CH2M Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 1 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 of over 1K reviews

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
CH2M CEO Jacqueline Hinman
Jacqueline Hinman
466 Ratings
Pros
  • "They understand the work/life balance(in 80 reviews)

  • "Great people and good diversity(in 60 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Need a little better communication from upper management(in 44 reviews)

  • "Bad senior management- the leadership needs to learn to be more proactive and teach their team new skills(in 34 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Environmental Scientist

      14 Aug 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Better than average pay for this industry and location, yearly review and pay review. Detailed projects and works which you might not normally see in this area, chance to work with some very intelligent people who know some niche works in the market. Ability to work from home, and also to work in offices around the world and a chance to travel for site works. Chance for professional development through training and chartership.

      Cons

      Company going through acquisition, potential for some jobs may not be secure. My location is dependent on one project and if works cease there, more work may not be available. Work life balance is a little off (at least in my team)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Career Progression, Flexible working culture and pro-activeness it is rewarded

      18 Mar 2017 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you are a "doer" person and dont like to sit back, your career will progress pretty quickly. I know it sounds like I work in HR, but I dont. I have worked in CH2M for the past 4 years. Started in a technical role but after few years I felt like I wanted to learn more about project management and sales so I talked to few people and they supported me and moved to a new role where I am learning lots. What I want to get to it is that the CH2M culture it is to support and develop people, and from my point of view they do it pretty well. Also, I like their approach with flexible working, the video conferencing it is use widely, and they would be open for you to work from home, even if you do not have children and I love that, it is a true work-life balance. Leadership communication it is quite good, you can be as informed of what it is happening in the company as you want. Diversity is a strong value in CH2M, there are nearly 50/50 men and women from all backgrounds.

      Cons

      To get a pay raice you will have to push hard. There is a system in place, but you wont be getting a big increase. There is also a reward scheme, but the amounts are not very noticeable in your bank account. There seems to be quite a lot of re-structuring which can make people feel unease.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Some great opportunities. But dependent on good networking abilities and/or good luck

      4 Feb 2018 - Project Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Generous benefits, great staff network. The potential to land on some very interesting projects with some great clients or great consortiums. Very good work-life balance - short days. HR are great at considering your home needs when placing you on projects.

      Cons

      Career paths for progression are not advertised. Information about the 'next step' is only obtainable through hearsay and internal conversations. This can be tricky in such a large and complex company where you might be based permanently away from the office and therefor, not able to network you into the next role. As a solution, CH2M put 'Managers of Talent' in place and these people are gifted with the power to place you on projects, influence pay and permit training. These people can make or break your career, but all too often, they tend to be too busy/uncaring to reply, not people-interested and tainted by biases (one was sexist - but only one!). Due to the often intangible nature of the work, a meritocratic environment has been hard to create and most senior people are exist only as a function of the time they have spent in the company.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Summer Internship

      9 Nov 2014 - Highway Engineering in West Kensington, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Structured Internship programme Good pay for an intern with holidays available Good work/life balance Interesting projects, including Crossrail and HS2. Fantastic people to work with, very helpful for career progression. Brilliant modern office to work at.

      Cons

      Salaries are not great for a graduate I heard. Graduate programme isn't as good as other similar sized firms. Lack of career progression due to abundance of low level tasks. No real quality in some of the department due to low salaries, can't attract top talents. Can't win major projects due to the lack of eye-catching portfolios.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Still has great opportunity, despite difficult transition

      17 Mar 2017 - Project Manager in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tremendously talented and capable workforce. Excellent flexibility and work life balance, huge range of exciting and interesting projects to work on, all over the world.

      Cons

      Sometimes crippling bureaucracy, reliance on some very cumbersome tools and systems and a tendency to value mega projects and programmes over real, proper engineering (despite having world class talent in the latter).

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent Company

      24 Jul 2015 - Graduate Civil Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great work life balance with Flexible Working Hours. -Good portfolio of Projects. -Learning a great deal everyday from extremely knowledgeable staff. -Friendly environment.

      Cons

      -Company is confusing and I find it extremely difficult to see a pathway to progress. -My salary seems low compared to what is mentioned on here for the same location. - Salary seems low compared to peers in industry. - No bonus scheme. -Pep is not career centric. - Can be work lulls whilst waiting for projects to come in.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      CH2M Response

      Company Representative

      Hi there, we’re glad to hear that you enjoy our work environment and are learning from your team members! We are sorry to hear about your confusion about advancements. We value our employees’ feedback, and your comments will be passed on to our management team.

    7. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Nice company

      1 Apr 2020 - Senior Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance, good salary, work soon excited projects

      Cons

      Not think of any. It was good experience working on team.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to work

      13 May 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - No limit to the technical expertise you can gain. - Very, very interesting and diverse projects. - Good work/life balance. The office is a ghost-town as soon as the clock turns to 5pm. - Some of the coworkers are actually nice people to talk to. - As part of the project team you learn the nitty gritty of all aspects of a project from all the different disciplines (electrical, structural, civil, architectural etc etc). This develops your own technical competency.

      Cons

      - Compensation is not the best. You can keep slaving away and earning an "excellent" rating year after year (the best in your team) and still get only a 2.5% increase in salary. They also make it seem like they are doing you a huge favour by giving this raise. - No concept of bonuses or profit sharing for junior/intermediate level staff. The actual folks doing the work (designing, producing drawings, specifications) do not get bonuses but the upper management whose job is administrative at best earn bonuses from all successful projects. VERY UNFAIR. - Projects are very top heavy. More budgets were allocated for Project Managers and Design Managers rather than the engineers of each discipline to complete their work. Besides why do you need so many managers on even the most basic of projects? All they do is waste budget. - Job security isn't the best, but if you are good at what you do you will generally avoid getting laid off.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Fantastic opportunities to work on large scale projects; growth within the company is stagnant

      21 Dec 2014 - Engineer II in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Project portfolio is impressive - some large name clients throughout the world; Work-life balance is great - some opportunity to work from home; raises are competitive within your salary grade (could be viewed as good or bad; no guarantee you will get a raise).

      Cons

      growth is stagnant - company promotes strongest performers advance quickest however you can still only climb the ladder as fast at the next senior guy in front of you (not much opportunity to "pass" someone near you); no room (in my experience) for lateral transfers - I have had experience in other sectors and was denied the ability to transfer business lines; underpaid when compared to other companies (via Glassdoor)

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      CH2M Response

      Company Representative

      Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We read each and every one of our reviews. We appreciate your insight about our company culture and structure and we will forward your comments to the appropriate team members.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Work/Life Balance, Good Location

      2 Apr 2017 - Water Engineer I in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are great, they know their stuff and are passionate about their career. Lots of opportunities for training, conferences, and inter-company networks for support. The location is right off I-25 and C-470 so it's easy to get to from all directions. Everyone sits in cubicles so everyone seems easily accessible. Lots of ways to know where people are and how to reach them if they are working from home. Café and gym on location. Safety is promoted as a strong value and there isn't pressure to work over 80 hours every 2 weeks. Work life balance is promoted as another strong value and burning or from overworking is discouraged.

      Cons

      Pressure to be 100% billable reduces opportunities for mentoring and other non-billable activities. Due to how many people work from home or other offices, it can be hard to get ahold of people in person. The re-org has disconnected a lot of networks and connections that were important for many reasons, including distributing workload and making sure those reviewing us were in the same office as us.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 97 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with CH2M Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at CH2M? Share Your Experiences

    CH2M logo
    or