C. Hoare & Co. Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

C. Hoare & Co. Reviews

Updated 8 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
C. Hoare & Co. CEO Steven Cooper (no image)
Steven Cooper
0 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at C. Hoare & Co. full-time

    Pros

    Nice people and approachable management. Interesting place to work. Care about employees and the community.

    Cons

    A bit stuck in the dark ages

    C. Hoare & Co.2019-05-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Missing the mark"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at C. Hoare & Co. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are friendly and the bank has a caring feel. The pension is also very good.

    Cons

    The work life balance. It's 9-5, but you feel obliged to work longer hours and end up doing so every day. Lack of diversity in the bank and there's a lot of "say one thing but do another" going on. People turn a blind eye to the fundamental issues because they don't want to have to deal with them because if its been like this for over 300 years, why change it? This mentality will have consequences in the long run.

    Continue reading
    C. Hoare & Co.2019-08-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Banker 

    I worked at C. Hoare & Co. full-time

    Pros

    Good people, smart and intelligent colleagues

    Cons

    Elitist, too many private school educated people, not diverse enough

    Continue reading
    C. Hoare & Co.2019-06-18
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compliance Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at C. Hoare & Co. full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Historic and unique bank with strong values that they live as well as talk. There is a good work culture and it's friendly. There is also opportunity to change roles within the business to gain experience. The bank is excellent at supporting employees who wish to improve their credentials by taking exams.

    Cons

    It can be difficult to get promoted, as there seems to be very little turnover at any management level. This is a good reflection on the bank - people don't want to leave - but it can be frustrating for those wishing to progress their careers.

    C. Hoare & Co.2019-05-16
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at C. Hoare & Co. full-time

    Pros

    Good lunch and breakfast, far from healthy though. The working hours are 9-5, although expect to have to come in half an hour early and stay late often.

    Cons

    Poor management structure. Upstairs/downstairs culture. HR dominate the working environment. Pay is awful and asking for more is a nightmare.

    Continue reading
    C. Hoare & Co.2019-04-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Angry finance function"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at C. Hoare & Co. full-time

    Pros

    Free lunches are very tasty

    Cons

    Work life balance. Defensive leadership team not open to suggestion or criticism

    Continue reading
    C. Hoare & Co.2019-03-26

    C. Hoare & Co. Response

    March 29, 2019HR Consultant

    Thank you for your feedback. We value our staff very highly and work hard to ensure that everyone employed at the bank has a positive experience. We are very sorry to hear that your experience didn't match these standards. The Finance department and the bank as a whole is committed to driving the employee experience in the right direction, in our last engagement survey we saw a positive step-change and we will continue to endeavour to further improve in this area.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at C. Hoare & Co. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pensions Free breakfast/lunch Good bonuses Social environment Friendly staff

    Cons

    None that spring to mind

    Continue reading
    C. Hoare & Co.2018-11-15
  8. "CHC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at C. Hoare & Co. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fantastic employer Feel well looked after Lovely people and a great place to work

    Cons

    None at all from me

    Continue reading
    C. Hoare & Co.2018-10-09
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at C. Hoare & Co. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture; friendly teams; they really value the customer interactions and not just profit; long term strategies; interesting work; great benefits package; a real desire from the partners and the management to make it a great place to work.

    Cons

    The pace of change can be slower than other companies that I’ve worked at.

    Continue reading
    C. Hoare & Co.2018-08-01
  10. Helpful (5)

    "A bit ridiculous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at C. Hoare & Co. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch Nice location Everyone is gone at 5:30 PM at the latest It's fun to squint and pretend you walked through a time machine that catapulted you back 70 years

    Cons

    The place runs on a shoestring. If a chair is supposed to last 10 years, they'll make it last 20, if a carpet is frayed after 15 years, no matter - they make do with it for 30, and if their processes worked fine in 1975, why should they change them now? They try to portray themselves as a close knit family. Smile and act agreeable when they tell you this, but don't fall for it. Just know that they have and they do fire people who have been with them for several years for trivial reasons. They are simply very naive and will take refuge in their tradition when confronted with new technologies or new ways of working. I found this both amusing and puzzling. I worry that they're going to get eaten alive as the rest of the world moves onward and forward

    Continue reading
    C. Hoare & Co.2018-04-12

    C. Hoare & Co. Response

    July 10, 2018HR Consultant

    Thank you for your feedback. We value our staff very highly and work hard to ensure that everyone employed at the bank has a positive experience. Our history is an important part of our culture, but we do combine this with a modern way of thinking. We are heavily investing in a digital and technology strategy to continue to offer exemplary customer service.

    Continue reading
Found 18 reviews