Byron Hamburgers Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Byron Hamburgers Reviews

Updated 31 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
59%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Byron Hamburgers CEO   Simon Wilkinson (no image)
Simon Wilkinson
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Quarterly paid parties for all your staff and free food at work(in 11 reviews)

  • "Team spirit, Work environment, Food(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, broken shifts, they will for sure make you work very hard and pay you the bare minimum from the company(in 7 reviews)

  • "Head office ideas and expectations(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Waitress Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Byron Hamburgers part-time

    Pros

    Team orientated, simple customer service style- not too prescriptive

    Cons

    Trade fell significantly after more restaurants opened in city, so half of restaurant was not utilised

    Byron Hamburgers2020-03-31
  2. "Rollercoaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waitress 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Byron Hamburgers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free staff meals on shift Cash tips take home, card weekly with wages Managers have your back in work and personal matters Teamwork on the floor Praised for hard work Group chats staff made to arrange shift swaps, everyone willingly to help

    Cons

    Not alot of notice for weekly rotas Can be very busy very quickly and you have to run with it, at the same time can be very quiet and slow Things started to change up top with CEO and business

    Continue reading
    Byron Hamburgers2020-02-12
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant General Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Byron Hamburgers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Casual and friendly environment

    Cons

    Too many expectations for a restaurant manager

    Byron Hamburgers2020-02-11
  4. "Did not feel welcome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Byron Hamburgers

    Pros

    Free food on shifts, tabs on staff night outs, shift drinks after busy shifts, upselling competitions, flexible hours, tips are really good, you got a weekly pay

    Cons

    Not enough training, I felt like I wasn’t welcome from the beginning and the team and management didn’t even want to give a chance, I saw staff getting fired for doing things the “core group” (guys who worked there for years and BFF with each other) did on a regular basis, there was a lot of favourism in that manner. Same people would get the good sections.

    Continue reading
    Byron Hamburgers2020-03-12
  5. "Team Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Salisbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Byron Hamburgers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Engaging and face paced working environment, and energy that cascades from the top.

    Cons

    Poor employment decisions have lead to a toxic work environment in this restaurant

    Continue reading
    Byron Hamburgers2020-01-21
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waiter in Clapham, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Byron Hamburgers part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team ethic Free food on ship Great % of tips Wonderful management

    Cons

    Lack of opportunity/career progression

    Byron Hamburgers2019-11-22
  7. "Really relaxed and friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waitressing in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Byron Hamburgers part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Flexible hours - Friendly staff

    Cons

    - Regular and repetitive training

    Continue reading
    Byron Hamburgers2019-11-20
  8. "Really good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Byron Hamburgers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really good work environment Work flexibility Good life balance

    Cons

    Lack of organisation: not enough staff during busy days

    Byron Hamburgers2019-11-14
  9. "so so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waiter/Supervisor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Byron Hamburgers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    staff meal, flexibility, don't care attitude from managers. which can be disadvantageous as well

    Cons

    they cut shifts all the time. Therefore, many times I had to work alone while the restaurant was full.

    Byron Hamburgers2019-11-14
  10. "It's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in London, England

    I worked at Byron Hamburgers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's very casual, no one cares about anything. Literally no one

    Cons

    -Discounts -Head office ideas and expectations -Vegan food

    Byron Hamburgers2019-11-03
Found 74 reviews