CH2M Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

CH2M Reviews

Updated 9 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1180 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
CH2M CEO Jacqueline Hinman
Jacqueline Hinman
434 Ratings
  1. "Internship at CH2M Glasgow (highways)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern Engineer in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CH2M for less than a year

    Pros

    Company culture. Company benefits. Lunchtime CPD sessions. Teamwork. Team support.

    Cons

    Recent take over by Jacobs and location.

    CH2M2018-11-05
  2. "Great culture, very flexible working hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CH2M full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, very flexible working hours.

    Cons

    Sometimes hard to get noticed outside of US. No bonus for staff below senior mgr

    CH2M2018-04-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Inspection Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CH2M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good multi-cultural environment in middle east where I worked.

    Cons

    There must be some checks on every team leader.

    Advice to Management

    Need to implement company standards but not always Client's choice.

    CH2M2018-02-04
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Secretary/administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CH2M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Was Full time employed, but made redundant in February

    Cons

    Over the past years they have made constant redundancies to Administration and Support Staff

    CH2M2017-10-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, uncertain future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer/Project Manager in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CH2M full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Genuinely people centric culture. Proportionate processes and risk management Excellent project opportunities.

    Cons

    Selling out to Jacobs who have the opposite apprach to running a business.

    CH2M2017-08-02
  6. "Design Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Normanton, Derbyshire, East Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CH2M full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible Company. Good company to work for.

    Cons

    Promotions don't come easily. Someone needs to work for a long time.

    Advice to Management

    Where there are problems management should put their acts together.

    CH2M2017-03-27
  7. "From Student to Chartered at CH2M"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CH2M full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Forward thinking culture Empowered employees Good remuneration packages Open and honest culture where everyone is encouraged to speak their mind lots of good communication from senior leaders with great opportunities to connect with them too.

    Cons

    There are very few downsides that I have experienced. I know in the past there seemed to be some discrepancies in pay rises and who could work from home but this all appears to be far better now and recent changes have further compounded the good progress in these areas.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the strong leadership and keep embracing our culture and safeguarding it. Difficult decisions have been made and the benefits of these will pay off. Please continue to ensure everyone has fair rises and in line with the processes we have in place. Also lets do all we can to ensure everyone has the same opportunities to work flexibility and allow them to have the right work/personal life balance.

    CH2M2017-03-20
  8. "What a way to start my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil Engineer Apprentice in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CH2M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    CH2M has given all the support, information and guidance needed to help me settle in and feel welcome.

    Cons

    The setting up process for my online portals/ logins could've been more clearly explained and ready for my start date.

    Advice to Management

    Organize the inductions for new starters within the first month of their employment with CH2M.

    CH2M2017-01-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CH2M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly and supportive colleagues, and the practice I work in is really focused on developing its members. There is a good leadership that instils the core values of cooperation, support and development across the team. Good projects to work on and the ability to work with some of the global experts in the field. Since I have been with CH2M I have grown exponentially as an engineer and have been supporting in all...

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes communication can be a little patchy , especially about pipeline work, this has improved in the last few months. There can be uncertainty and this tends to make people jittery. I do think however the industry is facing some challenges yet again and this is most likely a common feeling across the sector.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the communication improvements - outline the direction of the pipeline work - this can help people focus their development goals

    CH2M2016-10-27
  10. "Economics Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CH2M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company culture is very relaxed and rewarding. You will get to work on very interesting projects (Public/Private). The team are made of very qualified people from top universities around the UK. The level of support is always there and training is encouraged. This is a great company for those that have goals and want to excel. Pay is relatively a little bit below market rate for consultancies but above public services...

    Show More

    Cons

    Because this is mainly an engineering consultancies organisation, the economics graduate path can be a little bit unclear.

    Advice to Management

    My advice will be to extend graduate intakes and diversify the type of works in the long term. Projects in the energy market can be undertaken when resources becomes available.

    CH2M2016-10-03
Found 1180 reviews