Cabana Brasilian Barbecues Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Cabana Brasilian Barbecues Reviews

Updated Sep 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Cabana Brasilian Barbecues CEO Jamie Barber (no image)
Jamie Barber
4 Ratings
  1. "No complaints"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cabana Brasilian Barbecues part-time

    Pros

    They are flexible with working hours, the managers do what they can to make sure everyone is happy with their shifts, good employees get recognition.

    Cons

    The team does not always work well together, lack of communication was a constant problem between people, dealing with customer's complaints is not always easy.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing in particular, it is a good place to work overall and I have enjoyed being part of their team.

    Cabana Brasilian Barbecues2017-02-28

    Cabana Brasilian Barbecues Response

    March 7, 2017HR Administrator

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time in the Cabana family- thanks and all the best in your future endeavours :-)

  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cabana Brasilian Barbecues part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family style work enviroment and fun

    Cons

    Long-hours and short breaks at times

    Advice to Management

    -

    Cabana Brasilian Barbecues2019-09-30
  3. "Great environment to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cabana Brasilian Barbecues

    Pros

    Great atmosphere at work, great people

    Cons

    Hard to manage both full time work with full time studies

    Cabana Brasilian Barbecues2018-05-12

    Cabana Brasilian Barbecues Response

    June 21, 2018HR Administrator

    Hi there and thanks SO much for your review! Glad to hear you enjoy being a part of our Familia :) all the best! Hannah

  4. "Shake your tail feathers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cabana Brasilian Barbecues full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I work in Cabana very long time and started as bar staff, moved very quickly up to management. Place to grow fast and learn. Not a formal restaurant-more place with spirit for people with personality that allows you to really be yourself and work, but have fun. Food is great (if chefs cares and are passionate about their job not about calling sick with headache) and skewers still makes guests smile. People-... cabana really is place where so many great people works and it is main reason i am still here.

    Show More

    Cons

    All hospitality sector suffers now with good staff- very hard to work when turnover is high. As manager i know, even if you give payrise, it will not get people to care more or be lazy. Hard to find reliable employees. Menu-make smaller and get to basics and best sellers. During years I've seen menu growing, but adding items that are not really brasilian. Focus on skewers. Kitchen overall training-need big... attention to get all kitchen care and do food same.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on best sellers in menu. Invest in training!!

    Cabana Brasilian Barbecues2017-10-26

    Cabana Brasilian Barbecues Response

    October 30, 2017HR Administrator

    Hello! Thanks so much for leaving such a clear review of your time with us at Cabana. I'm delighted to hear some of your comments and your obvious passion for working in our Familia! We have lots of plans in place for the coming months, with particular focus on training, so rest assured this is something we will be looking at very closely! All the best and thanks again for your fabulous feedback, Obrigada! Han

    Show Less
  5. "fun company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cabana Brasilian Barbecues full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    there is a familiar vibe to the company. As it is a small chain it is easy to know staff from each restaurant . When dining in one of the restaurants of the chain you have 50% off food and drinks. The chances of growing in the company are high if you work hard and prove yourself.

    Cons

    They do not offer staff food . You have to pay , although you have a 75% discount on food on shift. Training programs are not great. High turnover of staff

    Advice to Management

    Improve training programs.

    Cabana Brasilian Barbecues2017-10-15

    Cabana Brasilian Barbecues Response

    October 30, 2017HR Administrator

    Hello, thanks a bunch for leaving some great feedback. I appreciate your comments and can assure you that training is a focus of ours at present and we have lots of things planned over the coming months. I do wish you all the very best in your future adventures and hope you come and visit us very soon! Best, Han

    Show Less
  6. "Mr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Head Chef in Brixton, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cabana Brasilian Barbecues

    Pros

    good staff great management

    Cons

    dont have nothing to say bad

    Advice to Management

    be always happy friendle and always smile

    Cabana Brasilian Barbecues2017-06-05

    Cabana Brasilian Barbecues Response

    October 30, 2017HR Administrator

    Lovely to read your comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed our time in our Familia. All the best in your future adventures!

