Cambridge Assessment Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Cambridge Assessment Reviews

Updated 11 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Cambridge Assessment CEO Saul Nassé (no image)
Saul Nassé
24 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Senior management requires a thorough overhaul(in 12 reviews)

  • "There is little career progression, most of the members of the team had been in the same role for a matter of years(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Forward-thinking and customer-centric"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cambridge Assessment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Inspiring company to work for with exciting plans for the future of learning and assessment. There is a real 'family feel' despite being a large company.

    Cons

    Inconsistencies in line managers' approaches to their responsibilities.

    Continue reading
    Cambridge Assessment2019-05-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent place to work. Good work/life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Administrator in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cambridge Assessment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Real support system throughout the team. Good line management, with clear expectations set, while still maintaining a friendly and approachable manner. Never felt too stressed, and the work was distributed well between sub team members. The organisation frequently puts on great events, and encourages you to get involved. The new offices are amazing, and promote a great working environment.

    Cons

    Workload isn't very balanced, but this is due to the intense summer working period, and quieter winter period. The workload didn't feel very steady, it was all at once or little. But this gave good time to work on other things and get organised. I found it a bit strange that I would constantly be emailing the same people each week in teams on the same floor as me, and I would never meet them in person, or know what they looked like. I think the departments should set up a meeting where everyone puts a face to a name, so it's more personable. This encourages better working relationships, and its less of a sterile interaction over email.

    Continue reading
    Cambridge Assessment2019-11-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Lovely building, culture needs a lot of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cambridge Assessment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really nice building and lovely food. Some of my colleagues were really nice and supportive, but they were mostly in business and marketing. I enjoyed meeting stakeholders and the regional teams.

    Cons

    Unfortunately the culture was not what I expected - there was quite a lot of negativity from colleagues in my team, a lot of resentment and tension and senior managers did not address this. Some of this was personal - which I found inappropriate and unprofessional. I had a pretty miserable year and found it very tough at times, but I would like to think that it was just my team and I was unlucky. I heard that other areas of the business don't have the same issues. A lot of people seemed to be on long term sick so I am not sure what that says about it as a place to work. The company does make a lot of noise about well-being and mental health though and is training its managers. Maybe they should address the causes of the stress though, which is often poor management and miscommunication.

    Continue reading
    Cambridge Assessment2020-02-11
  4. "Task Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Task Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cambridge Assessment full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Task Team Leader great entry job

    Cons

    Dull position, not paid as expected

    Cambridge Assessment2020-01-22
  5. "Good not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Examinations Officer in Cam, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cambridge Assessment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Name recognition Benefits Culture Location Great for entry level admin role

    Cons

    Old fashioned Dull Repetitive

    Cambridge Assessment2019-12-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "no training and terrible old fashioned hierarchy management structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Administrator in Cambridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cambridge Assessment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits including 28 days hols and paid overtime at weekends - double pay sundays.

    Cons

    bad management decisions, no support, senior management would not even speak to you, overworked with no work life balance (even though they promote this) i was offered no performance objectives and no career progression. weird culture - nobody talks to people everyone just skypes....

    Continue reading
    Cambridge Assessment2020-01-06
  7. "Assistant Director Assessment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cambridge Assessment full-time

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, very positive company culture. More and more innovative.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Cambridge Assessment2019-11-18
  8. "Stable but old fashioned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Education Services in Cambridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cambridge Assessment full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stability, some learning opportunities but salaries 10-20% below average

    Cons

    Old fashioned management, double standards, low salaries

    Continue reading
    Cambridge Assessment2019-11-24
  9. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cambridge Assessment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    V. Good pay given job responsibility.

    Cons

    Poorly run and mismanaged from the top down.

    Cambridge Assessment2019-11-08
  10. "Not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Cambridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cambridge Assessment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Highly experienced colleagues, popular products, new offices

    Cons

    Organisational complexity, aging systems, risk aversion

    Cambridge Assessment2019-10-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 116 reviews