CALVIN KLEIN Assistant Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Assistant Manager

CALVIN KLEIN Assistant Manager Reviews

Updated 29 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
10%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
CALVIN KLEIN CEO Cheryl Abel-Hodges
Cheryl Abel-Hodges
1 Rating
  1. "Breath of fresh air"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CALVIN KLEIN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great higher management, lots of support, great shops, great clothes, lots of training for the job that continues, amazing discount!

    Cons

    Pay could be higher but it is retail.

    CALVIN KLEIN2017-08-12
  2. "They don’t care about you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CALVIN KLEIN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Discount, 401k, Good benefits.

    Cons

    Micromanaging at it’s finest. Only care about sales goals being met and results being driven. Don’t care at all about their employees.

    CALVIN KLEIN2020-01-29
  3. "Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 

    I have been working at CALVIN KLEIN full-time

    Pros

    Discount Management Team Brand Awareness Marketing

    Cons

    Operation difficulties Floor sets and Visual Lack of support from head office

    CALVIN KLEIN2019-12-28
  4. "Assistant Store Manager- Calvin Klein"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 

    I have been working at CALVIN KLEIN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Flexible schedule -Great discounts with CK and sister company stores.

    Cons

    -Upper management at this location was terrible, micro managing as he was based out of this store. -Management did not have the employees’ best interest at heart. Their sole interest were margin increase and customer satisfaction. Unfortunately to provide exceptional customer service to customers your employees should feel supported at the work place. -The new store manager spent her time doing “paperwork” and not engaging with customers or employees. -Employees are obligated to sign customers up for loyalty rewards programs.

    CALVIN KLEIN2019-09-07
  5. "AM Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CALVIN KLEIN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits Great culture & values

    Cons

    Little room for growth Negative work life balance

    CALVIN KLEIN2019-08-07
  6. "Busy and successful in most things we put our mind to."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CALVIN KLEIN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very close team, it's a very big store with lots of departments. Somehow all the associates and managers got along. Almost family like, how close we really are. Discount is amazing 40%-50% off already discounted items. Pay for management is pretty good. Due to my team being so successful with driving the business, making our incentive bonuses came easy. Dress code used to be super strict (all black) everything. However now you can pretty much wear whatever you want so long as it's in season and not in Clearance. They give you the freedom to look how you want, tattoos, some piercings, bright or colorful hair color if you like. Everyone plays their part on the team. Leads are what one would consider a leader of that department.

    Cons

    No room for growth, literally... this store is the worst at training a manager at something they don't know how to do. Been there for so many years and not one time had I been to our off site ware house. Low pay for sales associates, unfair and favoritism when correcting behavior and promoting.

    Continue reading
    CALVIN KLEIN2018-07-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Okay Store But Sketchy Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CALVIN KLEIN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits were great especially for full time employees Okay discount Impossible to get fired (but also impossible to fire terrible workers) Good dress code Fun store

    Cons

    Upper management and district managers ran things in a very "sketchy" way Get in trouble for making friends with coworkers (conflict of interest) Selective about who gets in trouble and who doesn't Underpay management, but have the money to fly all SMs out to Orlando for a week HUGE pay differences for those doing the same position with the same experience

    Continue reading
    CALVIN KLEIN2018-05-16
  8. "Great entry level position into management with room to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CALVIN KLEIN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very operationally strong. Lots of resources as the company is a big corporation. Opportunity to grow within other sister brands such as Tommy Hilfiger, Van Heusen and Izod

    Cons

    When you become a store manager, growth becomes extremely difficult as you are stuck in your position. The next level up is the district manager and unless that person gets promoted, moved or leaves the company, the store managers have no chance of growing.

    Continue reading
    CALVIN KLEIN2018-02-21
  9. "assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CALVIN KLEIN for more than a year

    Pros

    Not a bad retail company to work for. Take pretty good care of their people.

    Cons

    No rapid growth or expansion. Meaning you have to wait in line for a while for promotions. Weak bonus program; you could only be eligible for a monthly bonus if the company as a whole reach their sales goal. This is frustrating if you work at a store that hits their sales goal when the company doesnt.

    Continue reading
    CALVIN KLEIN2016-12-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "It's okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Store Manager in Allen, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at CALVIN KLEIN for less than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed the people that I worked with at my store. I worked there for six years and moved up from sales associate to assistant manager. There was good development early on in my time there. Health benefits are good, you also receive 40% discounts there, Tommy Hilfiger, and Van Heusen. 30% at Wilson's Leather and Bass Shoes.

    Cons

    For the last two years that I worked for Calvin, I became more and more of a glorified sales associate. Monday-Friday we only had a manger and a sales associate for the whole day, making it very difficult to get anything accomplished and still customer service. Pay is very low compared to other companies.

    CALVIN KLEIN2016-08-18
Found 17 reviews