Caffè Nero Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Caffè Nero Reviews

Updated 21 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 385 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Caffè Nero CEO Gerry W. Ford
Gerry W. Ford
179 Ratings
Pros
  • "As much free coffee as you’d like while on shift(in 58 reviews)

  • "Going from Barista to Management there's lots of support and guidance through it(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Minimum wage at entry level (barista(in 32 reviews)

  • "20 minute break (x2) if working 11 or 12 hours(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Caffè Nero full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture throughout the company, really enjoyed my time working there

    Cons

    Lack of career progression

    Caffè Nero2019-07-24
  2. "Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Caffè Nero full-time

    Pros

    Decent Environment Easy enough to organise work/life balance

    Cons

    Shifts often understaffed Work can be a little unmotivating

    Caffè Nero2019-08-15
  3. "Family place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Trafford Park, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caffè Nero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone works to help each other.

    Cons

    Busy customer service most days

    Caffè Nero2019-08-13
  4. "Shift leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caffè Nero part-time

    Pros

    Big discount on shift Friendly atmosphere to work

    Cons

    Work for pennies Work a lot of hours

    Caffè Nero2019-08-12
  5. "Hard work and low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Caffè Nero full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good company values, lots of events and parties for all stores within the area. - Strong emphasis on making good coffee which is much better than when I worked for starbucks who did not care. - Good training - Lovely regular customers - Progression within the company is encouraged - Discount on food and drinks on and off shift

    Cons

    - Generally only 2 people on shift at any given time (3 in busier stores) which can be very stressful during peak times. - Only allowed a 20 minute break in shifts up to 9 hours. - Low pay compared to other coffee chains.

    Caffè Nero2019-08-13
  6. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Caffè Nero part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment, flexible hour and great management

    Cons

    Depends on shop allocation

    Caffè Nero2019-08-09
  7. "Should of left sooner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Barista in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Caffè Nero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free coffee, some nice customers, some nice staff members

    Cons

    Unsociable hours, unpaid over time, underpaid, unfriendly 2 faced staff, expected to know everything in a short time even if they know you have no experience in making coffee. Being talked about in different languages by staff members who clearly don't like you, being shouted at by other staff members who are not managers Infront of customers. Being shouted at by manager Infront of customers. Having to clean a toilets...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    ...What can I say?

    Caffè Nero2019-08-21
  8. "Look after store managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Caffè Nero full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The culture is amazing the events you attend are always fun. Free coffee on shift and a good discount off shift for coffee. Progression is easy

    Cons

    Enjoyed my Job and team, when I had a hard working team that is. Also depending on which area manager you have can make all the difference in how much support you will receive. Worked over my contracted hours alot sometimes going two weeks without a day off also it would be impossible to take days owed and holiday which ment you would lose them and not be paid for working over your hours. Not paid enough for what...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More training after you become manager

    Caffè Nero2019-08-06
  9. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Part Time Barista in London, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Caffè Nero part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    International culture, clearly task and duties, everyone is puctual and responsible

    Cons

    Weekly change timetable, various accent

    Caffè Nero2019-07-31
  10. "Great people, it can be really fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in London, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Caffè Nero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great staff, there are some nice party's, you have the possibility to work with many cultures and nationalities if you have good customers your day can be great

    Cons

    low salary, sometimes work can be really hard especially at promotion days,

    Advice to Management

    More training's, giving more knowledge about coffee

    Caffè Nero2019-07-30
Found 385 reviews