CDK Global Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

CDK Global Reviews

Updated 21 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
49%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
CDK Global CEO Brian Krzanich
Brian Krzanich
145 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "My beef is mainly with upper management(in 80 reviews)

  • "As a former leader at Cobalt, I'll provide just one example that summarizes everything: under(in 52 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Analyst in Hungerford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CDK Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the staff are enthusiastic and helpful, and the company really wants to keep improving engagement and morale. Recently there has been a new CEO who seems more focussed on customers rather than just the shareholders, which is a step in the right direction

    Cons

    Some aging products, and some very serious issues in the Product Teams which really affect customers

    Advice to Management

    Keep going with the staff engagement, and urgently address the product issues

    CDK Global2019-01-31
  2. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CDK Global full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Your peers are the best thing about the company

    Cons

    Lots of talk but no action

    CDK Global2020-01-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CDK Global full-time

    Pros

    there are people that are working poorly with no stress

    Cons

    bad management and very bad environment

    CDK Global2020-01-06
  4. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Hungerford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CDK Global full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are pretty good and so is pay.

    Cons

    Too many legacy product slowing development of new products.

    CDK Global2019-11-26
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Product Development too slow and poor quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Hungerford, England

    I worked at CDK Global full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Large corporate with decent benefits Some good people Large customer base Dominant position in UK marketplace

    Cons

    Arrogant approach to customers Over priced solutions Product management and development terrible both in quality and speed Not really in touch with what is going on in the marketplace around them, though the lack of a real competitor (no owned by a dealer group) means many dealer groups have to use them, though most are using 3rd party system for key tasks outside finance. Staff views generally ignored

    CDK Global2019-10-21
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Difficult to get things done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Hungerford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CDK Global

    Pros

    Many people are smart and hard working Flexible working accepted and working from home used widely

    Cons

    The UK ELT is not aligned, they have differing priorities and are not working as a team This leads to misaligned incentives throughout the organization and it is very difficult to get things done New plans are put in place then forgotten about after a quarter as the next fire needs fighting Sensible, smart people are leaving which is bad in itself and catastrophic for morale Stress, burnout and overwork are rampant and not addressed

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Read the 5 Dysfunctions of a team Get a leader who can lead Decide what you are going to focus on and be good at it

    CDK Global2019-10-20
  7. "Global company, outdated ideas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Engineer in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CDK Global full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great team of people Some management are emphatic and consider employees

    Cons

    Have to keep forcing aspirations to the same people or get forgotten

    CDK Global2019-08-07
  8. "Mentally stimulating place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CDK Global full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team ethic. Social aspects in and outside of company. Have reduced micromanagement in the department to nil. Flexibility, understanding and empathy from management. Always something new to learn and challenge yourself with. Career progression is there if you want it and are willing to work for it. Company is willing to self-critique and change to improve.

    Cons

    Not a place where you can learn the job in 5 minutes. It takes time to become competent and self sufficient, and you need to be a part of that learning process and work to drive it yourself as it’s not handed to you on a silver platter. This is a somewhat niche field, within the automotive industry. A lot of people who work here stay here. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, but something to consider.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the process of change and improvement. It’s refreshing to see and it is having a positive impact on the experience of employees.

    CDK Global2019-07-15
  9. "Great company for developing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in Hungerford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CDK Global full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I spent the majority of my early career at CDK Global. I really enjoyed working with the people and I felt that I was given lots of great opportunities to develop myself both in the roles I had but also projects. Much of my experience has been down to the things I learned whilst at CDK and those things have equipped me for my future career. There was of course challenges but those challenges provided opportunities and learning that can be applied. I would recommend and I really enjoyed my time at CDK.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes the focus that we are all one team and working together to achieve our goals fell short. Some of the Nordic/ European HR managers/ directors created a ‘this and them’ culture. The focus was more on blaming/ jumping to conclusions without all the facts rather than fixing and working together to solve what was trying to be achieved.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in promoting collaboration and team working within those teams that may be remote or situated across different countries. Giving constructive feedback in the moment was something some people struggled to do at CDK and this is something that needs investing in. The consequences cause conflict.

    CDK Global2019-06-29
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Out of touch and arrogant senior leadership is killing this business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Hungerford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CDK Global full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues and ability to work from home

    Cons

    senior leadership is out of its depth, very unhappy customers; no clear, shared vision and direction; sense of chaos and fatalism in the ranks.

    Advice to Management

    Replace Neil Packham with an engaged and charismatic leader, set a clear vision of who you are, prioritise strategic goals over one time revenue, foster a culture of ownership and pride in your products, accept that a full business transformation needs to happen and accept that this will affect revenue in the short term.

    CDK Global2019-07-24
Found 1808 reviews