CIBC Mellon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

CIBC Mellon Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
CIBC Mellon President and Chief Executive Officer Steven R. Wolff
Steven R. Wolff
43 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "not much growth, low pay, terrible hours(in 22 reviews)

  • "Long hours that and insufficient pay, extremely large workload for the size of the department with little to no reward(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Administrator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC Mellon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    everyone's nice, willing to help each other

    Cons

    low pay, high work volume

    CIBC Mellon2019-11-27
  2. "Processes and systems could use improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analyst in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at CIBC Mellon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good benefits, pay, raises - Nice downtown location - Work from home facility

    Cons

    - Very manual processes - Promotion not based on individual's talent - Upper management not connected with employees concerns/issues

    CIBC Mellon2019-12-06
  3. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Hedge Fund Accountant 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC Mellon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, can work from home 1 day per week

    Cons

    salary is lower compared to other company with the same role

    CIBC Mellon2019-11-15
  4. "Sr FA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Fund Accountant 

    I have been working at CIBC Mellon full-time

    Pros

    Work-life balance is good

    Cons

    experience is dependant on supervisor

    CIBC Mellon2019-10-17
  5. "The Opportunities Are There"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accounting Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC Mellon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of room for growth and development, you just need to show initiative to learn.

    Cons

    The entry level positions can be a bit dry and boring at times, but then again, that's how it is for almost any job

    CIBC Mellon2019-10-16
  6. "Senior Fund Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC Mellon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working in Toronto with a really large team can get your cpa hours if you're lucky

    Cons

    - low wage - horrible culture - no real career growth opportunities

    CIBC Mellon2019-10-28
  7. "Company with great work life balance and flexible work schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC Mellon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great work life balance and flexible work hours -Dress for your day policy (casual) -Annual education assistance program -Competitive pay

    Cons

    -Lack of team work atmosphere due to independent roles -Little growth potential

    CIBC Mellon2019-09-30
  8. "life at Mellon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CIBC Mellon full-time

    Pros

    relaxed environment, good supervisor

    Cons

    hours - late night, and pay

    CIBC Mellon2019-10-03
  9. "Cheap company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC Mellon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of free time to study towards CPA/CFA

    Cons

    Lowest pay in the industry, no vacations allowed in december, mundane things, no room for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more so we have less FA turn over, I spent most of my time training all the new people who would leave in a year.

    CIBC Mellon2019-09-26
  10. "Position Overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Fund Accountant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC Mellon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A job that is a combination of accounting and finance, know the accounting perspective tradings, corporate action and can have a deep understanding of market movement

    Cons

    Lots of repetitive work and tasks on a daily basis

    CIBC Mellon2019-08-18
Found 202 reviews