CH2M Employee Reviews about "flexible work schedule"

Updated 6 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
CH2M CEO Jacqueline Hinman
Jacqueline Hinman
467 Ratings
Pros
  • "They understand the work/life balance(in 80 reviews)

  • "Great people and good diversity(in 60 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Need a little better communication from upper management(in 44 reviews)

  • "Bad senior management- the leadership needs to learn to be more proactive and teach their team new skills(in 34 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "flexible work schedule"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great culture, very flexible working hours.

      23 Apr 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, very flexible working hours.

      Cons

      Sometimes hard to get noticed outside of US. No bonus for staff below senior mgr

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Career Progression, Flexible working culture and pro-activeness it is rewarded

      18 Mar 2017 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you are a "doer" person and dont like to sit back, your career will progress pretty quickly. I know it sounds like I work in HR, but I dont. I have worked in CH2M for the past 4 years. Started in a technical role but after few years I felt like I wanted to learn more about project management and sales so I talked to few people and they supported me and moved to a new role where I am learning lots. What I want to get to it is that the CH2M culture it is to support and develop people, and from my point of view they do it pretty well. Also, I like their approach with flexible working, the video conferencing it is use widely, and they would be open for you to work from home, even if you do not have children and I love that, it is a true work-life balance. Leadership communication it is quite good, you can be as informed of what it is happening in the company as you want. Diversity is a strong value in CH2M, there are nearly 50/50 men and women from all backgrounds.

      Cons

      To get a pay raice you will have to push hard. There is a system in place, but you wont be getting a big increase. There is also a reward scheme, but the amounts are not very noticeable in your bank account. There seems to be quite a lot of re-structuring which can make people feel unease.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Mixed bag

      12 Feb 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Depending on the project, you might end up working with a great team, with flexible working hours and laid back attitude. Finding a job-work balance is encouraged. Plus pension and insurance perks.

      Cons

      The salary is rubbish, no bonus programme and the management structure keeps changing, leaving the lower employees in a confused mess. Also there's no clear path to career advancement.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent Company

      24 Jul 2015 - Graduate Civil Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great work life balance with Flexible Working Hours. -Good portfolio of Projects. -Learning a great deal everyday from extremely knowledgeable staff. -Friendly environment.

      Cons

      -Company is confusing and I find it extremely difficult to see a pathway to progress. -My salary seems low compared to what is mentioned on here for the same location. - Salary seems low compared to peers in industry. - No bonus scheme. -Pep is not career centric. - Can be work lulls whilst waiting for projects to come in.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      CH2M Response

      Company Representative

      Hi there, we’re glad to hear that you enjoy our work environment and are learning from your team members! We are sorry to hear about your confusion about advancements. We value our employees’ feedback, and your comments will be passed on to our management team.

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Associate

      28 Feb 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible working hours, great opportunities

      Cons

      complicated grading system, difficult to understand the salary package

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Economics Team

      28 Jun 2015 - London in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Given responsibility early on Flexible work schedule Work on interesting and important projects

      Cons

      Should pay more Management should pay more attention to what type of work employees are looking to get involved with

      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Disappointing

      19 Nov 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work schedule, Pay scale is low

      Cons

      This company is not ethical it’s all a foresaid; I was extremely disappointed in Management.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work for construction projects

      6 Aug 2019 - Planning in Doha
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible working allowed to work from home on difficult days

      Cons

      Training opportunities are very selected

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Contractor, more than 1 year

      TALENTED AND SMART

      1 Mar 2019 - Technical Officer in Singapore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Platform to learn and improve your management skills to next level. Flexible work schedule

      Cons

      No Cons.. Good company over all

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      How can a great company go so bad so quickly

      28 Jun 2016 - Project Manager in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company provides flexible work hours.

      Cons

      I joined CH2M at the tail end of the company's long stretch of strong reputation and great workplace. Since the last founder died around 2009/10 the company completely lost its way, probably with no recovery from what it once was as it has been already partially sold out to a venture capitalists in order to rescue it. The company is management bloated. Not only too much management, but management that does not understand people and with no passion for the work. I could write pages here on the problems and issues that the company faces, but all I will say is that if you need a job to pay the mortgage, go for it but not a long term career company. You will have no prospects for advancements if you are not white, american born and male.

      Continue reading
      30 people found this review helpful

      CH2M Response

      Global Talent Brand Strategist

      Thanks for your comment, it is disappointing to hear about but we we will of course share this with our management and HR teams. You’re right when you say the company ha changed. While we remain true to the values instilled by our founders, all great companies must evolve and adapt to the marketplace and the stakeholders they serve to be competitive. At 70 years young, we are on track, going strong and poised well for the future. We are also committed to creating a culture that is respectful, collaborative and positive. Diversity, equality and inclusion have long been strategic business imperatives for us. We’re dedicated to promoting a business culture that encourages every individual to contribute to the growth and business success of CH2M. That’s why we work hard to create a culture of inclusion for all our employees, regardless of their role or location.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 61 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with CH2M Job Seekers

    Civil Engineering Apprentice
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at CH2M? Share Your Experiences

    CH2M logo
    or