Caffè Nero Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Caffè Nero Reviews

Updated 19 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Caffè Nero Chairman and CEO Gerry W. Ford
Gerry W. Ford
190 Ratings
Pros
  • "As much free coffee as you’d like while on shift(in 65 reviews)

  • "Going from Barista to Management there's lots of support and guidance through it(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours as our store is open till 10pm(in 36 reviews)

  • "One 20 minute break for a shift under 10 hours(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Caffè Nero full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing dynamics, great people, awesome customers, flexibility of shifts

    Cons

    Long shifts sometimes but still very pleasant

    Caffè Nero2020-02-02
  2. "Not bad for some time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Caffè Nero full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team, you can make great friends, staff parties

    Cons

    No A/C in some of the shops, super hot during summer and super cold in winter! Poor pay if you are located in a very busy shop

    Caffè Nero2020-02-19
  3. "Really good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in London, England

    I have been working at Caffè Nero full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team and good company culture.

    Cons

    Pay can be a little discouraging.

    Continue reading
    Caffè Nero2020-02-12
  4. "Will grind you down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Caffè Nero full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people Free Coffee Social events

    Cons

    Hard to fit into such a small space. Long hours and obscene targets to hit weekly. Expectations on wastage, labour and sales do not coincide with each other. Smaller stores only have 2 people working on shift, as soon as 1 of them takes a break the other is fending for themselves. Once questioned a regional manager about this who's response was to pick a better time to have a break. That's not possible. If you're a part time student who needs some pocket money, this will fit the bill. If it's a full time career you want, anything below area manager isn't worth it. Total disregard for the front line workers who keep the stores operating.

    Caffè Nero2020-02-19
  5. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in Lymington, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Caffè Nero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with VERY nice people and a great manager Contact with regular customers Good training provided

    Cons

    Very busy, not enough staff per shift Never enough time allocated to clean to the standard required by the company Higher management encouraging staff to constantly drive sales, get feedback and be competitive while staff themselves are very underpaid and overworked.

    Caffè Nero2020-02-11
  6. "Caffe Nero"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Caffè Nero part-time

    Pros

    flexible around most rota issues, most of the time

    Cons

    pay isn't very good for the work required

    Continue reading
    Caffè Nero2020-02-06
  7. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Caffè Nero part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wastage. The free pastries was good, although I did gain weight, so overall a potential con.

    Cons

    Poor pay, poor management. Horribly understaffed.

    Caffè Nero2020-02-05
  8. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Barista in Holborn, England

    I worked at Caffè Nero part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours, Well paid, time off acceptable

    Cons

    Strict management Long hours stressful work environment

    Caffè Nero2020-01-20
  9. "Great teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Caffè Nero part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The co-workers in stores are fun and chatty I love the team I'm in.

    Cons

    Long hours as our store is open till 10pm. Store cleanliness is lacking because we barely get time to clean as much as it needs because of only having 2 staff on at a time.

    Caffè Nero2020-01-27
  10. "Consistent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Caffè Nero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good system that protects it employees, good group of customers

    Cons

    Understaffed and labour hours are too short for busy seasons

    Caffè Nero2020-01-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 425 reviews