pressured scenarios, being able to obtain a balance between work and life is hugely important to us. We strive to support our employees in achieving this. All thoughts are welcome, I'd be happy to have a chat at any time. Thanks again. Lucy

    Continue reading
Found 216 reviews