C2 Education Reviews

Updated 2 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
39%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
C2 Education Executive Chairman Peter Waller (no image)
Peter Waller
64 Ratings
Pros
  • "C2 creates an environment that allows tutors to truly assist their students(in 46 reviews)

  • "Hopefully you will have a good center director like I have had(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor Management from Center Director on up to CEO(in 51 reviews)

  • "The company's 3-1 teaching structure is terrible(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Positive part time experience"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at C2 Education part-time

    Pros

    Full control over student curriculum and flexible schedule

    Cons

    Hard to give enough time to 3 students per session

    C2 Education2020-06-03
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Teaching 3:1 is extremely taxing, especially online"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at C2 Education part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoy working with students and seeing them improve/become more independent.

    Cons

    Since the lockdown began, C2 has moved online to adobe connect. This app is extremely slow and buggy, and crashes often. Timing is extremely difficult, and juggling 3 students meanwhile has become a very daunting task. Management also emails us schedules and HW to grade at all hours of the night 10pm, 11pm, and on our days off so the work-life balance is not great.

    Continue reading
    C2 Education2020-05-18
  3. "Management appreciates work of teachers"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Teacher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at C2 Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule for tutors due to high demand, especially in natural sciences; good hourly pay; teachers are shielded from parents and sales.

    Cons

    3:1 teaching is challenging and means expectations are sometimes unreasonable.

    C2 Education2020-04-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not great, but my experience is unusual"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Education Coordinator in Alpharetta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at C2 Education part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are generally kind and easy to work with, and for someone with little experience at the front desk, the volume of calls and scheduling and paperwork is really not awful.

    Cons

    Communication is abysmal. I was hired as a tutor, but when the former EC left, I took over on an interim basis, with the understanding that I would become permanent. Later on, they interviewed, trained, and hired a replacement without telling me, leaving me to fill in sporadically at other centers over December and January. Finally, the other former EC went on medical leave and never came back, so I continued working hoping my position might become permanent, but now with coronavirus, I have been left essentially without a position, and it was like pulling teeth to know where I actually stood.

    Continue reading
    C2 Education2020-04-08
  5. "Good for Part-Time Work, Not for Full-Time Employment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Math Tutor in Seattle, WA

    I worked at C2 Education part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the students are motivated and a pleasure to work with. The material is interesting for the first few months but then gets stale. It is a good way to brush up on the fundamentals before starting graduate school or as a real teacher.

    Cons

    Training takes a month so don't expect to start immediately. Some of the management really only cares about metrics. Certain center directors try to maximize their the student to teacher ratio (3:1 is the max) by cancelling tutors' hours or rearranging classes so that there are 2-4 hour breaks in the middle of the day. This leads to poor retention and makes it difficult to have enough hours. If you work 5 days a week, it's only 30-32 hours during the school year and 40 during the summer. Health insurance kicks in after 1 year of working with at least 145 hours per month averaged over a year (including holidays). It's basically impossible for tutors to get it. Raises are twice a year and up to 3% based on performance. I'd only recommend working here for supplemental income or for someone who doesn't mind working part-time during the evenings.

    C2 Education2020-04-07
  6. "Working at C2 Education"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Centreville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at C2 Education full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very intense atmosphere with high goals to achieve

    Cons

    No work and life balance since we have to work on Saturdays

    Continue reading
    C2 Education2020-04-05
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Without conscience or morals"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Education Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at C2 Education full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wrking with kids to help them get into their dream colleges

    Cons

    Poor Management from Center Director on up to CEO. The company only cares about money and barely about education. How unscrupulous is this company? They decide to furlough half the company on Easter Sunday - a move that was entirely premature considering the recent movement of the company and the country.

    Continue reading
    C2 Education2020-04-18
  8. "left"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at C2 Education part-time

    Pros

    They provide all materials needed.

    Cons

    test season is hard with 3 students working on different things

    C2 Education2020-03-10
  9. "Fair Tutoring Job"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Tutor 

    I have been working at C2 Education part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Fulfilling Work - Strong Curricula

    Cons

    - Hectic at times - Some errors in books

    Continue reading
    C2 Education2020-03-09

    C2 Education Response

    April 6, 2020Recruiter

    Thank you for writing this review!

  10. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - English Tutor in Stony Brook, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at C2 Education part-time

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, Smart and Friendly Co-Workers, Caring Supervisors

    Cons

    Sometimes, especially with English, there aren't a lot of hours

    C2 Education2020-03-03

    C2 Education Response

    April 6, 2020Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback and all that you do for our students!

Found 501 reviews