  7. "Used to be so much more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cabana Brasilian Barbecues

    Pros

    I cannot really write anything at the moment as Pros. I can say it used to be so much better in everything.

    Cons

    - Staff is all on minimum wage, including a lot of supervisors. - Payrises given only to the favourites, and when you ask for one ( once a year ) you get categorically told NO. - Upper Management should listen a little bit more to the front line staff, as they are the ones taking it on their skin every day. - Promotion of the wrong people. - Staff is unmotivated and ready to leave. - Staff food has been taken... away from us, and upper management sends emails as such 'staff food cost is too HIGH!' Yes, that is right, the staff that works 13 hours shifts on their feet, paying for their food in their restaurant is wasting too much money. Oh well. - Not to mention the 35 emails per day 'Labour is too high! Salaried work and cover every single shift so you can cut off on the hourly paid!' - The quality of food is gone downhill. Guests complaints about how bad their steaks are, as the cut of meat is really too cheap. ( just to give 1 out of 20 examples ).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ops Managers should come to one of the sites and actually work a shift with the front line staff. One double opening ( 11 am ) untill closing ( up to 1 am on fri - sat ); I find it terribly unprofessional to judge a restaurant worker on a minimum wage from a fancy office earning 50K plus a year. Jamie and David you need to open your eyes and send home some people.

    Cabana Brasilian Barbecues2017-04-07

    Cabana Brasilian Barbecues Response

    April 10, 2017HR Administrator

    Hello there, thank you for taking the time to give your feedback and I am sorry to see some of the 'cons' you listed. We have had a lot of changes take place recently so I can understand if some of these things have been difficult to adjust to. I will absolutely ensure Jamie, David and our Operations team have a copy of your comments and wish you all the best in your ongoing career with Cabana. Thanks again, Hannah

    Show Less
  8. "Overall Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cabana Brasilian Barbecues full-time

    Pros

    Worked there for little less than a year, at the beginning I loved it, they make you feel like you're part of something, and if you do well you spin the wheel so there's a few incentives going on.

    Cons

    around 6 months into the job it started to go downhill, disorganisation, resignations, change to company policy, constant change to the rota with no warning, rude & bulliyng managers. It just started being horrible going to work. It's clear that as time went by the company became a money focusing monster, demanding a lot and rewarding little.

    Advice to Management

    Your staff are human so be less agressive and more respectful, stop deceiving and be more truthful, you'll get that back in return

    Cabana Brasilian Barbecues2016-12-21

    Cabana Brasilian Barbecues Response

    March 7, 2017HR Administrator

    Hi there, I'm sorry to read some of your comments regarding your time in our family. We have lots of exciting plans for 2017 and in line with this, will look into the cons you've outlined. Thanks again and all the best in your future! Thanks, Hannah

  9. "McDonalds with skewers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cabana Brasilian Barbecues

    Pros

    staff members are usually nice...

    Cons

    Food is a joke. Organisation is a joke. Expect to be responsible for at least 15 tables on your section on a busy day. Hope that customers don't get food poisoning. And you HAVE TO PAY FOR YOUR MEALS (WHAT? ) That's right, a restaurant with nO STAFF MEALS, and staff drinks usually last for about two days of the weel, thanks to the generous budget given by head office.

    Advice to Management

    Payrise. Payrise. Food is free for waiters.

    Cabana Brasilian Barbecues2016-12-30

    Cabana Brasilian Barbecues Response

    March 27, 2017HR Administrator

    Hi there, thanks a bunch for leaving some feedback! I'm sorry to hear of some of the cons you outline. We have lots of exciting plans for 2017 and will absolutely take your comments on board. All the best in your future, Hannah

  10. "Good "funky" place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stratford, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cabana Brasilian Barbecues full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible in working time, perfect for student or single mum. Quick growing company good for career opportunity.

    Cons

    They like to cut your hours... never accept 40 hours a week, be happy with 30

    Cabana Brasilian Barbecues2015-10-12

    Cabana Brasilian Barbecues Response

    January 20, 2016HR Administrator

    Hi! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I appreciate you comments and hope you continue to enjoy working at Cabana. Hannah

Found 13 reviews