CLS Group Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 19 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
38%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Good work/life balance but a lack of formal career development/path structure(in 8 reviews)

  • "It's a small company, but it has a massive impact on the FX market(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent career opportunity, great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CLS Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work place with a good work life balance and relaxed culture with great colleagues. A collaborative environment working with a lot of smart people working on projects. Excellent learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Not applicable in this case

    Continue reading
    CLS Group2016-01-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to start or finish your career."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CLS Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Solid foundation FX, Project, IT, Security and FX Settlement best practice. Good work/life balance but a lack of formal career development/path structure. Pay & benefits competitive but bonuses pots not as high as normal banks due to non-profit nature. Great place to learn first class standards.

    Cons

    Competitive internally due to it’s relatively small number of staff. Ability to work in in both NY, Japan & London. Often management infighting and battles for the top job/s. Growth as a company is limited due to the fact that CLS was built for one purpose so you employees will not benefit from increased profits.

    Continue reading
    CLS Group2018-03-23
  3. "Average experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at CLS Group

    Pros

    Work life balance. Good exposure to senior management. Flat hierarchy.

    Cons

    Poor training opportunity. Internship program poorly organized.

    CLS Group2016-10-20
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Very biased positive reviews! be warmed!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Department in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at CLS Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have worked at many companies, all around the globe, I have never known one as dysfunctional and politically corrosive as CLS. Many of us are proactively looking to get out. As a permanent employee you do get a good pension contribution, and generally the work life balance is acceptable.

    Cons

    I have it on excellent authority that the latest positive comments you seen on here have been deliberately planted as a method by HR to deflect from the attention the rest of the comments are receiving. As many have mentioned the CEO is not hands on, but relies on his close circle to inform and instruct him. The Human Resources department is at the heart of the cultural problems, yet grotesquely spends thousands on programs and resources to help change the culture, and justify its needs. Mark my words, this is a very corrosive and difficult environment to work and stay happy. The head of HR is the master spin doctor, and the most feared person in CLS, very unapproachable. She controls the politics and the pulls the strings of the executive board. If you cross her, you will receive your P45 very soon. The biggest problem is that there are too many chiefs and not enough indians at this organization, the tussle for power and control is immense. Unfortunately a lot of people get caught in the crossfire, and this has a effect on moral.

    Continue reading
    CLS Group2016-03-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Very bad environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at CLS Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None no work life balance, no raise

    Cons

    Its like school what time you are coming and going. HR and upper management sleeps in same bed

    CLS Group2019-12-19
  6. Helpful (5)

    "CLS - Things are definitely improving, ignore the moaners"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CLS Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Reading a few of these reviews have given me a good laugh. Most of them have some truth to it, and the rest are just disgruntled employees who are unable to get jobs elsewhere, because they are incompetent. In my opinion and one which i share with colleagues who complain a lot, why don't you find another job?? I have been here for a few years and i must admit when i started it had the family feel/post office environment, however in the past two years at least, things have improved considerably and CLS has become more corporate and a better workplace environment. Anyway on to the benefits of working here - Competitive salary(probably a con as well, because incompetent people are paid a ridiculous amount, which they wouldn't earn elsewhere. This means they moan and moan but don't actually go and look for another job, because they are not likely to get a similar salary for their skill-set). By the way this doesn't mean HR should reduce salaries. Pension/401k is decent and competitive. Health insurance is competitive. Work/Life balance is good, you are able to do your work within the 9-5 hours, go home at 5 without your boss looking at you like a maniac. Do not get me wrong when a deadline is due you would obviously be expected to put in more hours. You get to work on good challenging projects. I work with some smart people, its an environment where you can learn off others, and this is encouraged. In fact learning is encouraged and promoted. I feel empowered, it is a small to medium sized company so most of the time your ideas are heard and implemented, well mine have been in some instances. Please bear in mind these are my experiences and my boss/bosses are good people to work for, i guess your experience depends on your boss/team.

    Cons

    There is a blame culture, when an issue occurs the first question is "who did this", instead it should be "how fast can we fix this". Sometimes you are not recognized for your efforts.

    Continue reading
    CLS Group2016-03-29
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Destruction of initiative and morale"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at CLS Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff, many of whom are realistic about how things really are. Work-life balance is generally good.

    Cons

    The self importance of management is astounding considering how little they achieve. There is an endless stream of communications and consultations about "empowerment", "strategy", and "leadership" but management demonstrate none of these traits themselves. They busily jostle for position, mistaking this one-upmanship for real work with positive outcomes for the company or staff. They insist on being consulted on everything, but are incapable of taking a decision on anything. The politics extend down the food chain: management like you or they don't, but this seems largely unrelated to ability or effort. Recruitment involves interviews with an huge range of people, even for relatively junior positions. However, the job descriptions are vague and often several people find themselves doing the same job (also linked to the power struggle), or twiddling their thumbs. There are some good people but they are unlikely to get anywhere (except out of the company).

    Continue reading
    CLS Group2015-06-16
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Horrible workplace"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at CLS Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good work life balance

    Cons

    - pay is way below market (15% - 20% below) - promotions are given based on who kisses butt the best - senior managers are completely and utterly clueless and incompetent - it's a comedy show at this point - horrific culture - people are leaving left and right; entire departments have turned over due to poor leadership - people back stab each other whenever they can to get ahead - London office does no work and gets away with it! it's pretty pathetic.

    Continue reading
    CLS Group2014-08-28

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews