Cambian Group "young people" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Cambian Group Employee Reviews about "young people"

Updated 21 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
38%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Cambian Group CEO  Saleem Asaria
Saleem Asaria
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "Watching young people grow in self confidence and gain new lifeskills(in 13 reviews)

  • "Feel part of a family working at Cambian(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "I wouldn’t hesitate for others looking for this type of role to join Cambian(in 15 reviews)

  • "Long hours And work life balance(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "young people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Kingston upon Hull, England

    I have been working at Cambian Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The young people and staff

    Cons

    Long hours And work life balance

    Cambian Group2019-11-26
  2. "Career Suicide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rcw in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cambian Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working with young people/going home

    Cons

    bullies and long hours / shocking pay for what your expected to do

    Continue reading
    Cambian Group2020-02-22
  3. "Money oriented organistion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rcw in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cambian Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very rewarding looking after children.

    Cons

    1) Cambia is a profit run organisation 2) They dout care for the staff or wellbeing and the management will not take blame for any incidents and will try to blame staff. 3) They is little recognition for hard work and loyalty . 4) They will let any one become a team leader ,even if they dout have any kind of leadership skills in leading a team. 5) poor pay ,long hrs 6) The directors of the company ,dout know what is going on in they homes ,or care ,as long as the money is coming in. 7) Wrong mixture of young people, so causing issues in the home . 8) Alot of young people being failed ,because the company wants to maximize profit over care eg not enough solo homes so we can care for these individuals instead of making profit of they misery.

    Continue reading
    Cambian Group2019-10-07

    Cambian Group Response

    November 8, 2019Deputy Director of People

    Thanks for the review. Whilst it%E2%80%99s never easy reading negative things about the company, it%E2%80%99s important that we can explore these further so that they can be addressed. If you%E2%80%99re comfortable in doing so, I%E2%80%99d be happy to meet with you to discuss your concerns further. My email is Michael.Fletcher@cambiangroup.com We could also explore involving you in our engagement workshops which we have ongoing. These are specifically aimed to look at how we can improve staff engagement across the group. I look forward to hearing from you.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cambian Group full-time

    Pros

    Working with the Young People

    Cons

    Poor support, prioritising finances and money over the care of the young people. Serious safeguarding concerns. Minimal and sub-standard training and CPD.

    Cambian Group2018-09-24

    Cambian Group Response

    October 31, 2018Deputy Director of People

    Thank you for sharing your views. I would be grateful if you could contact me at michael.fletcher@cambiangroup.com so that I can understand a little more about the concerns that you have. It's really important that we have the opportunity to understand these so that we can put them right for all concerned. Best, Michael

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Rcw"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rcw in Shrewsbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cambian Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The only reason I keep going is because I am passionate about my work .I am in somewhat hope that the wages will reflect our work and maybe cambian could keep there staff .

    Cons

    Being abused on a daily basis isn't much fun when you're trying to help young people. The hours that are expected of you when other staff ring in sick due to being tired or injured from previous shifts is not acceptable to no human .

    Continue reading
    Cambian Group2018-08-12

    Cambian Group Response

    October 31, 2018Deputy Director of People

    Thanks for your review. I recognise that your role as an RCW can be very challenging at times and I'm pleased to read of your passion about the work you do. I'd be really interested in hearing more about how we can put things right and to understand specifically what concerns you. It's really important that we receive this feedback so that we can address them. If you would be willing to speak to me in confidence please contact me at michael.fletcher@cambiangroup.com Kind regards, Michael

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (5)

    "horrific"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tamworth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cambian Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    all the staff are in the same boat

    Cons

    very poor pay that does not reflect the work that you do gruelling long hours-who wants to keep working 14 hour shifts that often extend into 18 hour shifts because the children do not go to sleep but spend all night causing chaos staff are not safeguarded appropriately from violence and abuse aimed at them from the young people

    Continue reading
    Cambian Group2018-07-31

    Cambian Group Response

    October 31, 2018Deputy Director of People

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. It's important that we hear all feedback, good and bad. You've raised some really serious concerns within your review and I'd like the opportunity to look into these so that we can address them. While we do carry out exit interviews they are not compulsory and we only hear from people who are willing to share their feedback. Perhaps if you could contact me at Michael.Fletcher@cambiangroup.com we could have a confidential chat about your experiences. Best, Michael

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Job Coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Job Coach in Hexton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Cambian Group for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Watching young people grow in self confidence and gain new lifeskills

    Cons

    Lack of support from direct line manager

    Continue reading
    Cambian Group2018-06-05
  8. Helpful (3)

    "RCW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rcw in Birmingham, England

    I worked at Cambian Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with the young people

    Cons

    long hours with no breaks

    Continue reading
    Cambian Group2018-05-03

    Cambian Group Response

    May 14, 2018Recruitment Manager

    It's really important that we hear when we need to improve in certain areas so thank you for sharing your review. I agree that we need to do better with recognising our people. Some locations do it fantastically well, but as a company we need to do more to make our people feel valued and appreciated at work. The good news is that are seeking to address it and our reviewing our reward and recognition package across the business to ensure that it appeals to more staff. We are also in the process of implementing a pay award for front line staff which is structured such that those lower paid staff receive the greatest uplifts. We will also be embarking on a culture change programme which we will be involving our people in to help shape and influence our future. As part of this we will be exploring how we can make people at work feel appreciated and happy in the work they do. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. Best, Michael Fletcher Deputy Director of People

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Hell on earth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Warrington, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cambian Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get paid not always right , then you have to wait a month to be paid properly. You only work 10 shifts a month

    Cons

    No training no support, lack of leadership kids refuse school medicals etc. Rewarded with a maccies or money thrown at them. Staff assaulted daily. Placing authorities being ripped off with high fees for young people. Schools provide sub standard education. If you can breathe and drive the job is yours. High turn over of staff. Cliques between management and staff. They would rather promote in house as it’s cheaper than a professional coming in to do the job. People being stabbed In the back. Things hidden from the press and placing authorities itv documentary only scratched the surface. Kids safer in top curry. So much more to mention More worried about stocks and shares. They promote clinical and yet they have 2 people to cover the company which takes 6 weeks to be referred and then all that happens clinical send staff the work to do with the kids. It’s like paying a garage to service your car then they send you the parts to do it yourself. Cut backs on HR, clinical, maintenance, regional managers. Haha I hope all placing authorities pull the kids then this company would close down. Yes I’d be unemployed but at least these won’t bleed local and placing authorities dry. Basically they promise the world to help these kids and don’t deliver

    Continue reading
    Cambian Group2018-04-03

    Cambian Group Response

    May 14, 2018Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your views of working at Cambian. In order for us to properly address your points I would really value a meeting or call with you to help understand the context to some of your comments. Whilst I do recognise we are a long way from being 'perfect', the are a number of things you have raised that are not accurate. For instance, internal promotion is of course our preference - not because it's cheaper, but because it encourages employee development, succession and retention. If we simply appointed external applicants where would that leave all of our current people who want to develop into new roles? Would that not have a greater impact on our workforce and lead to worse retention? Additionally, yes we are a PLC and therefore we need to ensure we return a profit to investors but we also invest heavily in our people, their development and of course, importantly, the young people we care for. Cambian has one of the lowest margins in the business and we pride ourselves in investing back into the company. There are other points that you raise that I would like to pick up with you to understand more about the background and therefore would welcome a chat with you. Perhaps you could contact me at Michael.Fletcher@cambiangroup.com in the first instance and we can arrange a catch up from there? Best, Michael Fletcher Deputy Director of People

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Awful company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cambian Group full-time

    Pros

    It was wonderful working with the young people and some of the staff where nice.

    Cons

    The management is very very poor, the slogan is "every one has a personal best" cambian does not do anything to help support you. The time I had with cambian was absolutely shocking. So unprofessional, the children were not treated properly so I reported it until I felt satisfied the problem would be resolved only to be sacked. I tried to do them for unfair dismissal but found out I had to be working there for more than two years. Absolutely no one took the time to listen to me!

    Continue reading
    Cambian Group2018-01-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 17 reviews