BuroHappold Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 316 of over 370 reviews

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
BuroHappold Chief Executive Officer  James Bruce
James Bruce
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Get to work on very interesting projects with the expansive interdisciplinary teams BuroHappold has to offer(in 34 reviews)

  • "A lot of great projects that are really impactful and have high public profiles(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "high stress projects, bad work life balance, focus on profit(in 15 reviews)

  • "There is huge disparity between senior management between those actually working and delivering on projects and those not(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Consulting

    Join the conversation on

    Consulting

    1y

    works at 

    Deloitte

    Harshest feedback you’ve ever received?

    7,066

    606 Comments

    Consulting

    258.8K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/consulting/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=BuroHappold~200108
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Sep 27, 2021 - Senior Consultant in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dynamic environment and a fantastic place to learn from your peers. Not corporate compared to its competitors or other companies of similar size.

      Cons

      If you need structure and supervision in your day to day it may not be the best place to get it. But if you are looking for a platform to expand your capabilities not other place is better.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      BuroHappold Response

      Global Head of Inclusion, Diversity & Engagement

      Hi Anon Appreciate you coming on here to share your experiences thank you. Some really great points about the opportunities to learn and grow at Buro Happold. Great feedback in your 'advice to management' thank you I will make sure this is fed back. Many Thanks Lucy

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Friendly and supportive place to work

      Nov 15, 2021 - Infrastrucutre Engineer in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great, friendly working atmosphere. Easy to request help and support, diverse range of projects.

      Cons

      Could have more work perks.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      BuroHappold Response

      Global Head of Inclusion, Diversity & Engagement

      Hello Anon Always helpful to have current employees leave a review, thank you. Great to hear you are getting the support you need when required and have access to our diverse project portfolio. Your thoughts on the 'work perks' is always welcomed so please fee free to reach out to either myself, our Reward Manager or your local HR representative. It's great to hear your ideas. Many Thanks Lucy

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company

      Nov 5, 2021 - Engineer in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, supportive, innovative, creative, great projects

      Cons

      internal structure can cause some internal conflicts around work winning but everyone is generally wanting to help and have the best outcome

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      BuroHappold Response

      Global Head of Inclusion, Diversity & Engagement

      Hello Anon We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences of working at Buro Happold on here thank you! A great summary of our culture thanks. I think your advice to management is spot on and we're currently reviewing our mechanisms for amplifying employee voices to ensure we can help foster a culture of continual listening. Thanks again for your time. Lucy

    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Fun projects but horrible staff

      Nov 25, 2021 - Current Employee in Bath, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are some big and fun projects

      Cons

      Old boys club in the office Staff development are not as great as you think. Kinda like Atkins, where I have worked before where you have to find jobs yourself and no one supports you at a graduate level. Seniors have their own meeting whilst juniors just spent time skyping each other. A lot of unnecessary meetings which occupies most of the time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Working Conditions

      Oct 4, 2021 - Bim Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Exciting projects that are engaging and interesting to work on. The majority of the projects are based in Saudi Arabia. The management team are easy to engage with and supportive toward career progression.

      Cons

      Strong drive for profit and endless requirements to work overtime.A disconnect between management and the delivery teams. The company is winning jobs that it doesn't have the skillsets or resources to cover.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      BuroHappold Response

      Global Head of Inclusion, Diversity & Engagement

      Hello Anon Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. Great to hear you're enjoying our projects and feel your career progression is being supported. As you note we are seeing great success in winning new work but I note your comments about resourcing and will feed these back. Always happy to listen if you ever fancy catching up to talk more. All the best Lucy

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Nice workplace but low pay

      Oct 17, 2021 - Business Services in Bath, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good friendly workforce, collegiate- does genuinely care about fairness and ethics

      Cons

      Pay is not great, definitely lagging behind competitors and bonuses low. Long hours can be expected.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      BuroHappold Response

      HR Insights and Reporting Analyst

      Hi Anon Thanks for taking the time to write these comments about your time with Buro Happold. We're pleased that you felt that fairness and ethics were a core part of what we do, we definitely think it's the case too. Thanks too for the comments about areas to improve. Although we do benchmark salaries for all kinds of roles with the wider market, your feedback on this is useful. All the best for the future

    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Excellent

      Aug 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great colleagues. Get to work on truly inspiring projects

      Cons

      Nothing immediately springs to mind

      3 people found this review helpful

      BuroHappold Response

      Global Head of Inclusion, Diversity & Engagement

      Thank you! it's always great to get this feedback, glad to hear you enjoyed working with us and our amazing projects. Hope all is going well with your next venture. Many Thanks Lucy

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      A good place to work

      Aug 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I feel I have a voice here, I have some brilliant colleagues and I enjoy my work.

      Cons

      The partnership structure is in deep need of a revamp.

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Really Lovely

      Aug 10, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A welcoming, friend work environment with understanding managers and varied workloads

      Cons

      Can be very high pressure and I haven’t seen our gorgeous offices since March

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Good Company to Work For

      Aug 16, 2021 - Senior Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Generally great people, passionate about the work they do, good benefits.

      Cons

      Sometimes the global nature of the business can mean it's slow to effect change.

      1 person found this review helpful

      BuroHappold Response

      Global Head of Inclusion, Diversity & Engagement

      Hello Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. Great to hear our passion for our work was something you agree is evident. Hard to comment on your experiences of the pace of change in BH without knowing more details but we'll definitely take on board your experience. Thanks again for your time. Lucy

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 316 Reviews

    Popular Careers with BuroHappold Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at BuroHappold? Share Your Experiences

    or