Cambian Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Cambian Group Reviews

Updated 8 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.2
40%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Cambian Group CEO Saleem Asaria
Saleem Asaria
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "Feel part of a family working at Cambian(in 13 reviews)

  • "It was wonderful working with the young people and some of the staff where nice(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "I wouldn’t hesitate for others looking for this type of role to join Cambian(in 15 reviews)

  • "long hours so you get tired and no time for home life(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic manager and colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Wisbech, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cambian Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I’ve been with the company 12 months and I’m thoroughly enjoying it. The team are fantastic and really supportive. The job is tough at time’s and the kids can be challenging but it’s so rewarding too. I feel humbled and inspired to look after others and be a part of their journey. The pay is actually really competitive despite other people’s views. I think you have to remember that the industry is low paid. The... induction was amazing and I really felt prepared when I started the job. I’ve also had good training throughout the year too.

    Show More

    Cons

    The perks could be better but generally it’s good. I wouldn’t hesitate for others looking for this type of role to join Cambian. It’s tough and very challenging but with fantastic teams and people around you it’s worth it.

    Advice to Management

    Make people feel valued. We will be more productive and engaged if you do

    Cambian Group2019-11-08
  2. "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Child Care Worker in Blackpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cambian Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extensive training programme that leaves you with all the knowledge you need, supportive management who you can talk to about anything, paperwork is easy to complete and everything is easy to understand, shift patterns can be discussed and you are able to seek support through Cambian if necessary.

    Cons

    Long shifts but you know that from the advert so should be prepared, sometimes due to teams rotating, some small details can be lost in communication but in general there's no big downside.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Cambian Group2019-09-14
  3. "Terrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Support Worker in Wisbech, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cambian Group

    Pros

    No pros to speak of

    Cons

    Poor management, lack of training, lack of support to staff. Under staffing leaving support workers at risk.

    Cambian Group2019-10-18
  4. "learning Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Support in Yeovil, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cambian Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues who all go extra mile

    Cons

    No progression also long hours, college changed direction

    Cambian Group2019-09-25
  5. "Money oriented organistion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rcw in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cambian Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very rewarding looking after children.

    Cons

    1) Cambia is a profit run organisation 2) They dout care for the staff or wellbeing and the management will not take blame for any incidents and will try to blame staff. 3) They is little recognition for hard work and loyalty . 4) They will let any one become a team leader ,even if they dout have any kind of leadership skills in leading a team. 5) poor pay ,long hrs 6) The directors of the company ,dout... know what is going on in they homes ,or care ,as long as the money is coming in. 7) Wrong mixture of young people, so causing issues in the home . 8) Alot of young people being failed ,because the company wants to maximize profit over care eg not enough solo homes so we can care for these individuals instead of making profit of they misery.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get your heads out of the sand .

    Cambian Group2019-10-07
  6. "Good people and a good atmosphere but no clear strategy or investment in technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cambian Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people and a good atmosphere

    Cons

    Lack of investment in tools and technology

    Cambian Group2019-08-20
  7. "No communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Worker in Northampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cambian Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The children make it worth going to work

    Cons

    No support when viechles are damaged several times nothing done no support when management leave everyone is thrown in at the deep end and left to own devices .

    Advice to Management

    Get proper structure to a home before filling it with chicken make sure staff are looked after give them what is promised to them more incentives to stay apart from the children .

    Cambian Group2019-08-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - MHAA 

    I have been working at Cambian Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Patients, office, autonomy, pay and distance

    Cons

    Poor management, favouritism, bullying and lack of training.

    Cambian Group2019-07-12
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Depressing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rcw in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cambian Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - I literally can't think of any pros other than getting paid at the end of the month

    Cons

    - Offered no real support that felt consistent; team leaders all had their own way of working, so if you inexperienced, expect to be undermined and scrutinised because while doing something one way would be acceptable to one team leader, it won't be to another. - Office politics make a hard job that should be focused on providing the children with adequate care unbearable. Backbitting, lies, pettiness and things... being blown out of proportion and going much further than it needs to be is the norm. Extremely toxic work culture. Was directly told by a Senior that in this job you need to 'look out for yourself' and try make others look bad to get ahead. You'd think this is Wallstreet, not somewhere that you're supposed to provide children with a positive environment to live in. You best be part of the 'clique' or you're absolute toast. - Extremely low staff morale. I have been to several different homes in the region, and all staff seem to hate their jobs, with the same toxic atmosphere lingering in the workplace. Violent assaults are common and downplayed the majority of the time. If you like sleep, don't take this job. I've done several 24+ shifts with no sleep, then gone home exhausted, essentially wasting your day off. Not good if you have kids of your own. - No concern for safeguarding. Being left alone with children known for violence and situations that leave you wide open to allegations. The police were regulars to the home I worked at, and were appalled at how vulnerable staff were and that the company's practices were very questionable. - Bad pay. For the amount of responsibility you hold and vulnerability you'll experience, you might as well flip burgers for the same wage, care free. Want to have some career progression at Cambian? Don't work hard, just be friends out of work with the manager and you'll be climbing the ladder in no time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Shut it down.

    Cambian Group2019-06-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Takes a superhero"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cambian Group part-time

    Pros

    Good team, training and progression

    Cons

    Hours are long, but worth it

    Cambian Group2019-02-13
Found 108 reviews